CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-10-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
jaemil369
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
jaemil369 is cool... so far.
f22 injectors on f23 fuel rail

The fuel rail from my blown f22a1 doesn't match the bolt up for the f23a. So I was going to just us its fuel rail with f22 injectors because the plugs on the f23 injectors are different. So I got the f22 injectors on the f23 fuel rail but now it seems the injectors are too big. The fuel rail wont sit down thus forth not able to bolt down. Any help is very much appreciated
jaemil369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 01:06 PM   #2
BurtonRiderT6
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 363
BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful
So you are trying to use OBD2 products on your OBD1 car?
BurtonRiderT6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 01:15 PM   #3
jaemil369
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
jaemil369 is cool... so far.
0bd2 engine f23a in 91 cb7. Trying to put obd1 injectors on obd2 motor cause the plugs are different on the obd2 injectors
jaemil369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 01:44 PM   #4
BurtonRiderT6
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 363
BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful
Reading the bottom section of this link, it doesn't look very promising if the F22 injectors wont fit the F23 fuel rail.

http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=5423

Why would you want to use the F23 anyway?
BurtonRiderT6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 02:00 PM   #5
xkjnboix
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Posts: 2,044
xkjnboix seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to xkjnboix
Make sure the intake manifold / lower injector 0 gaskets arent stacking.

if the fuel rail holes are too small for the IM studs then drill them out since there is plenty meat on the fuel rail and the studs cant be that much larger gauge.

pictures would help with the problem you are having cause im not familiar with the f23.
__________________
frostwhite225@gmail.com =VENMO


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOB38zJu66o

[color="Magenta"]
xkjnboix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:13 PM   #6
jaemil369
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
jaemil369 is cool... so far.
F23 is my only option since I have it and my f22 threw a rod. O gaskests aren't stacked, I checked. The f23 fuel rail has 2 mounting holes as the f22 has 3 and there is absolutely nowhere to drill new holes in f22 rail. I'm not able to post pics idk why.


Edit: they both have 2 mounting holes, sorry. But they still don't match up and I don't see any possibility of drilling new holes.

Last edited by jaemil369; 04-10-2012 at 03:21 PM.
jaemil369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:33 PM   #7
BurtonRiderT6
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 363
BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful
I found this but it doesn't relate to the F22A.

http://honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=1955558

Although if the F22A and F22B1 are the same then the F23 rail won't work.
BurtonRiderT6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:37 PM   #8
xkjnboix
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Posts: 2,044
xkjnboix seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to xkjnboix
will the f22 IM fit on the f23?? if so then just use the whole f22 IM with f22 rail
__________________
frostwhite225@gmail.com =VENMO


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOB38zJu66o

[color="Magenta"]
xkjnboix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:42 PM   #9
BurtonRiderT6
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 363
BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful BurtonRiderT6 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by xkjnboix View Post
will the f22 IM fit on the f23?? if so then just use the whole f22 IM with f22 rail
My only concern is if there are any new sensors used on the F23 IM compared to the F22.
BurtonRiderT6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:44 PM   #10
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deev's House
Posts: 3,931
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by xkjnboix View Post
will the f22 IM fit on the f23?? if so then just use the whole f22 IM with f22 rail
IIRC that would be a no, there was just a thread asking the same question.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:34 PM   #11
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,320
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
When y'all are saying "F22" you have to be more specific. While the F22A/H23A1 intake manifold won't work, the F22B1/2/6 will bolt up. Possibly there's a solution for you with an OBD-I manifold from a CD5 Accord. I'm not sure, I'm just helping to brainstorm. If it were me I'd use the F22A head to not worry about that other stuff.
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:37 PM   #12
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deev's House
Posts: 3,931
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrett View Post
When y'all are saying "F22" you have to be more specific. While the F22A/H23A1 intake manifold won't work, the F22B1/2/6 will bolt up. Possibly there's a solution for you with an OBD-I manifold from a CD5 Accord. I'm not sure, I'm just helping to brainstorm. If it were me I'd use the F22A head to not worry about that other stuff.
That was the same consensus in the thread I was talking about.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:58 PM   #13
jaemil369
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
jaemil369 is cool... so far.
As I stated in my first sentence in first post f22a1, thanks for everyone's input. Reason being I don't want to Frankenstein it, I want the vtec. But the f22b obd1 intake Mani seems as if thars the route I should take to eliminate my problem. Thanks again, and I'm still open to advice and suggestions.
jaemil369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:59 PM   #14
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deev's House
Posts: 3,931
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaemil369 View Post
As I stated in my first sentence in first post f22a1, thanks for everyone's input. Reason being I don't want to Frankenstein it, I want the vtec. But the f22b obd1 intake Mani seems as if thars the route I should take to eliminate my problem. Thanks again, and I'm still open to advice and suggestions.
Your gonna have to change your header of you keep the F23 head on, just an FYI.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 05:06 PM   #15
Jarrett
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,320
Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool... Jarrett . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to Jarrett
If you want VTEC for performance reasons then you're a little misguided.
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 05:16 PM   #16
jaemil369
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
jaemil369 is cool... so far.
Its not for performance just a replacement. But since I have it I'd like to keep vtec. Yes I know about the header, its already attached. But thanks for looking out
jaemil369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 05:42 PM   #17
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,499
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
If you plan on keeping the stock CB7 injector wiring harness you will have to swap to your injectors anyway. The stock F23A injectors are 240cc Saturated and would require the removal of your stock resistor box. The stock F22A 240cc peak and hold injectors will work in the F23A intake and fuel rail without any modification to ether. You will need to make sure that you are using the proper top and bottom injector bushings/seals though.

Do not swap to the POS F22B1 intake, anyone who owns a B1 does the F23 IM swap for a reason. Only thing you will have to address is the IACV. You will need a 3wire to 2 wire IACV adapter plate.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:55 PM   #18
jaemil369
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
jaemil369 is cool... so far.
Ok I figured out the prob. I have to shim the mounting bolts up about a 1/4 inch in order to use the injectors from the f22a. I have to use these injectors because of the difference of plugs between the two. Thanks everyone for your help and support.
jaemil369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:30 PM   #19
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,499
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
1/4" shims? I'd place a wager that if you used a longer set of upper & lower bushings you wouldn't need to make shims.... If money is a concern and it's cheaper to use washers/shims then you should go that route.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 10:16 PM   #20
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,004
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
19 replies to tell you what I already told you in your other thread on this topic.
Wouldn't it just be easier to use the F22A fuel rail?
__________________
BUY MY STUFF!!!
NEW PRICES ADDED 09/24/2016

AEM TruTime cam gears (H22A), DSM 450cc injectors, Eaton M45 superchrager






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f22 , f23 , fuelrail , honda , swap

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.