Fuel gauge issue & fuel level float

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fuel gauge issue & fuel level float

I was finally able to find a replacement NS cluster to replace my inoperative temp gauge, and fix my fuel gauge which was not reading properly.

Now that my gauges are repaired and working, the fuel gauge is still giving me the same issue as before.

This now leads me to beleive my fuel level float is stuck in the tank.

What's the easiest way to go about repairing this? I have access to a new (used, but properly working) fuel tank and sending unit, which I can just drop my tank/SU and slam the new one in. Or, remove/repair/replace my current sending unit.

I've been driving with no fuel gauge now for about 4 months. My tank reads constantly full, even when empty. The low fuel light works though, and I use my trip meter as my fuel gauge.

You have to drop the tank. Its the only way to do it properly. There is no access panel from the top, unfortunately Honda didn't add one for our cars.

Also, when you're in there. REPLACE the gaskets, otherwise you won't pass emissions and you'll smell fumes once you retighten everything. They're about 15 bucks for Honda OEM ones.

Its really not that difficult, but remember each gallon of gas adds 8 lbs to the weight of the tank. Tank weighs about 25-30 lbs empty and is bulky so use as much gas as you can or drain it out into water jugs temporarily.

There are two straps that hold the tank in and you'll have to disconnect a couple lines on the driverside rear fender area that might give you the most issue since they've been on the lines for 2 decades.

EDIT: I was thinking you needed to do the fuel pump for some reason as well. For just the Sending Unit there is an access panel. I think its held on with a couple 10mm bolts. So all you'd need to do is remove the rear seat bottom to get access to that ground and possibly the seat back and carpeting
    Last edited by Losiracer2; 10-10-2012, 12:43 AM.