CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 09:36 PM   #1
MikeyPhresh89
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kinston, NC
Posts: 96
MikeyPhresh89 is cool... so far.
Wink Cant Align 2 radius rods bolts? Help

i been doin some work on my suspension and i cant get the radius rod bolts to align in the holes i cant get one but the other one wont align in any help would be greatky appreciated thanks
MikeyPhresh89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 01:35 AM   #2
YK86
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 678
YK86 is cool... so far.
Try loosening the front bolt by the crossmember. It's extremely hard to get the holes to line up unless you loosen the front bolt as well. I just did mine a couple months ago so I know how hard it is if you don't loosen it.
YK86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:05 AM   #3
MikeyPhresh89
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kinston, NC
Posts: 96
MikeyPhresh89 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by YK86 View Post
Try loosening the front bolt by the crossmember. It's extremely hard to get the holes to line up unless you loosen the front bolt as well. I just did mine a couple months ago so I know how hard it is if you don't loosen it.
which bolt are u talkin bout the bolt at the beginning of the radius rod
MikeyPhresh89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:02 PM   #4
YK86
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 678
YK86 is cool... so far.
Sorry, I should have said the front nut, not bolt. It's the 17 or 19mm one at the front of the crossmember, threads onto the radius rod shaft at the front.
YK86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:16 PM   #5
quickangel93
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: upstate pa
Posts: 4,101
quickangel93 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to quickangel93
no dont do that. loosen the crossmember bolts. their 17mm and right next to eachother. their like 8" long lol. Then put the radius bolts on. those two bolts and a pain i know how you feel. but loosen the other 2 to get to those 2.
__________________
miss my turbo cb7
moved onto volvos. dont know how that happened, just did
quickangel93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:38 PM   #6
MikeyPhresh89
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kinston, NC
Posts: 96
MikeyPhresh89 is cool... so far.
thanks everybody for the advice imma try it when i get my new lower control arm in the mail
MikeyPhresh89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:39 PM   #7
MikeyPhresh89
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kinston, NC
Posts: 96
MikeyPhresh89 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickangel93 View Post
no dont do that. loosen the crossmember bolts. their 17mm and right next to eachother. their like 8" long lol. Then put the radius bolts on. those two bolts and a pain i know how you feel. but loosen the other 2 to get to those 2.
lossen all the crossmeber bolts or just the two on the passenger side because thats the side im working on
MikeyPhresh89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 03:13 PM   #8
YK86
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 678
YK86 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickangel93 View Post
no dont do that. loosen the crossmember bolts. their 17mm and right next to eachother. their like 8" long lol. Then put the radius bolts on. those two bolts and a pain i know how you feel. but loosen the other 2 to get to those 2.
Just curious as to why you'd prefer this method over loosening the nut. Every one has different methods so I'm not disagreeing, just wondering why.

I loosen the nut because it give me more slack to line up the holes on the arm side than moving the crossmember around. Also, when you tighten the nut back up to specs, I find the caster remains the same.
YK86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 11:04 PM   #9
MikeyPhresh89
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kinston, NC
Posts: 96
MikeyPhresh89 is cool... so far.
Bump
MikeyPhresh89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 11:07 PM   #10
'93CB7Ex
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ATL
Posts: 2,229
'93CB7Ex seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to '93CB7Ex
id loosen the radius rod as said before. or just pull the control arm in a little but.
__________________
'93CB7Ex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 11:12 PM   #11
MikeyPhresh89
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kinston, NC
Posts: 96
MikeyPhresh89 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by '93CB7Ex View Post
id loosen the radius rod as said before. or just pull the control arm in a little but.
okay ill try that when my lower control comes in the mail thanks by the way nice accord
MikeyPhresh89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:57 AM   #12
jdmwannabee
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: mcdonough, ga
Posts: 274
jdmwannabee is cool... so far.
if you loosen the radius rod you have a greater potential to mess up your alignment...
jdmwannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 02:45 AM   #13
quickangel93
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: upstate pa
Posts: 4,101
quickangel93 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to quickangel93
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmwannabee View Post
if you loosen the radius rod you have a greater potential to mess up your alignment...
x2 hence why i said my idea
__________________
miss my turbo cb7
moved onto volvos. dont know how that happened, just did
quickangel93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 02:55 AM   #14
YK86
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 678
YK86 is cool... so far.
The crossmember holes are actually a bit bigger than the bolts. If you don't put it back exactly where it was before, there is also a chance the caster (hence part of the alignment) will be thrown off.

With the radius rod nut, there is a metal sleeve inside the bushings which will not allow it to compress after a certain point. As long as the nut is tightend back down to specs, the caster will be exactly where it was before you loosened it.
YK86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:22 AM   #15
chorne1787
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35
chorne1787 is cool... so far.
well if it messes up the caster won't an alignment fix it
chorne1787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:33 AM   #16
YK86
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 678
YK86 is cool... so far.
Yes, but the only problem with CB's is that unlike 3rd gens with adjustable radius rods, they need to be shimmed or the cheater way is to move the crossmember which alignment places around here charge extra for. So I find it's best to try and do things so you don't mess up the caster if possible.
YK86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
honda , raduis rod , suspension

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.