CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Site Features > Members' Rides

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 49 votes, 4.69 average. Display Modes
Old 10-24-2014, 09:50 PM   #1201
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
wow, i was actually nominated for September AOM,........... and lost again.
Thanks to the person who nominated me, but it comes down to how many friends ya have on this site. They really need to get rid of that IMO.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 08:07 PM   #1202
Maple50175
Gigity Gigity
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Ma. Does it look like im kidding assholes! XM-BPM for life!
Posts: 7,702
Maple50175 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Maple50175 Send a message via Yahoo to Maple50175
Nice car sir.
__________________
Maple50175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 12:08 PM   #1203
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maple50175 View Post
Nice car sir.
Thank you sir
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 08:42 PM   #1204
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
So working on the car again today, good times! Today was ....

- Find a spot for the fuse box
- Install the front speaker pods
- Route all wiring for speaker pods, splitters, tweeters, amps
- Check out rear end squeaks and clunnks

Below is a diagram of the general setup of the amps and speakers. The wires do not run this way and i left out the data wires.


The large amp (amp1) powers the subs. The smaller amp (amp2) powers the 300W Type R front pods. (the stereo powers the OEM speakers). There is a splitter off the battery for two wires. 1- A 2AWG wire runs to a 160amp circuit breaker and then to the start. 2- A 4AWG wire runs to a distribution block which powers both amps.

I'm debating if the amps need a in-line fuse since they have a built in fuse themselves. Any ideas guys?

And although the car had these coilovers installed by a professional mechanic I still found loose bolts. The drivers side bolt was not tightened on the top of the coilover and other things. Because of this the top of the super streets drivers side coilover was rubbing against the metal piece that sits near the seatbelt. So I just removed these things, I'm not sure what the purpose of these were anyways.





Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 09:24 PM   #1205
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Some quiet in here.........

But i'll just keep going with the random pics







Does anyone know what the bolt holes are for seen in this pic? I always wondered this.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 10:17 PM   #1206
wildBill83
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Back in Texas
Posts: 2,045
wildBill83 seems to have made some friends!
seems to be bolt holes for the factory disc changer. I had one in my CB7 when I first got it.
wildBill83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 11:25 PM   #1207
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,158
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raf99 View Post
I'm debating if the amps need a in-line fuse since they have a built in fuse themselves. Any ideas guys?
Yes!!! The in-line fuse is NOT to protect the amp, rather it protects the wire from burning your car to the ground. Install it as close as possible to the battery. Pick the fuse size based on wire gauge.
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 06:08 AM   #1208
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildBill83 View Post
seems to be bolt holes for the factory disc changer. I had one in my CB7 when I first got it.
Well you made my day. Always wondered this. One could make a nice shelf for an amp utilizing these bolt holes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikaccord View Post
Yes!!! The in-line fuse is NOT to protect the amp, rather it protects the wire from burning your car to the ground. Install it as close as possible to the battery. Pick the fuse size based on wire gauge.
ya... I know I know Just figured there was no way on such a short run. 4AWG wire running to a 1000W amp with 80amp fuse and 4AWG wire running to an amp with 30amp fuse. Luckily I have some in-line fuses I can use.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 07:28 AM   #1209
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,158
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Wait, I spy a circuit breaker? Why not use that?
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 06:27 PM   #1210
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikaccord View Post
Wait, I spy a circuit breaker? Why not use that?
Circuit breaker is 160amp for the 2AWG wire running to the starter. I'll use two in-line fuses on the wires running to each amp.

OR....... can i use one in-line fuse running to the distribution block for the amps. I'm thinking I should use two separate in-line fuses for each amp as one amp has a 80amp fuse and the other a 30amp fuse.

What's the fuse rating to use for a 4AWG wire?
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 07:35 PM   #1211
Lucien
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 240
Lucien is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Lucien
Did you get the fenders on yet? I cant wait to see how they look.
Lucien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:01 PM   #1212
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucien View Post
Did you get the fenders on yet? I cant wait to see how they look.
Actually I just bought a buffer the other night and buffed them last night.
I may put them on soon if I can find the time. II'm also moving in 15 days which is going to put a hold on everything.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:05 PM   #1213
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,158
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raf99 View Post
Circuit breaker is 160amp for the 2AWG wire running to the starter. I'll use two in-line fuses on the wires running to each amp.

OR....... can i use one in-line fuse running to the distribution block for the amps. I'm thinking I should use two separate in-line fuses for each amp as one amp has a 80amp fuse and the other a 30amp fuse.

What's the fuse rating to use for a 4AWG wire?
4 awg is rated to about 100A, +/- some amps.

You can use one fuse as long as all of the wire is the same size.

If you use a smaller inline fuse than your amps rated fuse, then the smaller fuse becomes the amps protective fuse if you wanted to go about it that way.
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:34 PM   #1214
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikaccord View Post
4 awg is rated to about 100A, +/- some amps.

You can use one fuse as long as all of the wire is the same size.

If you use a smaller inline fuse than your amps rated fuse, then the smaller fuse becomes the amps protective fuse if you wanted to go about it that way.
Yep. Going to use same fuse that each amp has. Two in line fuses.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 09:46 PM   #1215
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
I appreciate the support sonikaccord. You should come by more often

Tonight's work.....





Only thing left to do is wire up the backup camera power and ground. I figured I'm going to wire this to one of the amps since they have a +12V / ground and since they only come on when the car is turned on.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 09:52 AM   #1216
kratemertyl
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: new orleans
Posts: 222
kratemertyl is cool... so far.
What's the idea behind the circuit breaker for the starter? Is it a must?
__________________
kratemertyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 01:16 PM   #1217
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by kratemertyl View Post
What's the idea behind the circuit breaker for the starter? Is it a must?
It is the most important must of the battery relocation! If the wire between the starter and the battery were to fray/touch the body/malfunction it would simply keep sparking sending electricity out of the wire and catch the car on fire. The breaker is there to cutoff the flow of electricity to that wire/component.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 08:43 PM   #1218
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,980
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
If ya'll remember this..



Finally hooked up, turned out great!


Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 11:21 PM   #1219
kratemertyl
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: new orleans
Posts: 222
kratemertyl is cool... so far.
I got ya. I imagine circuit breakers have different ratings, what are you running ? And how about placement, as close to battery as possible I guess huh

Oh and I dig the new signature pic
__________________
kratemertyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 12:13 AM   #1220
Lucien
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 240
Lucien is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Lucien
Wow. Where is that tailight from?
Lucien is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.