CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2014, 05:34 PM   #1
accordbol
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
accordbol is cool... so far.
Question F22a Swap To F23a

Friends, I could not find a replacement engine for my f22a2 CB7, but I have found the F23a, can I install it? Is it possible? Won't be too difficult?
accordbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 06:35 PM   #2
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,454
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
Were you the same person who asked this on the Facebook classifieds thread?

It's possible, and quite easy to a point, but it does have some complications involving ECU compatability in an OBD1 application. The same applies for most swaps that you would do. You'll use your original harness and distributor and just add VTEC wires to the harness. You'll no longer use the CKP harness on the oil pump. You'll need either an OBD1 P0A ECU or a P28 ECU tuned for the application. Use your factory driver side mount bracket and make sure you have a header for the F22B1/2 or F23A and you're good.

That's pretty much it. Had you searched you would have found most of this out.
__________________
My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 08:19 PM   #3
zach09
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
zach09 is cool... so far.
Question

I plan on doing the same swap here soon! i just bought a motor from over seas and has a 1 yr unlimited mile warranty. Got it from a local shop here were i live. I was told to use the following f22 parts:

Intake manifold including throttle body, injectors the whole thing
dizzy
ps pump
alternator
post mount bracket for timing but use a f23 timing belt

and then a header off a f22B motor.

Does this all sound right?
zach09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:23 PM   #4
accordbol
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
accordbol is cool... so far.
I have managed to connect the F23a block in my F22a, is working to perfection but now I'm having problems with the automatic transmission, you should use the same? The F22A (mine has faults) or can I install the F22B or F23A?
accordbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:30 PM   #5
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,192
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Any transmission that came on an F series will work.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 08:32 PM   #6
djscoonf22A6
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Miramar, Fl
Posts: 75
djscoonf22A6 is cool... so far.
i did this swap i could help u
djscoonf22A6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f22a , f23a , swap

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.