CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > 4th Gen-eral > Other Automotive > Other Automotive Members Rides

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2016, 11:17 PM   #41
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordWarrior View Post
Looks great!

I do like the Accord Sport cluster more. How does that work with your odometer?

Right now I'm completely in your shoes. My wife and I got a new family car for our future family, and I'm debating how far to go with it as far as OEM accessories, reasonable add-ons, etc.
Thanks man.

That is what I was asking on the 9th gen forum and the only person to respond said that it is stored on the odo(he thinks) and the dealer can reprogram it.

I was under the impression that the cpu maintains all that shit these days and by plugging in a whole new cluster, the read out would just display what the computer output but maybe not?

Scott might have more info if he happpens to check in here.

Also ive never found clusters to be an easy swap. I dread them because none of that shit is installed with the expectation of being removed so it is always a nightmare and I stumble through it shitting myself waiting to break a fucking tab on something and then not being able to get it to sit flush etc.

So its one thing if I have to go through that process but if the only way to get it to work right is to have the dealer reprogram, they surely will hit you over the head for that and of course that adds to the cost so Ill have to do more research and find out.

Im expecting it to be the worst case scenario. My 93 Accord was a pain in the ass to do these things....to get the cluster out the entire dash trim had to come out.....not so on my 2002.

HOWEVER

you don't even want to know what I had to do to replace the h8 bulb on my drivers fog.....the WHOLE assembly has to come out. Yep.

Oh and the pass side...nope just pop open a tab under the car and you can access the bulb.

Srsly? dafuq Honda.


And yea it sucks. If I had received the promotions at work that I thought I was going to get, id be further along and have more disposable income but right now aint no extras lol.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 12:20 AM   #42
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,631
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Thanks man.

That is what I was asking on the 9th gen forum and the only person to respond said that it is stored on the odo(he thinks) and the dealer can reprogram it.

I was under the impression that the cpu maintains all that shit these days and by plugging in a whole new cluster, the read out would just display what the computer output but maybe not?

Scott might have more info if he happpens to check in here.

Also ive never found clusters to be an easy swap. I dread them because none of that shit is installed with the expectation of being removed so it is always a nightmare and I stumble through it shitting myself waiting to break a fucking tab on something and then not being able to get it to sit flush etc.

So its one thing if I have to go through that process but if the only way to get it to work right is to have the dealer reprogram, they surely will hit you over the head for that and of course that adds to the cost so Ill have to do more research and find out.

Im expecting it to be the worst case scenario. My 93 Accord was a pain in the ass to do these things....to get the cluster out the entire dash trim had to come out.....not so on my 2002.

HOWEVER

you don't even want to know what I had to do to replace the h8 bulb on my drivers fog.....the WHOLE assembly has to come out. Yep.

Oh and the pass side...nope just pop open a tab under the car and you can access the bulb.

Srsly? dafuq Honda.


And yea it sucks. If I had received the promotions at work that I thought I was going to get, id be further along and have more disposable income but right now aint no extras lol.
The clusters are programmable. As long as you aren't trying to get away with reprogramming it for less mileage, you should be all legal.

That is what happens when they replace the cluster if it breaks. They have to reprogram it. You might be able to find an enthusiast HondaTech that would be willing to do the reprogramming for you as long as you can show them you aren't trying to roll the mileage back (and some probably wouldn't even care if you were doing that.

I don't know if there are any wiring differences or not, but if it is helps, the coupe also has a red cluster, while the sedans (minus the Sport) have white.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 01:33 AM   #43
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Scott to the rescue LOL.

Oh, well hot damn....I thought only the "sports" had the red. That is good to know!

Hmmm....so basically I just need to find someone who works for Honda that can reprogram it and hopefully throw them a few bucks.

Why wouldn't the computer just track that shit and display it on the odo so that A) you could easily swap clusters if one broke and b) it would be that MUCH harder to scam with....???

