CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > 4th Gen-eral > Other Automotive > Other Automotive Members Rides

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2015, 10:33 PM   #1
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Ralphie : 2013 Honda Accord EX



Miles:
When purchased: 18k
Currently: 53k


ENGINE/Trans:
K24W/CVT


EXTERIOR:
Modern Steel Metallic
H9 Low Beam Mod
Sylvania 6k LED light strip swap.
DDM 1100 lumen LED fog light bulbs in yellow.
LED license plate conversion

INTERIOR:
LED light conversions


ICE:
Stock Honda i-Mid system.

SECURITY:


SUSPENSION:
Stock

SHOES:
Stock 17 Alloys


Future:
[Homelink Module]
[mudflaps]
[flushmount spoiler]
[Sport grille?]
[Convert to dual exhaust]

.





__________________

Last edited by Ralphie; 10-11-2017 at 08:20 PM.
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 10:38 PM   #2
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Well, figured i'd get this going.

New to me 13 EX.

Bought it with 18k on it around mid -August.

Still in love with this car. It has a lot of the things that I miss about my cb with the refinements that 25 years of advancement can bring.

She is a pleasure to drive and handles quite well. Sometimes it almost feels "too nice" to be an Accord, but when I shake her up, she takes it in stride.

Seeing consistent 38+ MPG, which pays for itself.

Really can't think of one single thing that I dislike about the car. The CVT is much better then Nissans, at least my 09 Altima.

Well here she is!

I plan on keeping her for quite a while. My faithful DD.

No real plans for her, as much of what I'd want to do is done already and shit is expensive these days. I would much rather stack my riches and invest in a "real" project if ya catch my driftwood.

HA!
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 07:41 AM   #3
Night Wolf
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Forida
Posts: 9,224
Night Wolf seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to Night Wolf
stock up on the factory accessories while you still can.
__________________


93 Accord LX Sedan (sold)-01 Civic LX Sedan (sold)-93 Accord EX Wagon (totaled)
93 Accord SE Sedan (sold)-95 Accord LX Wagon (CURRENT)-92 Accord EX Sedan (sold)
93 Accord SE Coupe (sold)-97 Accord SiR Wagon (CURRENT)-05 Impreza WRX Sedan-(CURRENT)
Night Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 10:57 AM   #4
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Wolf View Post
stock up on the factory accessories while you still can.
Which ones?

I already got weathertech floor mats. I liked them better then Honda's.

I did want to buy the Homelink switchset to install so I could get rid of my garage door opener.

I know there are a ton of HFP stuff that is badass but that shit is pricey.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 08:44 PM   #5
AccordWarrior
Guy Smiley
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,761
AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Which ones?

I already got weathertech floor mats. I liked them better then Honda's.

I did want to buy the Homelink switchset to install so I could get rid of my garage door opener.

I know there are a ton of HFP stuff that is badass but that shit is pricey.
It's not nearly as integrated as the OEM one, but buy a Homeline module out of a late 90's GM and integrate it into your headliner.

This is how I did it in my Tacoma:



Cost me $22 and an hour of my time.
AccordWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 10:06 PM   #6
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Well Forrest Hills Honda sells a hacked OEM kit that includes a battery for DC power.

Its like $100. I found OEM homelink on ebay for cheap, but I would have to tap into power somewhere.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 10:08 PM   #7
AccordWarrior
Guy Smiley
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,761
AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Well Forrest Hills Honda sells a hacked OEM kit that includes a battery for DC power.

