CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner "Off Topic"

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2018, 10:15 AM   #61
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikaccord View Post
*sigh*

OEM bearings are fine . POINT TAKEN
OEM valves and valve springs are fine . GOTCHA

Replace ALL your seals with new OEM parts. Havent ORDERED yet but WILL COMPLETE
Your ringlands are typically the first failure point.
Get a manual tensioner and balance shaft delete kit. You'll appreciate the extra oil pressure. ORDERED AND WIL COMPLETE .

some answers above

How do you/Can I replace/strengthen ring lands?

Last edited by smac; 08-25-2018 at 10:43 AM.
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 11:07 AM   #62
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Can I use the f20b crank pulley on my 2dr h22a4 motor?
I ordered a replacement for the h22a4 motor but then thought maybe I should put the new aluminum crank pulley I just bought on my new motor f20b and just swap them. Would this work?
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 06:02 PM   #63
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,082
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
The ring lands are part of the piston casting. If you want stronger ring lands, you’ll need stronger pistons. That can be rather tricky with an H22.

As for the crank pulley, I believe it will work, but I don’t want to say for certain, as I’ve never done it myself.

As far as the harness goes, look into the obd2 to obd1 conversion instructions in the swaps sub forum. That’s what you want to do. You’ll need to swap the distributor, injectors, and ecu for certain. Converting the car’s wiring to match the engine is far more involved, and more likely to be a hassle. It can be done, but it’s not a great idea.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 08:34 PM   #64
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,124
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
I think you can swap crank pulleys as well. I don't see why it wouldn't work.

You should run a stock crank pulley or an ATI. Look up crankshaft harmonics. Your stock pulley has a rubber ring around it for a purpose!
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 11:22 PM   #65
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,403
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
The crank pulley on the F20B is a single row because the car it came in had electric power steering. If you want to delete power steering, sure. If not, you'll need to use a different one. Any pulley from a '94-'02 Accord 4-cylinder will work as a suitable replacement, too.
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 03:31 PM   #66
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
2dr UPDATE:I done some clean-up work this past weekend and changed the crank pulley on my 2dr h22a4 car.
I am still waiting ( its been over 4 business days )for the distributor to arrive so I can re-wire and test out the car .
Then its oil change and complete tune up as this will hopefully be my DD until finished with 4dr.



4dr UPDATE: I received my v-tec subharness but could use some help with the clean installation part
I have also received my balance shaft delete kit. I am considering the return of it and get the one from KS thats already performed within the oil pump and then just change out my oil pump etc. Or is the job that straight forward?
Still waiting on the auto to manual tensioner to arrive
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 08:31 PM   #67
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,124
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
I've seen people install it with a rubber/deadblow hammer. I personally just ordered the oil pump already modded as I needed a new one anyway. It probably took several hours off the engine assembly time.
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 02:15 PM   #68
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Can I use the h22a1 or a4 water pump/timing belt for my f20b? I am trying to get this ordered now.

I have been busy installing something cool to make things a bit easier for me hopefully.


More pics to come real soooooonnnnnn.......
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 06:17 PM   #69
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,082
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
H22 belt is 155 teeth. F20B belt is 156. People have used the H22 belt, but it’s tight. You may not want a tight timing belt on an interference engine.
Here’s your part number: 14400-PCB-004


This is why I usually advise against any engine that wasn’t sold in the US. Not all parts are interchangeable with usdm stuff.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 12:56 PM   #70
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
H22 belt is 155 teeth. F20B belt is 156. People have used the H22 belt, but it’s tight. You may not want a tight timing belt on an interference engine.
Here’s your part number: 14400-PCB-004


This is why I usually advise against any engine that wasn’t sold in the US. Not all parts are interchangeable with usdm stuff.

most kits I see for a water pump timing belt combo says its for h22a1-a4 but then also when I look further into details I see this part number listed as "cross-reference/OEM part numbers" 14400-PCB-004 which is 155 teeth.

With this being the case, I gather that there are probably others out there that have been running the shorter belts for awhile now since their sold like this.

Is me running the 156teeth belt that much of a difference? Its really hard to find, I know this....

Last edited by smac; 08-31-2018 at 01:43 PM.
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 03:40 PM   #71
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,124
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
With the manual tensioner, you would not need as much tension with an H22 belt on the F20b. Will it be reliable like that? Maybe.
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 03:43 PM   #72
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,082
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
I never did the manual tensioner conversion on my h22, so I don’t know for sure.
The proper belt can be ordered from overseas.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 10:05 AM   #73
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
I never did the manual tensioner conversion on my h22, so I donít know for sure.
The proper belt can be ordered from overseas.
Oh please tell if you know of someone...I am ready to order right now...
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 11:40 AM   #74
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Updates:


2dr: I still have NOT received a h22a OBD1 external coil dizzy that I ordered weeks back? I have followed up with them and they have not responded yet. I would buy another dizzy again somewhere else if could find it, and then just cancel this order because of how long its taking????

I do perhaps have an option.
Would this work?
If I used the shell of the dizzy from my f20b ( just for the bolt pattern lining up with my h22a4) but the internals from my f22a1, would this work? I kinda think it would because their probably very similar plus external coil like I need? Help please?


4dr: I am waiting for my MP1A Auto transmission that I did end up purchasing because, after driving my current the last time a few days back, it didnt give me warm and fuzzies. It is shifting even harder than usual, unexpected shift points etc...
Plus this gives me extra piece of mind knowing both engine and tranny have lower miles of roughly 70k on them instead of twice 3 times that etc....

Alot of items are scheduled to arrive later today:

complete h22 intake plus injectors
Water pump and timing belt
KS Tuned oil pump with bal delete

Last edited by smac; 09-04-2018 at 12:59 PM.
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 11:49 AM   #75
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Here is the something special I installed for the job at hand to make things a little easier hopefully....







This is just a little something extra I came across....JDM window visors as well as complete all 4 mudd flaps. I had the whole set of flaps before but when I got the car back, one of the rear was missing. I will provide pics later of flaps etc..


Last edited by smac; 09-04-2018 at 12:40 PM.
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 12:43 PM   #76
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Here is current state....



Last edited by smac; 09-09-2018 at 09:48 AM.
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:25 PM   #77
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Guys it’s getting to be crunch time for me and I REALLY need help to try and get this swap done this weekend. Or pretty dang close.

I don’t know where to post this so please admin help.
Here is my mobile 850 889 6377. If anyone is in/near Pensacola Fl and can help me or know someone that can this weekend if at all possible etc please call or txt me.

I will continue to look for local shops or help but everyone I call says they don’t touch swaps unless exact replacements etc....

BTW. This stems from the guy that originally stated he could/would do the job with provided quote, went MIA....

Last edited by smac; 09-14-2018 at 04:27 PM. Reason: More clarification
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:33 PM   #78
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
Current status

2dr has new distributor but still won’t start. I need help with all the wiring though because it was cut far back so I spliced as much as possible as color for color as I could but nothing. I could use help here too...

4dr: Hoist is ready and motor is ready for pulling other than axles pulled from transmission which I plan to attempt tonight.
Other than that, it’s ready to pull.
I have all the ordered parts and kits for my f20b FINALLY ready for installation.
Transmission arrived MP1A auto also
All this means I am ready but need ALOT of help and or guidance etc

Last edited by smac; 09-14-2018 at 06:10 PM. Reason: Grammar
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 11:18 AM   #79
smac
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 14
smac is cool... so far.
current status

smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.