Ill have to be careful about it though, as the last thing I need on my CLEAN carfax is that little asshole fox talking shit about my mileage to everyone.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 07:55 AM   #44
AccordWarrior
Guy Smiley
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,775
AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post

And yea it sucks. If I had received the promotions at work that I thought I was going to get, id be further along and have more disposable income but right now aint no extras lol.
Sigh, I hear ya. I wasn't planning on purchasing for another six months but the wife's tC started that cycle where little things were starting to break and it was a matter of time before something big let go. I got a great offer on trade (effectively retail) and jumped.

I completely get what you're talking about when it comes to taking apart interiors. There's always that one clip that just gives you so much trouble, but you're in over your head if you break it.
AccordWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 01:08 PM   #45
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordWarrior View Post
Sigh, I hear ya. I wasn't planning on purchasing for another six months but the wife's tC started that cycle where little things were starting to break and it was a matter of time before something big let go. I got a great offer on trade (effectively retail) and jumped.

I completely get what you're talking about when it comes to taking apart interiors. There's always that one clip that just gives you so much trouble, but you're in over your head if you break it.
What did you guys get if you don't mind me asking?

We weren't planning on getting the Accord but my sister in law needed a car so my in laws gave me what the Altima was worth and we set out to get a new Pilot for the wife and I was going to take the CRV but that Pilot is pricey lol.

So the Accor it was!
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 07:02 PM   #46
AccordWarrior
Guy Smiley
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,775
AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
What did you guys get if you don't mind me asking?

We weren't planning on getting the Accord but my sister in law needed a car so my in laws gave me what the Altima was worth and we set out to get a new Pilot for the wife and I was going to take the CRV but that Pilot is pricey lol.

So the Accor it was!
We bought a new 2016 Mazda CX-5 Touring with the Bose/Moonroof package.

We looked at all the cars in the segment and were between the CX-5 and CR-V and found the CX-5 to be the best fit for us. It was a blast to drive and felt just a little less like an appliance than the CR-V.
AccordWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 10:12 PM   #47
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordWarrior View Post
We bought a new 2016 Mazda CX-5 Touring with the Bose/Moonroof package.

We looked at all the cars in the segment and were between the CX-5 and CR-V and found the CX-5 to be the best fit for us. It was a blast to drive and felt just a little less like an appliance than the CR-V.
Ah nice!

Yea I bet that was much more fun than the CR-V.

I haven't driven either the Mazda or the new CR-V, but we have a 2009 CR-V and while it has been amazing, no issues, just hums along happily, the drive is pretty bland.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 10:53 PM   #48
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,631
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Scott to the rescue LOL.

Oh, well hot damn....I thought only the "sports" had the red. That is good to know!

Hmmm....so basically I just need to find someone who works for Honda that can reprogram it and hopefully throw them a few bucks.

Why wouldn't the computer just track that shit and display it on the odo so that A) you could easily swap clusters if one broke and b) it would be that MUCH harder to scam with....???

Ill have to be careful about it though, as the last thing I need on my CLEAN carfax is that little asshole fox talking shit about my mileage to everyone.
I am not sure to be honest. Maybe because it makes it harder to tamper with.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 11:47 PM   #49
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by owequitit View Post
I am not sure to be honest. Maybe because it makes it harder to tamper with.
Yea that is probably why.

Did you ever throw a set of HIDS in your parents v6?
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 01:14 AM   #50
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,631
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Yea that is probably why.

Did you ever throw a set of HIDS in your parents v6?
No, not yet. I have too much other stuff going on. LOL.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 11:47 AM   #51
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by owequitit View Post
No, not yet. I have too much other stuff going on. LOL.
Yea I hear ya. You still flying into beautiful Newark lol?
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2016, 12:39 AM   #52
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,631
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Yea I hear ya. You still flying into beautiful Newark lol?
No. I am Dallas based now, which even though the flying sucks, I get to drive home at the end of the day which makes it worth it. I guess the flying doesn't really "suck", its just repetitive. Lots of rapid short-haul stuff.

I do miss flying in Newark though. I loved flying there, just hated having to commute to sit in a crashpad.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 01:15 PM   #53
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Well I pulled out the DDM 5k HIDS.

