CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Appearance > Lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2007, 10:41 PM   #81
KINGPIN33
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
KINGPIN33 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwf137
Mike, I was going to send you a PM, but your box is full.. This is essentially what I was going to write to you. Hopefully someone can help me out.

Well, lo and behold, even after reading this thread, I ran Positive power from a pin, but not with foglights. I was in the middle of running up my DRL's, needed positive power, and I didn't really think about what I was doing.

Well, my pin stopped working. I have since changed my setup and put a relay in to control power and the pin is just a remote wire, but my ignition pin still doesn't work. The weird thing is though, that everything else that needs to turn on when the key is in the ignition, still turns on. The clock, fuel pump, ect...

I tried going through the electrical diagrams, that got me nowhere. Is there a particular relay in the car that controls the pins that I could check to see if I fried something? Hopefully someone has a little bit of insight to help me out.

I have the exact same problem.. I wired my fogs to the ignition and it looks like I fried my ignition pin in the fuse panel! Arrr... Did you end up resolving this? I'm thinking the ignition pin on the fuse panel isn't a good idea to use in this setup...
KINGPIN33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 11:04 PM   #82
tommi
Accord of the Month: August 2011
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: a town of none ya damned business.
Posts: 5,459
tommi seems to have made some friends!
search Item number: 230168801129 on ebay and that's all you will need and just hard wire it to your battery and you should not have problems frying your oem wires or harness...
__________________
<

(125)Transactions and counting
tommi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 12:30 PM   #83
KINGPIN33
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
KINGPIN33 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommi
search Item number: 230168801129 on ebay and that's all you will need and just hard wire it to your battery and you should not have problems frying your oem wires or harness...

That ebay item is just a wiring harness... The diagram is the exact same one that came with my foglight kit... The wireing harness described in this thread is exactly the same as the one described in that ebay diagram. Good harness for those who don't want to make their own though...
KINGPIN33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 02:12 PM   #84
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,023
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
I got a question.

I have the OEM harness and relays but when it came to OEM, how many harness were there to be used in this. I have two wiring harnesses. Someone told me i need a 3rd? is this true?
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 03:22 PM   #85
JDM_honda_PIG
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
JDM_honda_PIG is cool... so far.


did you bolt down the relay to the stock location for it and if so where is that i have been trying to find that out.
__________________
ZING!

MY RIDE


-=HondaSpace=-
JDM_honda_PIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 07:55 PM   #86
slick
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8,265
slick is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDM_honda_PIG


did you bolt down the relay to the stock location for it and if so where is that i have been trying to find that out.
I have a after market fog light set from depo and I just bolted my relay to my battery tie down in case I ever need to get to it
__________________
Maple50175 - you're annoying =P
Brandoncb7 - I don't mean to come across like an ass but I see why you irritate Aaron now.
JoshM - Crotch rocket = chick magnet.
slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 07:58 PM   #87
slick
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8,265
slick is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie
I got a question.

I have the OEM harness and relays but when it came to OEM, how many harness were there to be used in this. I have two wiring harnesses. Someone told me i need a 3rd? is this true?
Yes it is supposed to be 3 parts. (these could be out of order but pretty sure they are correct)

Part 1 fog light plugs

Part 2 switch with wiring to go through firewall

Part 3 wiring in the engine bay from fogs to relay and from relay to switch

If you need a part I have some extra from my kit just let me know
__________________
Maple50175 - you're annoying =P
Brandoncb7 - I don't mean to come across like an ass but I see why you irritate Aaron now.
JoshM - Crotch rocket = chick magnet.
slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 04:57 PM   #88
Straight Success
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somewhere on God's Green Earth!
Posts: 2,927
Straight Success seems to have made some friends! Straight Success seems to have made some friends!
I have my foglights wired in so I can use them anytime I want. Car off/on, whenever. This is kinda bad because if I forget to turn them off my battery will drain. You know our cars have that dink-ump, dink-ump noise when you forget to turn off your headlights. How can I wire my fog-switch to that dink-ump noise that comes from the head lights when you forget to turn them off?
__________________
The Lord watches over me!