Its like $100. I found OEM homelink on ebay for cheap, but I would have to tap into power somewhere.
Pull it from your map lights. They're always powered which means the vehicle doesn't need to be running for the Homelink to be active. That's how mine is set up. I'm very impressed with the range of my system...it can open when I'm a house away, compared to the Sears opener which only works when I'm already in the driveway.
AccordWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 02:07 PM   #8
Grumpys93
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 2,655
Grumpys93 seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordWarrior View Post
Pull it from your map lights. They're always powered which means the vehicle doesn't need to be running for the Homelink to be active. That's how mine is set up. I'm very impressed with the range of my system...it can open when I'm a house away, compared to the Sears opener which only works when I'm already in the driveway.
Just remember there will always be power going to it. So if you park your car on the street, someone could break in and open your garage. If its always in the garage your good. Just food for thought
__________________
~Nick~
FSAE (F Series Accord Enthusiasts) ..."A dying breed thats taking it to the next level" Lucky #13
MR Thread:http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...ight=Grumpys93
Grumpys93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 08:00 PM   #9
AccordWarrior
Guy Smiley
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,761
AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpys93 View Post
Just remember there will always be power going to it. So if you park your car on the street, someone could break in and open your garage. If its always in the garage your good. Just food for thought
That's no different than having a remote on your visor. Besides, my truck is rarely out of the garage, and even if they did get in, the brilliant minds that built my house in the 70's neglected to put a door between the house and the ATTACHED garage. Once a door is put in, a deadbolt and my security system will deal with it.
AccordWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:49 AM   #10
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Yea my plan is to get this car in the garage, since my wife isn't that interested in parking the CRV in there.

I have an oversized one car so until we move into a bigger house, it is one or the other.

Problem is I have to move a ton of shit into my new shed in the backyard which is going to be a whole day affair and I have had 0 time for that.

Even if they did get in my garage, they can't get in the house as my door has two locks and I also have an alarm, granted they could clean out my garage which has all my expensive tools etc.

I wonder how the OEM is setup....is it constant power or ACC power?

Id be ok with not being able to use it unless the car was on, which would be a good security feature.

Id have to pull power from the sunroof/led shift light I guess as those are only on with the acc.

Thoughts?
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 11:11 AM   #11
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
I also have to bring her in for some TSB love.

I get a shudder sometimes when I come to a stop like at a light.

Its a cvt issue.

Supposedly they need to replace a part and update the computer.

Also there is a known wind issue with the drivers door trims.

That is also corrected.

Since I have a 3 year/30k mile warranty, I need to get it in ASAP so they can address those two issues as that is the only things going on at the moment.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 02:09 PM   #12
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Well came up with a few ideas for some small changes thanks to the 9th gen Facebook group.

-Homelink OEM module installed in overhead position. Will wire it up to sunroof so it illuminates but is off when car is off.
-Going to pick up a t10 wedge for the LED strip under the headlamps.
-Also going to either get h8 bulbs for fogs or maybe do a slim HID retrofit.
-Mudflaps
-Flushmount trunklid spoiler


Would LOVE to pickup a set of 19'' wheels.....specifically AG m510s ....but I can't justify $1200.



Fucking s3x. Except id rock them in gunmetal.

No other plans right now.
__________________

Last edited by Ralphie; 12-28-2015 at 02:11 PM.
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 07:31 PM   #13
AccordWarrior
Guy Smiley
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,761
AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Well came up with a few ideas for some small changes thanks to the 9th gen Facebook group.

-Homelink OEM module installed in overhead position. Will wire it up to sunroof so it illuminates but is off when car is off.
-Going to pick up a t10 wedge for the LED strip under the headlamps.
-Also going to either get h8 bulbs for fogs or maybe do a slim HID retrofit.
-Mudflaps
-Flushmount trunklid spoiler


Would LOVE to pickup a set of 19'' wheels.....specifically AG m510s ....but I can't justify $1200.



Fucking s3x. Except id rock them in gunmetal.

No other plans right now.
Nice list. The LED strip under the headlamps aren't individual bulbs on a board, but a regular wedge base bulb?

19's would look nice, but without altering ride height, I find it's quite difficult to pull off aftermarket wheels.
AccordWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 08:21 PM   #14
F22Chris
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 984
F22Chris is cool... so far.
__________________
F22Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:48 AM   #15
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccordWarrior View Post
Nice list. The LED strip under the headlamps aren't individual bulbs on a board, but a regular wedge base bulb?

19's would look nice, but without altering ride height, I find it's quite difficult to pull off aftermarket wheels.
Ya that is why I am not upset that I can't afford nice wheels. I have no plans on lowering the car and I think it would look odd, so im beat. But I can dream!

And as far as the led strip....I am not even 100% sure but someone on the 9th gen fb group changed out a single bulb for a t10 LED wedge and the whole strip is much brighter.