I had a horrible shadow on the drivers side that ended up being a shadow caused by the return rod on the bulb. I guess because these housings were designed for halogen bulbs, when you twist the HID bulb in, the rod can cause issues.

After doing research I think H11B bulbs work better than H11A, which I believe is what I got.

I just bought the $25 DDM kit. They looked great but the lighting was worse than stock.

I found out about a mod using h9 bulbs instead of h11. They are 65w as opposed to 55w. They are meant for high beam applications, so their life won't be as long but they retain the OEM throw and cutoff and provide way more light.

Ill post pictures in a minute.

Going to send the DDM kit back to DDM and get a refund. Sometime down the road, when I have money I will maybe invest in quality pieces, OEM ballasts and morimoto bulbs but the H9 bulbs are $9 each so for now, it's OEM-ish lol.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 01:19 PM   #54
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Here is with the H9 mod-


and with the DDM kit installed-


Basically I had to sand down a plastic nub inside the socket and trim about 3mm of metal off of one of the clips so that I could A) attach the stock harness and B) twist the bulb in to lock it into place.

They went in smooth and look great. I miss the blue hue and that igniting look when they kick on, but I need to see lol.
__________________

Last edited by Ralphie; 03-17-2016 at 01:25 PM.
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 06:05 PM   #55
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
SHAT

No updates.

Hit 31k miles. I need to perform the basic maintenance but other than that, no new mods. Been busy working and my photography business has been busy so I have had like 0 time off.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 12:23 AM   #56
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,631
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Beware of that headlight mod. We used to do that stuff with the high beams in the low beam socket on CB7's and it would eventually cause the low beam wiring to start to burn and melt. I had to replace both of my low beam sockets for that.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 08:23 AM   #57
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Really? Damn.

Only reason I did it is because a few members on the 9th gen group ran the h9 bulbs for over a year with no issues.

When these bulbs go, I am just going to buy brighter OEM bulbs from autozone lol.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:23 AM   #58
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,631
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Really? Damn.

Only reason I did it is because a few members on the 9th gen group ran the h9 bulbs for over a year with no issues.

When these bulbs go, I am just going to buy brighter OEM bulbs from autozone lol.

Don't know if it will or won't. The HID's put bigger than stock load on the wiring for the first few seconds they are warming up, but then the current draw goes down and the thermal load on the wires is reduced.

If you look at the electrical curves of HID lights, you will get a spike in power draw at the beginning and then a drop as they warm up, and it will stabilize at a lower value than an incandescent bulb. This is part of the reason that CFL's don't save you money if they are turned on and off frequently because they actually average a higher draw than the incandescent bulb. Frequent on and off cycling also shortens the lifespan of these types of bulbs (HID included).

However, with a higher wattage incandescent bulb, they just draw more current, and even though it doesn't seem like a lot, it does put extra load on your wires. To be fair, by car was quite old when they finally burned through and ran them for a number of years (probably around 3-4) when it happened, so your car's might last a lot longer just based on the age of the wires.

Just wanted to give you an FYI. Also, you can find some aftermarket HID setups where the wire is positioned to not interfere with the halogen reflector. Mine don't and they work great and I know the Accord projectors blow my reflectors out of the water.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 03:09 PM   #59
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Yea I wasn't too thrilled about putting higher wattage bulbs in my low beams as they are clearly for high beams only.

I just wanted some extra throw and my DDM 5k 35W kit was just horrible but they're only $25 for you definitely get what you pay for.

Im on the fence about the next step. Ill either get "brighter" bulbs from autozone or get a respectable kit that will not interfere like the DDM.

I am dying to convert to dual exhaust and buy one of the cheap flushmount spoilers online. They paint them OEM colors and reviews have been pretty positive. Also they attach via 3m tape, no screws required, so I like that in the event that I want it off or it falls off it isn't leaving behind holes.

Other than that, I just want to do a mild drop and some gunmetal wheels and id be content.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2016, 05:40 PM   #60
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Down on the upside
Posts: 5,018
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Well, almost at 40k miles. Sheesh, I love driving it but hate seeing the miles rack up.

She needs new rotors and pads as the OEM ones are garbage.

I want to do mods so bad but no moneies
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.