Edit progression

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Edit progression

Just so you all know, I'm a fairly good photographer, but I'm somewhat of a n00b at Photoshop. I just haven't had the time to sit down and learn it. Between work, working on the car, spending time with a new nephew and taking photographs whenever I can, I just haven't been able to make much time to learn the ins and outs of the software. Weird, since I'm sort of a software nerd. (I have a degree in Network Engineering.)

Anyway, I wanted to post this up here to show a small progression in editing of an older image I took. The subject was my sister-in-law's brother-in-law. (Long story.) He never even realized I took the photo until I told him about it a year later.

My first try wasn't stellar, to say the least. Working from the original, I first converted it to B&W in the Channel Mixer. I turned the red channel way down, and used mostly blue & green channels. I feel this gives a much more visually impressive image. It tends to have more contrast, and offers much deeper shadows as opposed to the almost completely neutral red-dominated default. Once converted, I added a Curves layer, then sharpened the image. It was a step in the right direction, but note the blown-out highlights on the forehead and nose. There isn't much I can do about the nose, as the highlights were a bit blown in the original, and you can never recover info that's destroyed to begin with. I haven't gotten good enough at cloning to try to replicate that info yet, either.