Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sell it, part it out, or stay the course?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sell it, part it out, or stay the course?

It's been eating at me for a few months now, so I'd like some help, insight, and comments on my situation.

I've been working on my 90 Accord LX for the last two years and just slowly building it. And unfortunately I am starting to get to that point in my life where I need a reliable vehicle that I don't have to keep working on. At some point I will have it complete and not have to work on it constantly, but the money is just not here and I can't keep relying on bumming rides from people (it's been about six months now).

Where I stand at this point is that I'm in need of getting an ECU chipped, everything tuned, and all of that wonderful goodness. All said and done, I'm looking at a little over $1K just for this (Neptune RTP, wideband, ECU, tune performed by a professional, and a few other miscellaneous things to go with it). I was planning on doing it myself, but I have no laptop, so that would be another expense.

I was planning on swapping to a manual, a 5 lug swap, and much more this year, but I'm just getting way too deep and need a car to drive asap.

What would you do?
    Convert everything back to stock and keep driving it?
    Part it out?
    Sell it as is?
    Keep building it?
    Trade/sell it off for something else?

It has no body damage and I think that is one of the reasons it's bothering me that I don't finish this... none of the Accords around here are clean.

I have several thousand of dollars worth of pieces and parts laying around and it's killing be that I haven't driven it for several months nor been able to install ANY of this stuff.
    My pile of goodies include a Bisi header, KTeller exhaust kit, new battery, JDM headlights, 5 lug conversion with NSX calipers, poly bushings, and a bunch of other parts.