CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 2.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-13-2013, 02:45 AM   #1
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Best ecu for f22a4?

So I just found out that the reason my car will not go past 5,500 rpm's is because the ecu is set to cut back at 5,500. What ecu could I put in to help gain more power and of course redline. I'm not going to be bouncing off of it, I just like for my car to run that high and not be bounded to 5,500. I heard the p12 ecu would help with this?
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 03:14 AM   #2
accordztech
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sacramento
Posts: 6,066
accordztech is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to accordztech
You need to pay to play. Headwork , cams are just a start of a long process. You have a sohc....dont expect much at that rpm. After everything you won't be happy.

Drop a h22 in or boost yours.
__________________
What makes me laugh about forums, is that no matter how much you try to help someone, they dont take the advice. Go ahead and do it the hard way.

You got to respect what you drive, and appreciate what you have, making the best of what you got. and if that means putting CAI, HID's, a phat stereo system, and a idiot in the drivers seat...then so be it!

Retro!

Hater

I love nooBs...They make me look good
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 03:20 AM   #3
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by accordztech View Post
You need to pay to play. Headwork , cams are just a start of a long process. You have a sohc....dont expect much at that rpm. After everything you won't be happy.

Drop a h22 in or boost yours.
I'm already getting a level 2 cam from bisimoto and pro valve springs, I have a jdm obd1 h22a but I don't know what all I need to drop it in there. But for the f I want a n/a build. I have enough money to make it work, but it'll be a little every week.
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 05:44 PM   #4
accordztech
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sacramento
Posts: 6,066
accordztech is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to accordztech
Why not just boost it and you wont have to redline it.
__________________
What makes me laugh about forums, is that no matter how much you try to help someone, they dont take the advice. Go ahead and do it the hard way.

You got to respect what you drive, and appreciate what you have, making the best of what you got. and if that means putting CAI, HID's, a phat stereo system, and a idiot in the drivers seat...then so be it!

Retro!

Hater

I love nooBs...They make me look good
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 06:36 PM   #5
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,087
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
It shouldn't cut off at 5500. If it's doing that, something is wrong. Another ECU probably won't help that.

For a stock F22A1 or F22A4, a P12 will indeed help. However, if you're getting a Level 2 cam, don't waste your money on a stock ECU. Save for a chipped P06 with a proper tune. No stock ECU is going to like a Level 2 cam.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:10 PM   #6
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
It shouldn't cut off at 5500. If it's doing that, something is wrong. Another ECU probably won't help that.

For a stock F22A1 or F22A4, a P12 will indeed help. However, if you're getting a Level 2 cam, don't waste your money on a stock ECU. Save for a chipped P06 with a proper tune. No stock ECU is going to like a Level 2 cam.
There's a tuner shop around my area who does tune ups and chips, could I get them to tune my pt3 to the level 2 cam? Or would I need a whole new chipped ecu?
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:32 PM   #7
pupildel
Accord of the Month - February 2014
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: P.R./South Florida
Posts: 408
pupildel is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to pupildel
Quote:
Originally Posted by heretoaskstuff View Post
There's a tuner shop around my area who does tune ups and chips, could I get them to tune my pt3 to the level 2 cam? Or would I need a whole new chipped ecu?
no you can not you need to get a whole new chipped ecu didnt Deeve just state that no stock ecu is going to like the L2 cams
__________________
pupildel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:41 PM   #8
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pupildel View Post
no you can not you need to get a whole new chipped ecu didnt Deeve just state that no stock ecu is going to like the L2 cams
I misunderstood, but now it's time to searh for the right ecu.
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:43 PM   #9
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,087
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
The PT3 CAN be tuned, but the software to do it is limited and very poorly understood/supported.
The P06 found in a 92-95 non-VTEC Civic will be easier to use, as they are very well supported and understood.

A chipped ECU is basically just a blank slate, so once you have a compatible ECU, it doesn't matter what it is... as long as it can be tuned.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:54 PM   #10
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
The PT3 CAN be tuned, but the software to do it is limited and very poorly understood/supported.
The P06 found in a 92-95 non-VTEC Civic will be easier to use, as they are very well supported and understood.

