CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Technical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2017, 07:46 PM   #1
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
Rebuilt motor and just set timing belt but will not start anymore

Hi i just rebuilt my F22a1 and was running before rebuild i stet the timing belt and lined up all timing marks but will not start i can smell gas after i try and start it. im lost on what to do now?
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 08:13 PM   #2
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,035
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Trace your steps back, triple check timing naturally.

How's your spark?
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 08:34 PM   #3
Jon
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Treasure Valley Idaho
Posts: 1,762
Jon is very helpful Jon is very helpful
Are you sure you're not 180° off?
And yes, how is your spark?

Could post a list of EVERYTHING you can check and see, but the best thing to do would be to go back through all your steps and make sure you didn't forget to reconnect something simple.
__________________
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 09:22 PM   #4
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
Timing

yeah checked that looks all good still how can i check for spark?
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 09:34 PM   #5
Jon
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Treasure Valley Idaho
Posts: 1,762
Jon is very helpful Jon is very helpful
Pull the plug and plug wire out of the cylinder head, ground it to the frame/engine, and give it a crank and look for spark. While doing this, don't be leaning on the car...

Picture added for clarity of how to ground the plug.
__________________

Last edited by Jon; 09-05-2017 at 09:36 PM. Reason: Added picture.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 09:55 PM   #6
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
lol ill make sure i dont
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 11:27 PM   #7
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
https://streamable.com/8t1fn i have spark ?????
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 11:46 PM   #8
Jon
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Treasure Valley Idaho
Posts: 1,762
Jon is very helpful Jon is very helpful
Hard to tell (my fault because I'm on my stupid Lenovo Yogabook thing), but it looks like you have spark. Looks faint on my end thiugh (yellowish), but again hard to tell.

Check battery voltage? Both as it sits and while you crank it?
__________________

Last edited by Jon; 09-05-2017 at 11:58 PM. Reason: spelling
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 11:49 PM   #9
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
ok and yes its yellowish
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 07:16 PM   #10
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,035
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Your motor sounds like it's spinning really freely. Do you have a compression tester?
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 07:51 PM   #11
Bunta
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Texas,Arizona and Massachusetts
Posts: 150
Bunta is cool... so far.
You mentioned smelling gas, was that with a plug pulled or with everything sealed up? I wouldn't want to create open sparks if you have some sort of a fuel leak.
Bunta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 10:00 PM   #12
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
Gas smell

that was with the plug pulled
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 10:01 PM   #13
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikaccord View Post
Your motor sounds like it's spinning really freely. Do you have a compression tester?
yes i do have one
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 10:16 PM   #14
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
so i tested all 4 cylinders and no compression
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 10:45 PM   #15
Jon
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Treasure Valley Idaho
Posts: 1,762
Jon is very helpful Jon is very helpful
No compression or really low compression?

When no compression is mentioned, first thing to mind is a blown or bad head gasket.

And are you sure your timing isn't off? It may be off enough that on the compression stroke the valves aren't closed, thus no pressure is built = no compression.
__________________
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 03:52 AM   #16
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon View Post
No compression or really low compression?

When no compression is mentioned, first thing to mind is a blown or bad head gasket.

And are you sure your timing isn't off? It may be off enough that on the compression stroke the valves aren't closed, thus no pressure is built = no compression.
ill double check timing tomorrow and make a vid for you guys and head gasket should be good changed that while i was rebuilding the motor
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 07:24 PM   #17
92smokeaccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: north branford ct
Posts: 2,164
92smokeaccord seems to have made some friends! 92smokeaccord seems to have made some friends!
if there is little to compression put a cap full of oil down each cylinder to semi seal the rings.some rings do not seal correctly till they get hot or you made all the rings line up in a line...
__________________

my new turbo build
92smokeaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 02:28 PM   #18
zZcommandoZz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 73
zZcommandoZz is cool... so far.
welp still lost

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oC6J6empcJg
__________________
https://flic.kr/p/ELMAhy
zZcommandoZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 03:29 PM   #19
Jon
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Treasure Valley Idaho
Posts: 1,762
Jon is very helpful Jon is very helpful
That is an odd tone when you switch from accessory to ON.

Do you hear the main relay switch on/prime the injectors (I can't tell from the video)?
Have you checked your thermostat housing ground?
__________________
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 05:43 PM   #20
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,035
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Yep, zero compression. Your timing is most likely off. Can you get a pic or vid of your cam gear and crank(or flywheel, which ever one has the crank TDC mark)?

As far as that increase in tone, that usually happens when the voltage drops on a timer IC. If your fuel pump priming is making the batt voltage drop that much, then you need to check your battery as well as your grounds.

Edit: A few other things I noticed, all of your door indicators came on and it looks like your cluster dimmed a little. Your radio restarted when going from ACC to ON. What happens if you turn your lights, rear defrost, fan on high? Or just throw a multimeter on your battery.
__________________

Last edited by sonikaccord; 09-19-2017 at 05:48 PM.
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.