Straight Success is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 08:07 PM   #89
slick
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8,265
slick is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stright Success
I have my foglights wired in so I can use them anytime I want. Car off/on, whenever. This is kinda bad because if I forget to turn them off my battery will drain. You know our cars have that dink-ump, dink-ump noise when you forget to turn off your headlights. How can I wire my fog-switch to that dink-ump noise that comes from the head lights when you forget to turn them off?
Why don't you just use the parking light signal instead of having it on all the time? Wire it up normal and it won't drain your battery
__________________
Maple50175 - you're annoying =P
Brandoncb7 - I don't mean to come across like an ass but I see why you irritate Aaron now.
JoshM - Crotch rocket = chick magnet.
slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 12:03 PM   #90
Straight Success
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somewhere on God's Green Earth!
Posts: 2,927
Straight Success seems to have made some friends! Straight Success seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by slick
Why don't you just use the parking light signal instead of having it on all the time? Wire it up normal and it won't drain your battery
They are not on all the time, I can turn them off/on whenever I want just like my headlights. Car on/off I can turn them on/off. I sometimes like driving with just either my fogs on or my fogs and parks when the sun starts to go down. Or if I'm in the park for some quick 1 night love, I can turn on my fogs and the radio with my car not on (low lighting so not to disturb ova people having sex) and handle my business.

And behold, the day I made that f-ing post is the first time I've ever forgot to turn them off. What are the odds. Left school and battery was dead. Imma just look at the wiring diagrams and wire it up to the dink-ump-dink-ump sound if I leave them on.
__________________
The Lord watches over me!



Last edited by Straight Success; 09-25-2007 at 12:08 PM.
Straight Success is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 01:47 PM   #91
slick
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8,265
slick is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stright Success
They are not on all the time, I can turn them off/on whenever I want just like my headlights. Car on/off I can turn them on/off. I sometimes like driving with just either my fogs on or my fogs and parks when the sun starts to go down. Or if I'm in the park for some quick 1 night love, I can turn on my fogs and the radio with my car not on (low lighting so not to disturb ova people having sex) and handle my business.

And behold, the day I made that f-ing post is the first time I've ever forgot to turn them off. What are the odds. Left school and battery was dead. Imma just look at the wiring diagrams and wire it up to the dink-ump-dink-ump sound if I leave them on.
Ok you can do all that by just turning your parking lights on as to why you don't understand that. Your car doesn't have to bee on for them to come on just turn your headlight switch once and when the parking lights come on your fogs will be on. Its better that way you will hear the ding- dum sound because your parking lights are still on
__________________
Maple50175 - you're annoying =P
Brandoncb7 - I don't mean to come across like an ass but I see why you irritate Aaron now.
JoshM - Crotch rocket = chick magnet.
slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 08:54 AM   #92
Straight Success
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somewhere on God's Green Earth!
Posts: 2,927
Straight Success seems to have made some friends! Straight Success seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by slick
Ok you can do all that by just turning your parking lights on as to why you don't understand that. Your car doesn't have to bee on for them to come on just turn your headlight switch once and when the parking lights come on your fogs will be on. Its better that way you will hear the ding- dum sound because your parking lights are still on
Solution, leave it wired as is so I can turn on my fogs even without my park lights. Then just wire the +12 feed from switch indicator on/off light to the dink-ump, dink-ump wire.
__________________
The Lord watches over me!


Straight Success is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 10:34 PM   #93
Night Wolf
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Forida
Posts: 9,224
Night Wolf seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to Night Wolf
I used this topic to wire my lexus fogs on my CB. I used the OEM switch & an autozone relay.


very helpful topic!
__________________


93 Accord LX Sedan (sold)-01 Civic LX Sedan (sold)-93 Accord EX Wagon (totaled)
93 Accord SE Sedan (sold)-95 Accord LX Wagon (CURRENT)-92 Accord EX Sedan (sold)
93 Accord SE Coupe (sold)-97 Accord SiR Wagon (CURRENT)-05 Impreza WRX Sedan-(CURRENT)
Night Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 06:38 PM   #94
MikeW
Master Of Posting Nothing
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Middle America
Posts: 15,681
MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock!
Send a message via Yahoo to MikeW
Quote:
Originally Posted by i97supratti View Post
I have a question. You used 16 guage wire right throughout the install right? Where did you mount the relay under the hood so that it is not prone to heat/moisture? And how do you tap into the pins in the fusebox under the driver's side? Do I just shove the wire in under the fuses? Thx
BUMP on this. Can you just plug the wires right in or should you use like male-end connectors

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinlow View Post
My Edm harness goes: 2 wires from each fog(1 blue/red stripe) and (1 black) the black forms into 1 ground.Then I have the blue/red striped that goes to the rest of my harness that goes through the firewall into the car. which has two plug-ins that go underneith of the dash and then that goes to the switch.
I could take pics of it if need be.
Thats how mine is; a ground and red/blue wire from the fogs, the 2 grounds form into 1 black(w/ brwn stripes) and then after the 2 red/blue join, they form into a plug. Then that plug is just 1 red/blue wire... The guy i bought them from said it was everything i need in front of the firewall...

And SPDT relays are cheap and found at any store, right?

Timmys diagram is good, but i dont know a damn thing about wiring. I know +/-, switches and maybe relays. But you start talking about 12v's and this and that and im lost. Id probably do better with a diagram made from MSpaint.