A chipped ECU is basically just a blank slate, so once you have a compatible ECU, it doesn't matter what it is... as long as it can be tuned.
Alright. So, get a p06 ecu and get it tuned to the level 2 cam?
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 07:11 AM   #11
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,087
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
That would be your best bet. Make sure you have a tuner that knows how to tune Hondas. That, or start studying and collecting the tools necessary to do it yourself ($300 or so will get you a good basic tuning setup from moates.net.)
If you want to go the self-tuning route, I suggest practicing before installing the cam. A bone stock F22A is a very good platform to learn ECU tuning. The low compression ratio gives you a wide margin of error.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 01:41 PM   #12
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
That would be your best bet. Make sure you have a tuner that knows how to tune Hondas. That, or start studying and collecting the tools necessary to do it yourself ($300 or so will get you a good basic tuning setup from moates.net.)
If you want to go the self-tuning route, I suggest practicing before installing the cam. A bone stock F22A is a very good platform to learn ECU tuning. The low compression ratio gives you a wide margin of error.
It's just $300 for a basic self tuning system? I was expecting it to be a lot more, lol but I'll learn but let someone else who knows do it the right way. Thanks, Deeve!
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 07:42 PM   #13
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,087
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
It can be much more. $300 was just the estimate I pulled out of my ass when thinking of the basics... wideband o2 sensor, vacuum gauge, datalogger, chipping kit, P06 ECU, and a burner (without checking prices, I think those things would come to roughly $300 if you shop smart.) That is, of course, assuming you have a laptop to use already... not that you couldn't pick up a crappy old used laptop for cheap. Tuning doesn't need anything fancy.
You could always improve such a setup with fancy toys such as a realtime emulator such as the Ostrich, and other sensors, like an EGT sensor (very useful in tuning.)

I'm no expert in tuning, but I've researched and talked to enough people that are to learn the basics. I'm actually excited to really dig into my own ECU (I have a set of Delta 272 cams waiting to go into my H22A... making it the perfect time to retune!)
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 07:45 PM   #14
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
It can be much more. $300 was just the estimate I pulled out of my ass when thinking of the basics... wideband o2 sensor, vacuum gauge, datalogger, chipping kit, P06 ECU, and a burner (without checking prices, I think those things would come to roughly $300 if you shop smart.) That is, of course, assuming you have a laptop to use already... not that you couldn't pick up a crappy old used laptop for cheap. Tuning doesn't need anything fancy.
You could always improve such a setup with fancy toys such as a realtime emulator such as the Ostrich, and other sensors, like an EGT sensor (very useful in tuning.)

I'm no expert in tuning, but I've researched and talked to enough people that are to learn the basics. I'm actually excited to really dig into my own ECU (I have a set of Delta 272 cams waiting to go into my H22A... making it the perfect time to retune!)
Awesomeee, well time to start researching ecu tuning and shopping!
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 07:36 PM   #15
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Hey Deeve, will this help me tune the p06 ecu for the cam? : http://www.moates.net/demon-hardware....html?cPath=33 I also got a p06 ecu from my friend for $60.
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 07:56 PM   #16
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,087
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
$60? Shit... I was recently selling one for $50 shipped! Some friend...

That package would work. More advanced than the basic setup I described above, but definitely capable. Neptune is powerful and well-supported. The Demon, if I recall correctly (I didn't read closely) is also a real-time device, so you don't have to constantly burn chips. I'm not 100% on how it works, but that's a good setup for sure.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 08:46 PM   #17
Nyne521
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 269
Nyne521 seems to have made some friends! Nyne521 seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to Nyne521
my car also wont rev past 5.5k but i don't believe it has anything to do with my ecu... if that is still your main concern, i'd work on figuring out the problem before tuning.
Nyne521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:26 PM   #18
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,087
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Not revving beyond 5k should be an ECU issue.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:47 PM   #19
heretoaskstuff
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 57
heretoaskstuff is cool... so far.
Awesomeee. But yeah I kinda just threw the $60 asking price out there and he jumped for it. But idk why it won't go past 5500. All sensors are fixed, I'm not getting any cel codes. My battery light is on though, I'm not sure why. But I'm definitely getting the tuning setup now.
heretoaskstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:58 PM   #20
HappyGilmore
AKA Gillymomo
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,507
HappyGilmore is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to HappyGilmore Send a message via MSN to HappyGilmore Send a message via Yahoo to HappyGilmore Send a message via Skype™ to HappyGilmore
Limp mode perhaps? I am also with Deev on this one as well, I would try a different ECU and see what happens.
__________________
The CB7 Collector.
Team Kindred Impulse Member #3
92 LX Coupe F22A1
97 LX Wagon 5-Speed F22B2
92 EX Sedan F22A1
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
Do you really need to make a thread asking if having your car like this /---\ will cause uneven tire wear? Try walking like that for a few weeks and see if your shoes wear funny! (hint: they will.)
HappyGilmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cb7 , ecu , p12 , redline , rpm

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.