On EX and below, the LED strip is part of the "parking" light setup and the high beams are the DRL.

On EX-L and above, the LED strip are the DRL.

Like this-


My lamps look more like this-


Not the best examples but basically the newer Accords I think are separate bulbs but on mine, I think its one bulb in the corner and then the light is somehow reflected throughout the strip as the light tappers off the further the strip gets towards midline of the car.
__________________

Last edited by Ralphie; 12-29-2015 at 09:59 AM.
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:21 PM   #16
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,604
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Ya that is why I am not upset that I can't afford nice wheels. I have no plans on lowering the car and I think it would look odd, so im beat. But I can dream!

And as far as the led strip....I am not even 100% sure but someone on the 9th gen fb group changed out a single bulb for a t10 LED wedge and the whole strip is much brighter.

On EX and below, the LED strip is part of the "parking" light setup and the high beams are the DRL.

On EX-L and above, the LED strip are the DRL.

Like this-


My lamps look more like this-


Not the best examples but basically the newer Accords I think are separate bulbs but on mine, I think its one bulb in the corner and then the light is somehow reflected throughout the strip as the light tappers off the further the strip gets towards midline of the car.
There are 3 separate headlight units for this generation Accord.

1) The non-LED headlight, non-LED running light units below EX-L trim

2) The non-LED headlight, LED running light units on EX-L and V6 trims

3) The LED headlight and LED running light units on Touring trims.

You can put a wedge bulb in yours, but it isn't going to look the same as the EX-L and above. It will be whitish bluish, but not quite the same.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 10:10 AM   #17
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by owequitit View Post
There are 3 separate headlight units for this generation Accord.

1) The non-LED headlight, non-LED running light units below EX-L trim

2) The non-LED headlight, LED running light units on EX-L and V6 trims

3) The LED headlight and LED running light units on Touring trims.

You can put a wedge bulb in yours, but it isn't going to look the same as the EX-L and above. It will be whitish bluish, but not quite the same.
Right forgot about the LED headlights.

Yea I know it won't look like the EX-L and above because the design of the housing is totally different but I want the light to extend to the end of the strip which is closest to mid-line of the car. Not sure if this makes sense, but when I get home(at work) I will post the example that the guy did on Facebook so you can see what I mean.

And I also took pics this morning with my cell phone....it is indeed one bulb at the far corners of the light and that light must be reflected throughout the strip as opposed to individual LED's.
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 07:18 PM   #18
owequitit
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 7,604
owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful owequitit is very helpful
Send a message via AIM to owequitit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphie View Post
Right forgot about the LED headlights.

Yea I know it won't look like the EX-L and above because the design of the housing is totally different but I want the light to extend to the end of the strip which is closest to mid-line of the car. Not sure if this makes sense, but when I get home(at work) I will post the example that the guy did on Facebook so you can see what I mean.

And I also took pics this morning with my cell phone....it is indeed one bulb at the far corners of the light and that light must be reflected throughout the strip as opposed to individual LED's.
Yeah, I know what you are saying. You can tell that Honda put a wedge bulb in there. Hopefully a white one would work. I think that is a fairly common modification to do that on the lower trims. You can probably just swap a set of HID bulbs in there too for a nice upgrade.

FYI, I don't know what the difference in the harnesses is, but the headlights for these actually aren't THAT expensive, so that might be a quick easy way to upgrade them too.
owequitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 07:24 PM   #19
Ralphie
Stalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Englishtown
Posts: 5,003
Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed. Ralphie is damn fine. Damn fine, indeed.
Oh so you're suggesting swapping out lamps to an upgraded trim?

I just want to use an LED bulb to put out a few more lumens, not really worried about the K temps.

If I do HID's, im thinking it would be better to do them in the fogs. I think it might be too much for the LED strip and the low beams need to be retrofitted to be of any use with HIDS.

Ill look into that headlight swap though ,thanks!
__________________
Ralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 07:47 PM   #20
AccordWarrior
Guy Smiley
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,761
AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful AccordWarrior is very helpful
Why not install your own LEDs in each of the slots? I mean, worst case you need to replace the headlamps because you run into a leak.
AccordWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.