CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Audio/Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-17-2009, 07:54 PM   #1
loonysalmon
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
loonysalmon is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to loonysalmon
Unhappy Amp Power Cable Melting!

Hi, as the title says, my amp power cable keeps melting!

OVERVIEW OF SETUP
dual amps (300 watts each at 2 ohms)
2 power cables (4 ga and 8 ga)
2 ground cables
1 rem turn on lead that splits
1 set of RCAs that run to the back and go through one amp into a second

Obvious possible culprits:
Too much power = too much heat = MELTING!
Faulty fuses

So I know it can't be too much power since I'm running 2 amps at around 300 watts a piece. That's 300 watts through a 8 gauge cable and the other cable is 4 gauge. Obviously not that much power and can easily be handled by the 8 and 4 ga. wire.

Second, Faulty fuse is a no go as well because I've also blown fuses while this has been going on.

So . . . here's some odd anomalies that go w/the situation. . .
The cable affected depends on which amp is the first input and which is second. I send input to amp1, and output from amp1 to amp2's input. The first in the series is always the one affected. Confused? Me too. Also, the wire has melted in 2 different places. Once, directly after the inline fuse (in between the fuse and the amp, the fuse being about 8 inchs from the battery) Second time it was right at the power input for the amp (where I have a contact crimped to the end of the cable).

Anyone have a clue what's going on?

What I've checked:
Bare wires (none exist)
Bad grounds (definitely fine)
Other connections (all good, RCA, remote turn-on etc.)'

SUGGESTED SOLUTIONS PLEASE!
__________________
Bought From: Losiracer2
loonysalmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:30 PM   #2
kapone
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central NY
Posts: 579
kapone is cool... so far.
Send a message via Yahoo to kapone
A grounding power cable can cause a melting wire or a wire to small for your power output ...

Since your wire size is more than adequate for your power output...

and...

Since you already checked all your external wires and none are bare or touching bare metal. Than your only choice is the amp itself or the battery. Since the rest of your car is working fine (I presume) then the only culprit left is the amp itself.

Test the amp in a friends car if you can or better on a bench tester. Or if you have a spare amp switch it up see if it still happens ...

Keep us posted i would like to know what you come up with ...
__________________

In Need of an engine, just a basic f22a...pm me if you have one willing to part with.
kapone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:59 PM   #3
TomQuick
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mid hudson valley of New York
Posts: 128
TomQuick is cool... so far.
What do you mean by "The cable affected depends on which amp is the first input and which is second. I send input to amp1, and output from amp1 to amp2's input. The first in the series is always the one affected.?"

Specifically, what wires from Amp1 are you connecting to what terminals on Amp2? A picture could be worth a thousand words here, especially if it's nice close up shot of the amp wiring, and in good high resolution. If you've done what I think you might have a really good answer to my question will clear up your problem.
TomQuick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 10:12 PM   #4
Bad_dude
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 1,975
Bad_dude seems to have made some friends! Bad_dude seems to have made some friends!
Wow, melting power cable. That sounds horrible, especially for some who's installing for the first time like me.
Bad_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 10:41 PM   #5
TomQuick
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mid hudson valley of New York
Posts: 128
TomQuick is cool... so far.
I suspect that the OP has made a critical error in the way his amps are wired, which is causing his problem, but will need some specific information, or pictures to verify.

Generally speaking, if you are a bit careful about your install, there is no reason why you should ever have a power cable melt.
TomQuick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 03:07 PM   #6
darkfusion42
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ATL
Posts: 780
darkfusion42 seems to have made some friends!
Nobody seems to be asking but...

How are the speakers wired? What ohm load are you running to each amp and what are they rated at?

If perhaps you are running at too low of a load and for some reason the amp isnt going into protect....

It's a long shot.
__________________

Bought from: TypeG,mak,CB7_ACCORD,ChampCoupe,Blackex
Traded with: Cb7xChun
Sold to: Rob_is_legend,DaddyO,daheavyking
Sedan MR Thread Coupe MR Thread Prelude Si MR Thread
My huge For Sale Thread
darkfusion42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:21 AM   #7
lost_accord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wagoner, OK
Posts: 254
lost_accord is cool... so far.
I have to say bad connections on this one. Don't know how many times I've read this since he posted it but I keep comming back to where he says that it melted right after the fuse and at the amp. Bad connections have high resistance that causes heat. Although it should be blowing the fuses before 8 or 4 gauge wire melts. But 300 watt amps should not be melting those wires unless they are a dead short and probably not working. Are the cables ran by anything hot or getting poked by something sharp?
lost_accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 01:44 PM   #8
trubluryder
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 719
trubluryder is cool... so far.
My advice would be to upgrade to all "true" 4 gauge wires. Try this and I'm pretty positive it will get rid of your "melting wires issue". Don't assume that 4 gauge is overkill, because in the future if you plan to get a better/more powerful system, you'll be set to go...Unless you go crazy like me and run 0 awg. The bigger the wires, the more current of electricity can flow

Make sure both your ground and power are both the same size, never ever run different sizes .

