CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2018, 12:16 PM   #1
KeystoneLX
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Erie, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
KeystoneLX is cool... so far.
Angry Solid Illuminated D4 - HELP!

Hi folks,

First off, I'm new to the forum. Although I've religiously referred to CB7Tuner, I decided I needed to become a member for some real help.

So here's the scoop:

When I bought my 92 LX with 98k original miles, the owner stated it had a blinking D4 issue. After doing some research, I replaced the main fuel relay and that issue never occurred again. Whew. My CB7 now has 136k.

So up until a few months ago, I never had issues with my tranny again, until I noticed D4 being solidly illuminated upon turning the key in the 'on' position, therefore resulting in the infamous 'limp mode' indicative of faulty TCU components. This issue occurred at a more frequent rate as time went on. I even noticed that, at times, while I was driving around that D4 would flicker in no apparent pattern. I tried pulling codes, and the only thing popping up was D4 continuously lit (faulty TCU or '0', if I understand correctly.)

I replaced my lock-up solenoid that was not clicking properly after applying 12v, and that didn't seem to make much of a difference. I finally contacted a fella on a facebook group who repaired my TCU, which previously had a leaky capacitor. After hooking up the repaired TCU - (all 7 capacitors were replaced), bingo! Drove around town a little while to make sure. In my honest opinion, it shifted smoother than the day I bought it about 3.5 years ago. D4 no longer was lit upon turning the key in the 'on' position - until the next morning.

I proceeded to unhook the negative battery terminal and re-connect it, which at that moment, the D4 light did not appear upon turning the key in the 'on' position. I took out the hazard fuse for about 15 mins for the hopes of resetting the ECU. Drove around town a bit, no issues. Pulled codes; none.

Next morning I turn my key into the 'on' position, and lo and behold D4 is illuminated.

What could cause this to occur? I'm at a total loss since:
1. there are no codes, and
2. unhooking and re-connecting the battery/hazard fuse seems to 'reset' the TCU/ECU

Any help would be greatly appreciated. The parts cannon is locked and loaded, unfortunately. Thank you all in advance!
KeystoneLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 04:21 PM   #2
illinois_erik
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,109
illinois_erik is very helpful illinois_erik is very helpful illinois_erik is very helpful
probably caps in the ecu. they talk to each other. id resolve it before it hurts the tcu or something.
__________________
illinois_erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 05:33 PM   #3
KeystoneLX
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Erie, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
KeystoneLX is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by illinois_erik View Post
probably caps in the ecu. they talk to each other. id resolve it before it hurts the tcu or something.
I was pondering the idea of it being something ECU, or possibly a ground issue. Thanks for your advice!
KeystoneLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 09:53 PM   #4
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 2,591
fleetw00d is very helpful fleetw00d is very helpful
I suspect your TCU still has a problem. A solid D4 as you already know is indicative of a bad TCU. Did the guy on facebook provide any guarantee of his work? I have now had four TCUs repaired by "mandigital" (David Ruberg) on ebay. He repairs them for $75 (you pay shipping to him, he pays return shipping) and has a lifetime guarantee. Two of them were more than a year ago and are working fine. Just got two others back Friday - installed one of those this morning.

To reset the TCU/ECM, all you need to do is remove the 7.5 amp (left rear corner) back up fuse in the under hood fuse box for about 10 seconds.
__________________
90 LX 4dr 5 spd 375,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=201450
93 LX wagon auto 253,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=208490
92 EX coupe auto 171,151 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=205114 RIP
92 EX coupe auto 190,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=210341
07 Element EX AWD 173,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=210623

LOTS of CB7 parts for sale http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=192583 or watch for banner ad at upper right
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 01:20 AM   #5
KeystoneLX
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Erie, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
KeystoneLX is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetw00d View Post
I suspect your TCU still has a problem. A solid D4 as you already know is indicative of a bad TCU. Did the guy on facebook provide any guarantee of his work? I have now had four TCUs repaired by "mandigital" (David Ruberg) on ebay. He repairs them for $75 (you pay shipping to him, he pays return shipping) and has a lifetime guarantee. Two of them were more than a year ago and are working fine. Just got two others back Friday - installed one of those this morning.

To reset the TCU/ECM, all you need to do is remove the 7.5 amp (left rear corner) back up fuse in the under hood fuse box for about 10 seconds.
Yes, the fella on FB said he'd guarantee the repair for a year. We've been in contact pretty consistently, and he's willing to send another from a 92 LX like the one previously repaired. I paid about $65 total ..but with the shipping of another it'd be a little more.

I've taken out the 7.5 amp fuse several times with good luck before I determined the problem was occurring more frequently. Weirdly enough, my car's D4 hasn't been solid upon turning key to 'on' for about 4 days straight - not to say it won't happen again soon though.. I may have to get ahold of another repaired identical (besides lot number) TCU and see if this problem persists.

Although I really would like to go AT/MT, it's a lot of work and I don't have the resources to do such myself. Trying to avoid that route as long as long as I may be able to mend this with another TCU. Thanks for the response!
KeystoneLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.