f22a1 an interference engine?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

f22a1 an interference engine?

Sorry if I sound like a complete noob but is the f22 an interference engine? My timing belt snapped a couple of days ago and just wanted to find out so I know exactly what to do. I hear it isn't then it is so what is it?

she is down....but definately not out

It is definitely an interference engine. As is the H22. I know that from experience.
    Originally posted by Junior Smurff
    Nevermind guys, google search works wonders!

I don't have road rage, my car just goes faster than yours!

Accords are for winners. And Grandmothers. But mostly winners.

I have grown so Tired of Internet Illiteracy. Please learn proper spelling and grammar. For your sake and that of your children.

Comment

If you broke the timing belt you can go ahead and take the cylinder head off. You almost definitely bet valves.
      My Members' Ride Thread - It's a marathon build, not a sprint. But keep me honest on the update frequency!

Comment

This is the first time this has happened to me. I was told that I would have heard some sort of internal contact between the valves and pistons.

Comment

Unless it was at idle when it broke then you probably bent some valves. It may have bent them even at idle. As Jarrett said, you might as well pull the head and check everything out.
          Originally posted by deevergote
          That is exactly why pork chops don't taste like chocolate!

Comment

Originally posted by 4GAccordH22 View Post
            It is definitely an interference engine. As is the H22. I know that from experience.

When I took my timing cover off I saw the timing belt was on the outside of the gear, on the right side instead in the middle.
            Is it possible for a timing belt to slip off the cam gear?

Do a leak down test or a compression test.
            Last edited by Mishakol129; 11-02-2012, 07:17 PM.