About you blowing your fuse, get a higher rated fuse and you should be set...

Try these two thing out and i'm pretty sure it will solve ur problems.

Keep us updated
__________________
"PREPARE for the WORSE, Hope for the BEST" B.T.N.H.
trubluryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:12 PM   #9
TomQuick
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mid hudson valley of New York
Posts: 128
TomQuick is cool... so far.
Any news here? Did you get the problem worked out, or are you still having issues with it? If you did get it worked out, we'd love to know what the cause was, and how you fixed it.
TomQuick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 12:27 AM   #10
nachocb7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hemet,California
Posts: 41
nachocb7 is cool... so far.
how are your speakers set up? You could be drawing a 1/4 OHM load and that will definately melt wires. A 4 awg power wire should be fine for your setup. I am running a 4 awg main power line and ground. The main power is split in a power box to two 8 awg power wires. Both amps are running 2 ohm loads. One is 600watts and the other is 600 watts. Never had a melting or even heat problem.
nachocb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 11:35 AM   #11
bigbadnothing85
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Glassport Pa.
Posts: 162
bigbadnothing85 is cool... so far.
deffinatly upsize your wires, you cant go to big when it comes to the ground wire either, what size fuses do you have in your amp wires? how about a cap? if you'r runnin a dualie set-up you should have a cap for each amp
__________________
THOU SHALT NOT SHIT IN DEEVE'S WHEATIES
bigbadnothing85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 05:10 PM   #12
rgsh22accord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 509 yakima washington
Posts: 221
rgsh22accord is cool... so far.
Send a message via MSN to rgsh22accord
u need to get a bigger cable either 4 guages or 2 guage will work and make sure u grounds r good
rgsh22accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 06:05 PM   #13
rclawson1983
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
rclawson1983 is cool... so far.
[quote=lost_accord;2058479]I have to say bad connections on this one. Don't know how many times I've read this since he posted it but I keep comming back to where he says that it melted right after the fuse and at the amp. Bad connections have high resistance that causes heat. Although it should be blowing the fuses before 8 or 4 gauge wire melts. But 300 watt amps should not be melting those wires unless they are a dead short and probably not working. Are the cables ran by anything hot or getting poked by something sharp?


Hi I have two lanzar optic drives 12's peek at 6000 watt subs and a lanzar 6000 watt 2 channel amp hooked up to a 6600 cap and a marine battery. I have the same problem it's only getting hotter and melting my power wire I have 4 fuses and the only place where it melts wires is at the amp. Please help
rclawson1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 06:12 PM   #14
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,104
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
[quote=rclawson1983;3280800]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_accord View Post
I have to say bad connections on this one. Don't know how many times I've read this since he posted it but I keep comming back to where he says that it melted right after the fuse and at the amp. Bad connections have high resistance that causes heat. Although it should be blowing the fuses before 8 or 4 gauge wire melts. But 300 watt amps should not be melting those wires unless they are a dead short and probably not working. Are the cables ran by anything hot or getting poked by something sharp?


Hi I have two lanzar optic drives 12's peek at 6000 watt subs and a lanzar 6000 watt 2 channel amp hooked up to a 6600 cap and a marine battery. I have the same problem it's only getting hotter and melting my power wire I have 4 fuses and the only place where it melts wires is at the amp. Please help
Your amp termination is poor, causing high resistance. Does your amp have a set screw style power wire connection?
__________________
<Click for story - Welcome back!
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 05:26 PM   #15
Binladin
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Inmyskin, NS, where 90% of drivers seem to have lost their sense along wit the gas pedal n find the brake at highway speeds
Posts: 109
Binladin is cool... so far.
10yrs later. Lol... Years ago I once melted a nice 1000watt amp cuz my SUBS were wired in 2ohms instead of 4 how they should have been, I didn't melt any wires though but I was running 0 gauge... The amp always ran hot so I put 2 fans in the amp but the resistors still burnt up n fried the amp, while taking things apart I noticed how my voice coils were wired:/...
Lesson learned: every amp cant handle 2ohms.
__________________
4000watts just so all the haters hear me comin!
Binladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amp , cable , car audio , melt , wire

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.