CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2015, 11:40 AM   #1
DGOfTheCentury
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 136
DGOfTheCentury is cool... so far.
94 Accord Wiring Harness

How goes it? I have a 91 Accord with a f22b1 swap. When i did the swap, the wiring harness i used was from my f23a, with a few bootleg hook ups (For the sake of time). Now i am considering doing this again now that i have more time. My ECU is factory OBD1. My engine is 94 accord OBD1 (via Wikipedia). From my understanding the (94' to 96' accord) were OBD1.

So quite literally i should be able to just buy a 94' accord engine wiring harness and replace mines with it correct? While we are at it, lets kill two birds with one stone. Can i use an automatic engine wiring harness on my manual? (I was just thinking there would just be some unused connectors.)

Only reason i am considering this is because my initial harness has different connectors so i was unable to connect everything with peace at mind. Some of them i just left disconnected. I want a much cleaner look as well, instead of the poor man electric tape look i had to go with before lol. This is my work (minus the broken valve cover bolt, my m8 did that lol, been fixed since this pic) will be a K24a2 swap in the future as well, just trying to get the basics down before i shoot for the stars.
[IMG][/IMG]
DGOfTheCentury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 12:01 PM   #2
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,400
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
What you should have used from the start was your factory engine harness modified to work on the F22B1. You would have needed to add both VTEC wires and extend your oxygen sensor and you would have been done. You would use your OEM distributor attached to your F22A1 and everything would have plugged in just fine to all engine connectors and the chassis connectors. The VTEC subharness can be purchased separately on eBay or through Rywire for under $40.

What ECU are you using, specifically? If you're using the correct P0A, then you should swap pins A6 and A11 in the Accord harness.
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 03:51 PM   #3
1813mdw
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Jackson, Michigan
Posts: 56
1813mdw is cool... so far.
Is it just me or is that rad hose kinked shut?


Nevermind. I see it's disconnected lol

Last edited by 1813mdw; 01-13-2015 at 03:53 PM.
1813mdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:25 PM   #4
Chrisnick
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 148
Chrisnick is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrett View Post
What you should have used from the start was your factory engine harness modified to work on the F22B1. You would have needed to add both VTEC wires and extend your oxygen sensor and you would have been done. You would use your OEM distributor attached to your F22A1 and everything would have plugged in just fine to all engine connectors and the chassis connectors. The VTEC subharness can be purchased separately on eBay or through Rywire for under $40.

What ECU are you using, specifically? If you're using the correct P0A, then you should swap pins A6 and A11 in the Accord harness.
It's really about as simple as that. I did the F23A1 swap into my '97 LX, and retained all the F22B2 stuff except that I already had an F23A1 intake manifold swapped using a Rosko Racing IACV adapter, so I retained that as well. It's VERY simple and used the original harness. Depending on which exhaust manifold you choose to use(LX 4-1 shorty or EX style 4-2-1) will determine if you need to extend the primary o2 harness or not.... but it's not actually 100% necessary if you isolate those wires in the harness and pull them back to the rearward position to be used in the EX(rearward) location. The only other thing that was needed was to remove/add a couple of sensors(removed knock, added coolant temp sensor), switch coolant outlet necks on the front of the head(used the F22B2 outlet), and switch the 1-4 and 2-3 wires on the distributor to get the firing order correct.

Last edited by Chrisnick; 01-13-2015 at 09:27 PM.
Chrisnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:46 PM   #5
DGOfTheCentury
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 136
DGOfTheCentury is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1813mdw View Post
Is it just me or is that rad hose kinked shut?


Nevermind. I see it's disconnected lol
I did not install the rad i got yet, i still need the space to be able to change stuff lol...plus i do not want to keep having to bleed the cooling system haha...this is not my DD if tht makes any sense.

Last edited by DGOfTheCentury; 01-13-2015 at 09:56 PM.
DGOfTheCentury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:53 PM   #6
DGOfTheCentury
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 136
DGOfTheCentury is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrett View Post
What you should have used from the start was your factory engine harness modified to work on the F22B1. You would have needed to add both VTEC wires and extend your oxygen sensor and you would have been done. You would use your OEM distributor attached to your F22A1 and everything would have plugged in just fine to all engine connectors and the chassis connectors. The VTEC subharness can be purchased separately on eBay or through Rywire for under $40.

