Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

advice on full brake line replacement

Hello

Looking for any advice for the novice brake line bender? I have never in my life done anything with brake lines aside from patching a bad line. Very comfortable with my double flare skills, but, aside from that I am a noob at brake line repair.

My lines are all completely shot. I mean I have brakes, but, 2/4 have holes and the remaining lines are rotten. 3/16 line is probably 5/8 in diameter from all the corrosion and shit that is built up.

Anyways, where do you guys source your fittings? How do you know what size fittings for all of the random shit you have to plumb? What about thread pitch, is that a standard deal or do I need to be aware of odd ball thread pitch crap when doing this?

Anyone remove ABS on an OBD2 car? Thinking it would be a lot easier, but, not sure if the electronics will be happy if I just remove everything. Thoughts or advice?

Car is a CD5 accord.

Thanks!
    Originally posted by wed3k
    im a douchebag to people and i don't even own a lambo. whats your point? we, douchbags, come in all sorts of shapes and colours.

My advice would be to use cunifer line (copper/nickel). It's as resistant to corrosion as stainless, bends easily by hand, and flares easily. You can get it from Fedhill (google er').

Not sure how to go about deducing the fitting types other than google searching or breaking one loose and looking at it. My guess would be metric bubble flare, but that's literally just a Wild-Assed-Guess. The fitting threads should be standard for the size of the line (1/4 vs 3/16, etc) and flare type.
    Originally posted by sweet91accord
    if aredy time i need to put something in cb7tuner. you guy need to me a smart ass about and bust on my spelling,gramar and shit like that in so sorry.

Comment