CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Audio/Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 08:03 PM   #1
Junior Smurff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 644
Junior Smurff is cool... so far.
Installing Pioneer Deck Problems

Alright guys, so i recieved my pioneer deh6300ub yesterday in the mail and installed it today but it wont turn on! I ran the red,yellow,and orange wires to the + of the battery and the ground to the - post and it lit right up! My stock wiring must me cut somewhere behind the dash. So i decided to run a wire from the battery(+) through the firewall to the yellow, red, and orange wire of the deck and grounded it, and once again it lit right up but it wont turn off. I dont mind having to turn it off manually but what wire do i have to run where so im able to turn it off?? Thanks
Junior Smurff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:39 PM   #2
Junior Smurff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 644
Junior Smurff is cool... so far.
Bump! Haha anybody have an idea of how i can get the deck to turn off??
Junior Smurff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:51 PM   #3
nine_deuce
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 509
Posts: 2,637
nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful
The orange wire is the dimmer wire. Unhook that from the red and yellow and see what happens.
nine_deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:05 PM   #4
Junior Smurff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 644
Junior Smurff is cool... so far.
Tried this but the deck didnt light up
Junior Smurff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:14 PM   #5
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 3,699
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior Smurff View Post
Tried this but the deck didnt light up
You have to hook the red wire to a switched 12v lead, a lot of people splice into the cigarette lighter lead.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:25 PM   #6
nine_deuce
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 509
Posts: 2,637
nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful
Hook the red wire to the switched 12 volt, the yellow wire to the constant 12 volt, then see what happens. If you have the aftermarket wire harness to connect the head unit to the stock wiring, it's a matter of color matching wires. The orange wire is for the dimmer and shouldn't be hooked to a power source, at all.
nine_deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:52 PM   #7
Junior Smurff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 644
Junior Smurff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nine_deuce View Post
Hook the red wire to the switched 12 volt, the yellow wire to the constant 12 volt, then see what happens. If you have the aftermarket wire harness to connect the head unit to the stock wiring, it's a matter of color matching wires. The orange wire is for the dimmer and shouldn't be hooked to a power source, at all.
I have the harness and wired it up how its supposed to be, however it didnt light up. I think the stock wiring is cut or shorting out somewhere bc after i tested it, it worked just fine so it has to be the stock wiring.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_ender View Post
You have to hook the red wire to a switched 12v lead, a lot of people splice into the cigarette lighter lead.
Makes sense! Any idea which one to splice into?? Theres a white and blue, red, and red and black. And well 2 grounds.
Junior Smurff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:57 PM   #8
nine_deuce
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 509
Posts: 2,637
nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful
I would take a volt meter and start checking for voltage at the stock plug and go from there. Check with the key on and the key off. 1 of the wires (the red wire on the deck) should ONLY have power when the key is on, the other wire (yellow on the deck) should have power all the time.
nine_deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:22 PM   #9
Junior Smurff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 644
Junior Smurff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nine_deuce View Post
I would take a volt meter and start checking for voltage at the stock plug and go from there. Check with the key on and the key off. 1 of the wires (the red wire on the deck) should ONLY have power when the key is on, the other wire (yellow on the deck) should have power all the time.
Just checked em. No power is coming from either the 12v constant or 12v switched. However the one i ran from the battery is working fine. I just need to figure out to what other 12v switched i could run the 12v switched from the deck so that it will will be able to turn off
Junior Smurff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:52 PM   #10
nine_deuce
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 509
Posts: 2,637
nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful nine_deuce is very helpful
Check the fuses. If they're good, move on. I'd find a fuse in the kick panel that has 12 volts with the key off, hook the red wire from the stereo to that fuse, find a fuse that has 12 volts all the time and hook the yellow wire to that, then ground your stereo. You SHOULD be good to go.
nine_deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:03 AM   #11
L_U_D_I_AAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 203
L_U_D_I_AAccord is cool... so far.
Here this will help you a lot: http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...tail/1032.html

Also just for the hell of it check the little 10a fuse on the actual cd player... I have never seen one blow but you never know...
__________________
L_U_D_I_AAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 03:07 PM   #12
Bacon
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 160
Bacon seems to have made some friends! Bacon seems to have made some friends!
Save the headache and wire it exactly how it needs to be wired using a harness. My Kenwood DVD player did something similar. It would power up if hard wired but not with a harness. Even wired correctly, it stayed in protect mode with the little red light flashing.

My problem was a fuse in the kick panel fuse box. Changed out the fuse and it worked like a charm.

Very few things worse than having to go back years later to reconfigure what you did. Wire it right the first time using a harness and you will thank yourself later.
__________________
H23A-powered CB7 coming soon.....
Bacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:28 PM   #13
loud92CB7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fairview tennakey
Posts: 2,455
loud92CB7 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Send a message via AIM to loud92CB7 Send a message via MSN to loud92CB7
you have blown fuses if you dont have power on the stock harness. if you search you can get pics that will show you what wires are colored which way. i have been in and outta the cb dash more then i care to mention. check all your fuses in the car and under the hood. just dont cut the harness off the stock end.
__________________
Members Ride sold...
I'm back...... with a coupe. oh boy here we go.
loud92CB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:35 PM   #14
SPLCB7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: washington
Posts: 1,970
SPLCB7 is cool... so far.
Send a message via Yahoo to SPLCB7
There's 2 fuses for the stock wireing ones in the bay fuse box ones in the fuse box in the cabin check those first. If that dosnt work run a male plug into where your fuses plug in the fuse box, then fuse with 2 females one on both sides run 2 wires off the other side one to your yellow wire the other into the fuse box with an other male connector. Wala it will turn off when you turn off your car.... kinda hard to explain without pics....
__________________
My 90 coupe Mr thread....
http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=178452

Last edited by SPLCB7; 04-10-2012 at 09:42 PM.
SPLCB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:50 PM   #15
darkfusion42
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ATL
Posts: 775
darkfusion42 seems to have made some friends!
Yes. You most likely have a fuse blown. Use a meter and test ALL fuses, I've seen many times where seemingly unrelated fuses affect other circuits. If that's a no go, run a wire for switched 12v to the wiper fuse.
__________________

Bought from: TypeG,mak,CB7_ACCORD,ChampCoupe,Blackex
Traded with: Cb7xChun
Sold to: Rob_is_legend,DaddyO,daheavyking
Sedan MR Thread Coupe MR Thread Prelude Si MR Thread
My huge For Sale Thread
darkfusion42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.