CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2018, 08:47 PM   #1
boulky12
Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
boulky12 is cool... so far.
Gauge Cluster Lights issue

I've been trying to figure out this issue with my gauge cluster lights. It seems to me like a ground issue. I felt it would be easier to make a video showing you guys what's going on.

So please check it out if you have a minute : https://youtu.be/tsdr3FLWZMs

Thanks
boulky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 12:19 PM   #2
boulky12
Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
boulky12 is cool... so far.
BUMP. Come on guys. Someone has to know something
boulky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 11:06 PM   #3
Mike1357
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,361
Mike1357 is cool... so far.
I took a look at the video and just had a few questions. Have you owned the car for a while and it just started doing this or did you purchase it that way? Do you know if that is the original cluster to the car? Do you by any chance have a spare cluster you could pop in there to see if the issue might be in the cluster? Has any recent work been done to the car that might have caused this?
__________________
Mike1357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 08:41 AM   #4
boulky12
Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
boulky12 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike1357 View Post
I took a look at the video and just had a few questions. Have you owned the car for a while and it just started doing this or did you purchase it that way? Do you know if that is the original cluster to the car? Do you by any chance have a spare cluster you could pop in there to see if the issue might be in the cluster? Has any recent work been done to the car that might have caused this?
Thank you for taking the time to look at the video and replying.

I've only owned the car about 2-3 months now. I purchased it this way.

I don't know if it's the original cluster to the car. Now that i think about it, a lot of the screws for the big trim piece were tampered with, so its probably not.

I actually do have a spare cluster that was in the trunk when I bought the car but never even tried plugging that one in to see what it does because I figured that one was bad, and they put the one in the car now, to replace that one.. But maybe I should give it a shot? It has more miles tho..

The issue is still the same from day one since I bought the car, so any of my recent work has not contributed to the issue.
boulky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 09:03 AM   #5
4GAccordH22
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CV, NorCal
Posts: 1,865
4GAccordH22 is cool... so far.
Send a message via ICQ to 4GAccordH22 Send a message via AIM to 4GAccordH22 Send a message via Yahoo to 4GAccordH22
You have a 90-91 cluster in a 93. Could be the issue.

The 92-93 cluster doesn't highlight 55MPH...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior Smurff View Post
Nevermind guys, google search works wonders!

I don't have road rage, my car just goes faster than yours!

Accords are for winners. And Grandmothers. But mostly winners.


I have grown so Tired of Internet Illiteracy. Please learn proper spelling and grammar. For your sake and that of your children.
4GAccordH22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 02:39 PM   #6
boulky12
Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
boulky12 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4GAccordH22 View Post
You have a 90-91 cluster in a 93. Could be the issue.

The 92-93 cluster doesn't highlight 55MPH...
Really?? I'll definitely look into this.

And I'll check to see if that spare cluster has the 55 mph highlighted or not.

Thanks for replying!
boulky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 06:43 PM   #7
boulky12
Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
boulky12 is cool... so far.
So after rebuilding my suspension, new tires, and alignment all labor day weekend. I finally got around to trying the spare cluster that was in the trunk of the car when i bought it.

It is in fact a 92/93 cluster without the highlighted 55mph.

I plugged it in and ALL of the gauges don't work. Rpm's unresponsive, speedo unresponsive, fuel gauge reads Full when it's not, coolant unresponsive. I'm guessing this is why it was in the trunk and not in the car.

All the gauges did work with the 90/91 cluster so is it safe to say that the 92/93 cluster I have is bad and I should just get another from the junkyard?

The cluster lights did function like normal with the 92/93 so the problem is solved as far as the lights issue.

So what do yall think. Try another cluster? Anything I can look for on the new cluster that can ensure that the new gauges will work?
boulky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 08:58 AM   #8
4GAccordH22
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CV, NorCal
Posts: 1,865
4GAccordH22 is cool... so far.
Send a message via ICQ to 4GAccordH22 Send a message via AIM to 4GAccordH22 Send a message via Yahoo to 4GAccordH22
I would try another cluster. Just make sure you can exchange it if it doesn't work. Most wrecking yards will let you exchange.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior Smurff View Post
Nevermind guys, google search works wonders!

I don't have road rage, my car just goes faster than yours!

Accords are for winners. And Grandmothers. But mostly winners.


I have grown so Tired of Internet Illiteracy. Please learn proper spelling and grammar. For your sake and that of your children.
4GAccordH22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 10:59 AM   #9
boulky12
Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
boulky12 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4GAccordH22 View Post
I would try another cluster. Just make sure you can exchange it if it doesn't work. Most wrecking yards will let you exchange.
Got it. I'm gonna try another one, one of these days.

Thank you
boulky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.