CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2009, 04:03 PM   #1
pr3pg4lyfe
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: north nj
Posts: 357
pr3pg4lyfe is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to pr3pg4lyfe
Exclamation spark plug wires changed every 2 months

im having the only problem for some reason after like 2 months after a spark plug wire change the wires pop out gives me a ruff idle then i push them back in the ruff idle stops it always happends since i got the car back in june of 08 i hanged the spak plug wires roughly 3 times that i remember the 1st time was i changed the head gaskit cuz it was leaking oil thats fixed when i pulled the spark plug wire out the tip that wraps around the spark plug stood on the spark plug me and my cuzin took them off useing needle nose plyers and before we changed them they were coming out 2 is there anything i can do 2 stop this by the way the head gaskit kit came with head gaskit spark plug gaskit(the o rings) changed all the gaskits and still the same problem
pr3pg4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 04:05 PM   #2
ExplodingCake
Noob Herder
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WarpZone..
Posts: 8,966
ExplodingCake seems to have made some friends! ExplodingCake seems to have made some friends!
??

To much run-on sentences.
__________________

1993 Honda Accord LX 2004-2009
1996 Honda Civic LX 2009-2012
2012 Kia Optima LX 2012-2013
2010 Honda Accord EX-L V6 2013-20XX (Tubbs Fire Survivor)
2007 Honda Fit Sport 2017-2017 (RIP Death by Tubbs Fire)






ExplodingCake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 04:25 PM   #3
Reignstarz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ManchVegas.
Posts: 362
Reignstarz is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Reignstarz
Actually that is all one sentence. lol.

Your plugs push out because the wires get oil in them.

You really gotta do the valve cover gaskets(Not head gaskets) right or else you'll leak oil into your plugs again.

If not get a new valve cover.
Reignstarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 04:28 PM   #4
traviezo
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: keshena, WI by way of El Paso, tx.
Posts: 40
traviezo may have said something they shouldn't have...
Send a message via AIM to traviezo
1st, you need to start using periods, DAMN, lol. Have you tried new wires. I mean do you know for a fact that those are the wires for your model? Make sure your not using some wires off some other car the last owner just threw on there to sell the car. If they are, I think you said you did the head on the car, was the valve cover put back on correctly. its probably pissing out oil if its not, but it might not be, so check that as well.

Last edited by traviezo; 05-15-2009 at 04:30 PM.
traviezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 05:04 PM   #5
pr3pg4lyfe
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: north nj
Posts: 357
pr3pg4lyfe is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to pr3pg4lyfe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reignstarz View Post
Actually that is all one sentence. lol.

Your plugs push out because the wires get oil in them.

You really gotta do the valve cover gaskets(Not head gaskets) right or else you'll leak oil into your plugs again.

If not get a new valve cover.
yea sorry bout that yea it was a valve cover gaskit. i stay getting them confused. we changed them and it still pops out. and sorry bout the run on sentance. in a rush 2 find answers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reignstarz View Post
Actually that is all one sentence. lol.

Your plugs push out because the wires get oil in them.

You really gotta do the valve cover gaskets(Not head gaskets) right or else you'll leak oil into your plugs again.

If not get a new valve cover.
ive changed the valve cover and gaskits. for some reason they pop out. for the guy who aid figure if there the right wires ive went to advance auto pats and got the wires from them the 3 times.

Last edited by CustomLowz; 05-15-2009 at 05:34 PM.
pr3pg4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 05:53 PM   #6
Dimples
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plaistow, NH
Posts: 4
Dimples is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Dimples
I'm having the same problem. It's because my tube seals are leaking and the oil is pushing the wire out. (I'm only having the problem on one wire!)

If your seals are all good and there is no oil on the plug wires, make sure your plugs are tight enough (13 ft-lbs is all it takes!) as combustion gases could be pushing it out!
Dimples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 08:06 PM   #7
lost_accord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wagoner, OK
Posts: 254
lost_accord is cool... so far.
It could be the tube seals like has been said. There are upper ones that are easy to change and lower ones that are more involved. The lower ones require the camshaft to be removed.

Also if I had the same problem that many times I would not get the same thing or go to the same place again. Going to Advance 3 times for wires? No sir.

I got this set with the OE style boots & they are not comming off. They were difficult to remove to do my timing belt.

The wires that came on my car were really cheap looking, little skinny wires and boots that just kinda convered the tube holes & would pop off... I joke they came from Dollar General.
lost_accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:18 PM   #8
Backk InTheCB7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 64
Backk InTheCB7 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reignstarz View Post
Actually that is all one sentence. lol.

Your plugs push out because the wires get oil in them.

You really gotta do the valve cover gaskets(Not head gaskets) right or else you'll leak oil into your plugs again.

If not get a new valve cover.
This sounds right. It may help to put a bead of silicone over the camshaft groove on the valve cover to assist with the seal.
Backk InTheCB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 08:29 AM   #9
pr3pg4lyfe
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: north nj
Posts: 357
pr3pg4lyfe is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to pr3pg4lyfe
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_accord View Post
It could be the tube seals like has been said. There are upper ones that are easy to change and lower ones that are more involved. The lower ones require the camshaft to be removed.

Also if I had the same problem that many times I would not get the same thing or go to the same place again. Going to Advance 3 times for wires? No sir.

I got this set with the OE style boots & they are not comming off. They were difficult to remove to do my timing belt.

The wires that came on my car were really cheap looking, little skinny wires and boots that just kinda convered the tube holes & would pop off... I joke they came from Dollar General.
if its these(http://www.oreillyauto.com/EW3/exter...mageViewer.jsp) that you have i get the same ones from advance but there from accel
pr3pg4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem , spark plug wire

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.