CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2018, 04:27 AM   #1
Teddycb7life
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Teddycb7life is cool... so far.
Question Need help with f22a1

Thinking of upgrading my f22a1 head to a a6 new valve springs exhaust new cam an cold air ram intake an then tune it an ecu from the 6 any issues with my idea or any advice b4 I spend alot lol
Teddycb7life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 07:45 PM   #2
dr manhattan
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 15
dr manhattan is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teddycb7life View Post
Thinking of upgrading my f22a1 head to a a6 new valve springs exhaust new cam an cold air ram intake an then tune it an ecu from the 6 any issues with my idea or any advice b4 I spend alot lol

You might want to read this first...
http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=88154
dr manhattan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 06:52 PM   #3
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,113
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
I can barely understand what you’re trying to say... what is it that you want to know?
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 10:25 AM   #4
djALBINI
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Miltown
Posts: 40
djALBINI is cool... so far.
Quote:
Thinking of upgrading my f22a1 head to a a6 new valve springs exhaust new cam an cold air ram intake an then tune it an ecu from the 6 any issues with my idea or any advice b4 I spend alot lol
My attempt at ciphering this would be "I'm thinking about upgrading my f22a1 head by putting in an a6 head and adding new valve springs, new exhaust system, new cam gear, cold air or short ram intake. Then get the ecu from the f22a6 and tune it.

I don't believe you would need to tune the ecu just swap it in, and $500 is not a lot for the gains to be had from the upgrades mentioned in the link to the 30+ HP for $500 or less post. Go for it! It will be a great learning experience.
djALBINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 12:07 AM   #5
Accord problems
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: THE HIPPIE STATE WHERE EVERY ONE DRIVE A PRIUS... NORTHERN CALIFORNIA *facepalm*
Posts: 1,284
Accord problems is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by djALBINI View Post

I don't believe you would need to tune the ecu just swap it in,
no you don't have to tune it . i did this for mine (jdm / euro f22a ) with a ecu from a se/ex f22a6 . it worked fine until it got stolen .

Last edited by Accord problems; 10-24-2018 at 12:22 AM.
Accord problems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 07:44 PM   #6
MOGOTP
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7
MOGOTP is cool... so far.
Teddycb7life, I am going to do this with my F22A1 as well. I have heard that you should also get the windage tray, oil pick up, and possibly the oil pan off of the A6. I don't think that it's necessary to include these items but, due to my personal preference, I am going to do the full A6 changeover.

Sorry don't wanna jack your thread but I have a question concerning the task at hand. For the cam, is it better to have the A6 re-ground or the A1, does it matter?
MOGOTP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 11:15 PM   #7
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,418
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
The oil pan and pick-up tube is the same for all F22A engines. The windage tray was the only thing of those three you mentioned that is F22A-specific.

The automatic F22A6 engines also had an oil cooler sandwich plate between the filter and the block, using the same part that the H22A and H23A1 did. If you can find an auto F22A6 to snag parts from, it's worth grabbing. You'll need the water pipe as well.
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.