What ECU are you using, specifically? If you're using the correct P0A, then you should swap pins A6 and A11 in the Accord harness.
Actually i am using the factory odb1 ecu still...a friend helped me wire the VTEC solenoid. As i said i was in a rush because then i was driving this car but now it sits as my project car and i want to clean up this harness...tbh this harness is no good anymore and i just want a replacement one. The 94 obd1 accord harness should have the VTEC connection already...i do not mind extending the o2 sensor if i must...but this time i want to do it the right way. no poor man wires lol...(red wire is my poor man starter positive)...because we damaged the starter part of the harness smh...
DGOfTheCentury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 10:36 PM   #7
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,400
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
OBD1 doesn't tell me which engine the ECU came from. Is it your stock ECU?
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:48 PM   #8
DGOfTheCentury
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 136
DGOfTheCentury is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrett View Post
OBD1 doesn't tell me which engine the ECU came from. Is it your stock ECU?
The ECU is my stock/ factory obd1...not sure which one it is...i will have to figure that out this Thursday when i have time to remove the engine harness. When i did the swap i was told i could use my stock/factory ECU with my f23 wiring harness. It worked out just fine. I just want to tie in some of the sensors i did not have time to convert. Get rid of the check engine light. The codes are crazy lol, i need some sort of engine monitoring.

BTW does anyone know if i can use an automatic engine wiring harness on a manual???

Last edited by DGOfTheCentury; 01-14-2015 at 01:55 PM.
DGOfTheCentury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:54 PM   #9
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,400
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
If it's the one that came with your car, then it's the PT3. That ECU is not capable of activating VTEC, so it won't work for your application. You need the ECU I described in a previous post. It's the P0A ECU from a '94-'95 Accord EX which is the same car the engine came from.
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 03:57 PM   #10
DGOfTheCentury
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 136
DGOfTheCentury is cool... so far.
it is a POA...i do not remember changing this lol...so the 94 harness should definitely work with it now? considering this is a 94 accord ecu...
__________________
F22B1 Swap. #StanceNation

91' Accord Project

Paint is custom faded. (Love the Frankenstein look!)
DGOfTheCentury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 04:19 PM   #11
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,400
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
You really should use the factory Accord harness your car came with in order to allow the connectors for the chassis harness to plug right in. You'll use the distributor that came with your '91 car as well.
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 05:09 PM   #12
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,077
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Exactly.
EVERY common engine swap done in these cars uses the stock harness with extra wires added. Using the harness from the car the engine came out of will only make things more confusing. It could work, but it's the hard way of doing things.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:30 PM   #13
DGOfTheCentury
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 136
DGOfTheCentury is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
Exactly.
EVERY common engine swap done in these cars uses the stock harness with extra wires added. Using the harness from the car the engine came out of will only make things more confusing. It could work, but it's the hard way of doing things.
i understand that, but if i have the ecu from the 94' accord already installed, why can i not just use the 94' harness on the 94' f22b1?? im confused on how that would be difficult, it should just be a plug and play right? The only potential issue i see here is matching the cockpit connectors which is something i do not mind doing, done it before i just need to clean it up.
__________________
F22B1 Swap. #StanceNation

91' Accord Project

Paint is custom faded. (Love the Frankenstein look!)
DGOfTheCentury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:52 PM   #14
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,400
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
Since you don't care to listen, and you're willing to swap around connectors, go try it. Maybe it plugs right in.
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 06:02 PM   #15
DGOfTheCentury
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 136
DGOfTheCentury is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrett View Post
Since you don't care to listen, and you're willing to swap around connectors, go try it. Maybe it plugs right in.
well then...
my factory harness is torn to crap, a lot of the connectors are broken, or just plain cracked from 14yrs, so i had to solder them to fit the f22b1 though now i want a clean look with the correct connectors and all the sensors plugged in...instead of my pathetic short for time job

However, since you insisted, i will look into replacing my factory harness, who knows maybe it is cheaper...(94 harness is $100)

I do not mean to be difficult, i just want to make sure this stuff works because i am ordering from the internet, and i do not want to have to return things i get from the internet...yea i could go to my local junkyard, however i do not have the time to be out there searching for this harness...

So lets say i get this factory harness, to be sure i understand, i will need to extend and 02 sensor wire and wire the VTEC?
__________________
F22B1 Swap. #StanceNation

91' Accord Project

Paint is custom faded. (Love the Frankenstein look!)
DGOfTheCentury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:36 PM   #16
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,077
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
The harness intended for your year and model car, with the necessary additional wires cleanly added, will end up being a much easier thing to accomplish.

The 94 harness will work, if you don't mind modifying it where necessary... but I have no doubt that it will be more work, and potentially more mess, than a harness that is meant for the car. Every swap I've ever seen on here where someone tried to use the harness to match the engine, rather than the car, has always been a major ordeal.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
94 accord , engine wiring harness , f22b1 swap , manual , obd1

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.