I just know the wiring i have is like a "Y". 1 single red/blue that splits into the fogs.

I figure all i need is the relay, maybe a fuse, the switch, some pins/connectors and the rubber boots.

BTW, anybody running fogs without the rubber boots around the fogs...?
__________________


KeepinItClean | EnviousFilms | NoBigDeal | YET2BSCENE | . ` ' / . | click here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrett View Post
Is there a goal you're trying to accomplish besides looking dope as hell?
MikeW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 11:03 PM   #95
lilb_1979
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 2,028
lilb_1979 is very helpful lilb_1979 is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to lilb_1979
I need to do this too, but I'm suck a noob at wiring. So none of this makes and since!! lol
__________________
Cappuccino Member #9<--- click for thread


^click for MRT^
CB9 MRT-R.I.P.
Coupe MRT
lilb_1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:25 PM   #96
MikeW
Master Of Posting Nothing
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Middle America
Posts: 15,681
MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock! MikeW has a HUGE cock!
Send a message via Yahoo to MikeW
How's this look?

__________________


KeepinItClean | EnviousFilms | NoBigDeal | YET2BSCENE | . ` ' / . | click here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrett View Post
Is there a goal you're trying to accomplish besides looking dope as hell?
MikeW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:59 PM   #97
CB7Man
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paradise, Ca
Posts: 1,046
CB7Man is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to CB7Man Send a message via Yahoo to CB7Man
I bought a foglight kit brand new from Honda and my dash button doesnt dim.
Also the plugs in the fuse box are all the same
As in, when I plug it into number 3, number 2 does the same thing and so on.
The dash button, lights up when the lights are on and the fogs work correctly.
But when you go to dim the dash, the button stays totally lit
__________________
Your man for wiring solutions!
CB7Man's Coupe H22 Swap
CB7Man's Sedan Resurrected From The Dead
CB7Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 01:11 AM   #98
4CYLPOWER92
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: KSJC
Posts: 2,932
4CYLPOWER92 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by greencb7inkc View Post
Thats how mine is; a ground and red/blue wire from the fogs, the 2 grounds form into 1 black(w/ brwn stripes) and then after the 2 red/blue join, they form into a plug. Then that plug is just 1 red/blue wire... The guy i bought them from said it was everything i need in front of the firewall...


I just know the wiring i have is like a "Y". 1 single red/blue that splits into the fogs.
Yep that is how the OEM wiring runs. I just pulled one off at the junk yard. But where the OEM relay is at I'm not sure, I couldn't find it as I didn't have time to look for it but the wire went underneith the engine compartment fuse panel somewhere.

Edit: I just found this, compete OEM instructions on fog light installation http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...g+light+wiring

Last edited by 4CYLPOWER92; 12-20-2008 at 01:22 AM.
4CYLPOWER92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 01:25 AM   #99
djcaz_aom
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA/ Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,424
djcaz_aom seems to have made some friends! djcaz_aom seems to have made some friends!
When I did mine, I only used harness"B", which is the one that connects the two fog lights.

-I used a relay from the OEM fog light switch.
-The switch gets power from position 2.
-12v constant to 30 on relay w/15A fuse
-Ground to 85 on relay
-12v out from switch to 86 on relay
-12v out from 87 on relay to harness "B"

Hope this helps some.
djcaz_aom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 02:02 PM   #100
Taurians' Ryde
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maple Ridge, B.C.
Posts: 216
Taurians' Ryde is cool... so far.
Send a message via MSN to Taurians' Ryde
Quote:
Originally Posted by CB3 View Post
Thanks cp[mike], good to know.

If anyone is doing this for the first time and has decided not to use a harness of any sort, I discovered that by following timmyOtool's diagram and cp[mike]'s switch diagram this can be done by simply wiring it together. I am totally inexperienced with this sort of thing so if I can do it, anyone can.

My fog lights had different pigtails on each. One had a power and a ground and the other had a power and two grounds. I connected both power wires together in parallel and the ground wires in series because there is no place to ground the lights on the bumper. At the switch I connected "A" and "C" together and took that to pin #2 in the fuse box. I connected "B" and "D" together and grounded that to the body.

I don't know if this will be of any help to anyone, but it would've helped me.
Is this why my switch light isn't turning on ?

The fogs work great and only turn on when I have the key in which is nice.

I can't get the switch light on.

I even took the bulb out and made sure it worked in the hazards switch and it does. :-)

I tried connecting the constant lead to pin 5 and its still not coming on that appearently is a "constant"".

Do I need to splice together the switched & constant from the switch ....to pin 2 in the fuse area ?

That's what Im reading from above right?

Last edited by Taurians' Ryde; 07-22-2010 at 10:55 PM.
Taurians' Ryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.