CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2018, 10:25 PM   #1
jross360
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
jross360 is cool... so far.
Power Steering Help!

Hey guys, when i was in the process of doing my blue top swap i did the power steering loop like ive seen on all the how to's. block off the pressure line coming from the rack with a plug,cut then loop the lines going to the vss and the cooler, and use the line coming from the reservoir for a breather/filler.

Fast forward some time, now i want PS back. I got a h bracket pump and line, everything's installed but i keep popping the hose thats looped from the vss and the cooler, new hose, multiple hose clamps, tried a bunch of different stuff.... my question is, can i plug those two lines directly at the rack? and just keep the pressure line coming in and the line out to the reservoir, or will the rack not like that? my vss is looped at the sensor itself, and the cooler was thrown in the trash years ago. ANY input would be helpful, thanks!
jross360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 11:36 AM   #2
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,932
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
So I've 'eliminated' my cooler and was going to have to loop the VSS too soon, and I think your problem is you are blocking and not looping. No way some metal clamps and rubber hose will stop the pressure as I believe it can be 200+ psi. What you want to do is loop these lines properly so it goes back into the system in the proper direction.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 12:02 PM   #3
jross360
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
jross360 is cool... so far.
What would be the proper way to loop them but keep the pressure line in and the line out from the reservoir?
Iím going to try blocking them off today and hope all goes well...
jross360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 12:23 PM   #4
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 2,549
fleetw00d is very helpful fleetw00d is very helpful
If you're putting the pump back in, seems like it would be prudent to put a cooler back in as well.
__________________
90 LX 4dr 5 spd 373,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=201450
93 LX wagon auto 253,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=208490
92 EX coupe auto 170,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=205114
92 EX coupe auto 190,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=210341

LOTS of CB7 parts for sale http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=192583 or watch for banner ad at upper right
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 03:49 PM   #5
jross360
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
jross360 is cool... so far.
Yes sir I agree, Iíve heard of people not running a cooler and it being fine, but I do auto x and have a couple track days this year and Iíd like to make a custom setup. This will just be to get it back up and going.
jross360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 07:59 PM   #6
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 2,549
fleetw00d is very helpful fleetw00d is very helpful
Doesn't putting a loop in place of the VSS significantly reduce the power assist? The VSS (as I understand it) partially bypasses the supply flow from the pump based on differential ring gear speed to reduce the power assist at higher speeds; it is is open loop doesn't it just short circuit the pump supply (time to study the service manual!)?
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 09:41 PM   #7
jross360
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
jross360 is cool... so far.
It looks like the reservoir has an outlet to the cooler and one back to the rack, I think the feed from the rack to the vss has a tee somewhere in the line back from the cooler to the rack. I could be wrong, I removed all of my hardlines a long time ago. I looped the vss line with fluid in it at the sensor a long time ago, never had a vss issue. If it does make a full circle I should be okay to block those ports off at the rack and just use the inlet from pump and outlet to reservoir, I think lol. Thatís what Iím struggling with 😑
jross360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 02:52 PM   #8
G. Wiffington
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 291
G. Wiffington is cool... so far.
Yeah I think fleetw00d is right about the looping thing. I believe that the VSS with the power steering is somewhat based on the speed the vehicle is traveling.
So at whatever amount of speed you are going, the power steering will assist x amount to compensate with the speed.
That probably sounded weird but I can't think of how to describe it.

Slower = More Assist
Faster = Less Assist

At least that is what I believe. Correct me please if I am wrong lol.
G. Wiffington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 06:04 PM   #9
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,932
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by jross360 View Post
What would be the proper way to loop them but keep the pressure line in and the line out from the reservoir?
Iím going to try blocking them off today and hope all goes well...
Jross360, what I'm saying is don't block the lines, loop them.
Ex: if you eliminate the PS cooler, you loop the two lines you cut and cap off two lines.
Ex: if you eliminate the VSS lines you loop them.

