CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Technical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2019, 12:40 AM   #1
zedjr10
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 688
zedjr10 may have said something they shouldn't have...
what is a secondary place to wire radio or custom gauges, dims with radio output?

I just got some good speakers all the way around. So now i can turn up my radio. My three prosport gauges now dim with radio cause it is hooked in to same wire as radio. I am installing an mini-amp tomorrow behind radio and wanted to re-route that gauge power or radio/amp power so this annoying thing stops. Where is a good secondary place to route this, anyone know? Maybe the cigarette lighter power am guessing possibly.is that still in parallel to the radio in the wiring possibly? If that is case then does no help as still splitting peak needed volts when radio is turned up.

Last edited by zedjr10; 03-10-2019 at 01:32 AM.
zedjr10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 02:31 PM   #2
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,181
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Wire it directly into the fuse box using a female spade connector
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 12:34 AM   #3
F22Chris
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,192
F22Chris is very helpful F22Chris is very helpful
What mini amp? Alpine power pack?

You can wire the gauge to the cigarette lighter, but itís gonna be full on bright when the cars on.

The cigarette lighter is not hooked up to the dimmer switch. If that was the case, youíd have a wonky phone charger or whatever you have in the cig socket.

If you need it, the illumination wire is orange/white if the radio is aftermarket, and red/black on the factory harness.

Of its an aftermarket radio, you can just power the gauge off the red wire. Or if factory - the yellow/red wire.

The radio amplifier get power directly from the battery. The ignition wire is just used to turn the radio on when you turn the key.

If Iím totally off base here lemme know, cause Iím not gonna lie, that was hard as shit to read.
__________________
F22Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 01:12 AM   #4
zedjr10
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 688
zedjr10 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Quote:
Originally Posted by F22Chris View Post
What mini amp? Alpine power pack?

You can wire the gauge to the cigarette lighter, but itís gonna be full on bright when the cars on.

The cigarette lighter is not hooked up to the dimmer switch. If that was the case, youíd have a wonky phone charger or whatever you have in the cig socket.

If you need it, the illumination wire is orange/white if the radio is aftermarket, and red/black on the factory harness.

Of its an aftermarket radio, you can just power the gauge off the red wire. Or if factory - the yellow/red wire.

The radio amplifier get power directly from the battery. The ignition wire is just used to turn the radio on when you turn the key.

If Iím totally off base here lemme know, cause Iím not gonna lie, that was hard as shit to read.
i think i was drunk when i wrote it. Sorry. I checked and cig lighter is on a separate 15 amp fuse. So I was also planning on hooking up my pioneer mini-amp there. It requires a 15amp or higher line. Since my speaker power will now be going thru cig lighter line via the amp. My 3 prosport gauges shouldn't flicker like they do now.
zedjr10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 09:58 AM   #5
F22Chris
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,192
F22Chris is very helpful F22Chris is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedjr10 View Post
i think i was drunk when i wrote it. Sorry. I checked and cig lighter is on a separate 15 amp fuse. So I was also planning on hooking up my pioneer mini-amp there. It requires a 15amp or higher line. Since my speaker power will now be going thru cig lighter line via the amp. My 3 prosport gauges shouldn't flicker like they do now.
Can I have the model of that pioneer? Curious
__________________
F22Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:36 PM   #6
zedjr10
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 688
zedjr10 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Quote:
Originally Posted by F22Chris View Post
Can I have the model of that pioneer? Curious
It is a pioneer gm-d1004 . The alpine power pack is almost the same exact thing.
zedjr10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 06:38 PM   #7
F22Chris
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,192
F22Chris is very helpful F22Chris is very helpful
Okay cool. You’re not going to accessory power for that anyway. Just 12v constant. Don’t hook the power wire of the amp up to the cigarette lighter is what I’m saying. Hook up the remote turn on to the cigarette lighter if you wanna.
__________________
F22Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 01:30 AM   #8
zedjr10
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 688
zedjr10 may have said something they shouldn't have...
It was the ground causing this problem with gauge lights flickering with beat of radio. I made it's own ground to battery and no more annoying flickering. And new sound system is awesome.
zedjr10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.