CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2018, 10:35 AM   #1
djALBINI
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Miltown
Posts: 34
djALBINI is cool... so far.
H swap dies, idle too high

Hey everyone, got an issue with my swap. At startup the motor shoots to 1800 rpm, then drops low enough to die unless I give it a bit of gas for about 5-10 seconds.

When its at op temp the idle is somewhere between 1100 and 1500 RPM and wont drop lower.

A buddy of mine tried the adjustment screw at the TB but doing this causes me to have to hold the throttle longer at warm up to prevent it from dying at start up.

Has anyone else had this problem?
djALBINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 02:08 PM   #2
Accord problems
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: THE HIPPIE STATE WHERE EVERY ONE DRIVE A PRIUS... NORTHERN CALIFORNIA *facepalm*
Posts: 1,284
Accord problems is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by djALBINI;3286133nd

A buddy of mine tried the adjustment screw at the TB
that idle screw should have never been messed with . check for vacuum leask / cracked vacuum lines and such . there is a few ways to check for them water / propain / brake cleaner . ( note breake cleaner will catch fire .)

Last edited by Accord problems; 10-26-2018 at 02:12 PM. Reason: miss spelled
Accord problems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 07:01 PM   #3
djALBINI
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Miltown
Posts: 34
djALBINI is cool... so far.
Angry

before messing with the idle screw, it would just die and not hold idle.

Map vaccum line plugged, egr deleted.
djALBINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 08:20 PM   #4
Accord problems
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: THE HIPPIE STATE WHERE EVERY ONE DRIVE A PRIUS... NORTHERN CALIFORNIA *facepalm*
Posts: 1,284
Accord problems is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by djALBINI View Post
before messing with the idle screw, it would just die and not hold idle.

Map vaccum line plugged, egr deleted.
did you remove the charcoal canister ?

still check for vacuum leaks . the red hose on the charcoal can if its off cracked it can cause this .

as for youre friend messing with the idle screw ( i know hes trying to help ) should have left it alone .

take well the engine is running and spray around with water ( spray bottle ) and listen for it to change idle.
Accord problems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 09:18 PM   #5
minoreparations
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,496
minoreparations is cool... so far.
Probably your fast idle valve. It’s located under your throttle body I believe. Also, what ECU are you running?
__________________
minoreparations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 01:11 PM   #6
4GAccordH22
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CV, NorCal
Posts: 1,869
4GAccordH22 is cool... so far.
Send a message via ICQ to 4GAccordH22 Send a message via AIM to 4GAccordH22 Send a message via Yahoo to 4GAccordH22
When 'messing with' the idle screw you should have the IAC unplugged and the service connector jumped (setting base idle). Otherwise the ECU will attempt to compensate.

Is this a new problem? Did it run fine, then this issue came up or has it done this since it was swapped? What ECU are you running? Is all of your wiring correct? Are all of the vacuum lines correct? Any CEL codes or vacuum leaks?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior Smurff View Post
Nevermind guys, google search works wonders!

I don't have road rage, my car just goes faster than yours!

Accords are for winners. And Grandmothers. But mostly winners.


I have grown so Tired of Internet Illiteracy. Please learn proper spelling and grammar. For your sake and that of your children.
4GAccordH22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 10:12 PM   #7
djALBINI
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Miltown
Posts: 34
djALBINI is cool... so far.
charcoal canister gone, black box gone, p28 chipped and tuned, air boost delete. IAC was unplugged and jumped service connector.

This has been happening since it has been swapped.

No CEL or vacuum leaks....
djALBINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 02:53 PM   #8
G. Wiffington
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 304
G. Wiffington is cool... so far.
p28 with Hondata? or just a chip with a tune? do you have a wideband?

I would be curious about the tune.
G. Wiffington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 03:22 PM   #9
djALBINI
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Miltown
Posts: 34
djALBINI is cool... so far.
yes i am indeed... the tuner stated that tuning cars with golden eagle intake manifolds is a pain in the ass. The curve is hard to get right I guess...
djALBINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 02:43 AM   #10
Accord problems
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: THE HIPPIE STATE WHERE EVERY ONE DRIVE A PRIUS... NORTHERN CALIFORNIA *facepalm*
Posts: 1,284
Accord problems is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by djALBINI View Post
yes i am indeed... the tuner stated that tuning cars with golden eagle intake manifolds is a pain in the ass. The curve is hard to get right I guess...
Quick question. How's your antifreeze level? Do you go through a certain amount of antifreeze in a week?
Accord problems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 04:13 PM   #11
G. Wiffington
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 304
G. Wiffington is cool... so far.
Can your tuner look at your tune again?
Was he able to street tune it or dyno tune it?
Or did he just create a basemap for your car?
G. Wiffington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 04:14 PM   #12
G. Wiffington
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 304
G. Wiffington is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Accord problems View Post
Quick question. How's your antifreeze level? Do you go through a certain amount of antifreeze in a week?
Sounds like he hasn't even made it that far yet if the engine is "dying" as he
described.
G. Wiffington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 11:55 AM   #13
djALBINI
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Miltown
Posts: 34
djALBINI is cool... so far.
the coolant level is maxxed out with the car as high on the jack in the front and bled out all the air then topped it off at the max hot line in the reservoir tank.

Tuner gave me a basemap based on H22 with bolt ons and 93 octane to get it running, then complained that i didnt tell him about the type of I/M.

Once towed to his house, he tuned it to get it running then took it to the street to finish tuning. So its running, but the idle is just set high because at startup I guess it will die if its not...?

I was told not to mess with the idle settings.
djALBINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 09:16 PM   #14
Accord problems
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: THE HIPPIE STATE WHERE EVERY ONE DRIVE A PRIUS... NORTHERN CALIFORNIA *facepalm*
Posts: 1,284
Accord problems is cool... so far.
Wtf his house ? Take it to well known shop not some guys house.

Try using just a stock ecu I have a feeling the tune is not right and you're just going to hurt the engine .
You will have to use 87 probably not sure .
Accord problems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 09:26 PM   #15
Grumpys93
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 2,751
Grumpys93 seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Accord problems View Post
Wtf his house ? Take it to well known shop not some guys house.

Try using just a stock ecu I have a feeling the tune is not right and you're just going to hurt the engine .
You will have to use 87 probably not sure .
There is no issue with going to a tuners house. MRX use to tune out of his house and Blake 850Fab works out of his shop in the back of his house. Both great tuners.

As for going to a stock Ecu I agree with. But do not put 87 octane in an H22a. It will knock as it requires 93 octane per Honda.

OP: unless the manifold is leaking I don’t see how it could be causing an idle issue. Do you have the stock intake mani? If the tuner feels that’s the issue swap it back to stop and see if issue is resolved.

Also are you running a stock TB or aftermarket? Have you checked to make sure your throttle cable isn’t too tight and had the throttle plate slightly cracked open?
__________________
~Nick~
FSAE (F Series Accord Enthusiasts) ..."A dying breed thats taking it to the next level" Lucky #13
MR Thread:http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...ight=Grumpys93

Last edited by Grumpys93; 11-06-2018 at 09:32 PM.
Grumpys93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 02:47 PM   #16
Accord problems
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: THE HIPPIE STATE WHERE EVERY ONE DRIVE A PRIUS... NORTHERN CALIFORNIA *facepalm*
Posts: 1,284
Accord problems is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpys93 View Post
cause i have never herd of good things coming from some one like that. i have herd nothing but horror story's when people say so and so did such and such from his house . this is the first time i even herd of good tuners from home . thats why i said that.
Accord problems is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.