There is too much pressure in the system to cap it off. You could technically loop at the rack too but you'd have to know what hard lines before hand (manual may have this). Oh and i found this:

http://cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=81761

And I always wondered about the VSS lines. Sooo... let me go look at my car.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 06:34 PM   #10
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,932
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
So here it is:



(the second pic i stole off the web)
I don't fully understand this but I'm assuming B and D are just output lines?
It see how the system is different than other hondas. Thus why we have 2 in lets on our reservoir. But it looks like

B = outlet which is split between the VSS and reservoir
D = inlet from VSS

I wish I knew how this worked but I don't. I'm guessing from the amount of fluid the VSS lets by (from spinning faster) it allows more fluid to assist in the pushing of the PS gears. I'm curious how much of a difference this really makes...
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 12:46 AM   #11
jross360
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
jross360 is cool... so far.
Thank you for the input guys! Iíve been studying that diagram with the lines at the bottom of the rack.. the hardlines B and D I cut short after they make the 90 out of the rack and kept about 4Ē of straight hardline, then I looped them previously on my Ďbreather styleí setup. Never had an issue with leaks or pressure on that setup. Kept them looped but added the pressure line in from pump and kept popping them, I am going to try better hose clamps, or get a custom hose made, or get some sort of NPT to AN fittings and use those as cooler lines. I will update you guys tomorrow!
jross360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 06:57 AM   #12
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,932
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Can someone comment if B & D are both output lines or is one input and one output?
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 08:16 PM   #13
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 2,549
fleetw00d is very helpful fleetw00d is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raf99 View Post
So here it is:



(the second pic i stole off the web)
I don't fully understand this but I'm assuming B and D are just output lines?
It see how the system is different than other hondas. Thus why we have 2 in lets on our reservoir. But it looks like

B = outlet which is split between the VSS and reservoir
D = inlet from VSS

I wish I knew how this worked but I don't. I'm guessing from the amount of fluid the VSS lets by (from spinning faster) it allows more fluid to assist in the pushing of the PS gears. I'm curious how much of a difference this really makes...
I don't see the diagrams and I'm out of town (so no access to my manual). The VSS works by effectively reducing the flow of the pump; the higher the speed, the more flow it takes away from what the pump is delivering to reduce the assist at higher speeds.
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 10:48 AM   #14
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,932
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetw00d View Post
I don't see the diagrams and I'm out of town (so no access to my manual). The VSS works by effectively reducing the flow of the pump; the higher the speed, the more flow it takes away from what the pump is delivering to reduce the assist at higher speeds.
So you think for the VSS lines one is input line and the other is output? (creating a loop of fluid through the VSS)
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 10:23 PM   #15
jross360
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
jross360 is cool... so far.
from what ive been seeing, yes raf. I just removed all the oem hardlines a long time ago when i painted the bay, and didnt put them back in, so i cant tell whats going where..

havent touched the car in a few days been super busy at work. Thinking about just going back to my looped setup with no ps. OR getting a line made at a hydraulic shop to connect the two?
jross360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 02:05 PM   #16
Raf99
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 2,932
Raf99 is very helpful Raf99 is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by jross360 View Post
from what ive been seeing, yes raf. I just removed all the oem hardlines a long time ago when i painted the bay, and didnt put them back in, so i cant tell whats going where..

havent touched the car in a few days been super busy at work. Thinking about just going back to my looped setup with no ps. OR getting a line made at a hydraulic shop to connect the two?
So assuming all you have is the rack, pump and reservoir, then yes you can loop B & D. But looping B & D implies you are not using the cb7 reservoir that has two inlet connectors.

It's hard to say what cavities in the pump require fluid. IE - you wouldn't want to block D off if it was expecting fluid on one side of a pump.
Raf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 02:31 PM   #17
jross360
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
jross360 is cool... so far.
yes, all i have is the h23 bracket modified for pde h23a head, h23 pump, oem 92 ex rack and prelude high pressure line.

edit: i am using the cb7 reservoir, just looping the two outputs and using the bottom nipple coming from the rack, and bigger outlet to pump
jross360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.