CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Performance Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2018, 07:26 AM   #1
yh61r
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 91
yh61r is cool... so far.
[1990 EX] Looking into getting a programmable OBD1 ECU, what are my options?

I'm currently working on a wire tuck and while doing so I'm removing unnecessary things like EGR and EVAP, etc. I know I'll probably get a CEL if I start driving without EGR. I obviously don't want a continuous CEL so I will need a programmable OBD1 ECU and have certain things turned off, and maybe have a slightly better map installed on it.

I have 0 experience with ECU'S so I'm not sure if it's possible or not but I'd preferably get an ECU that's plug and play into the current harness, I've heard OBD1 had the same plugs as my OBD0 1990 EX CB3?

Thanks!
yh61r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 12:17 PM   #2
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,136
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Your CB3 is already OBD1. Any chippable OBD1 ECU will work.
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 02:24 PM   #3
yh61r
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 91
yh61r is cool... so far.
It's that easy huh? Do all OBD1 ECU's have the same socket and pin locations? Regardless of brand? Can I just choose the cheapest chippable OBD1 ECU I can find, get an F20A4 map slapped on it, have the stuff I want removed removed and go?

Last edited by yh61r; 10-07-2018 at 02:36 PM.
yh61r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 03:02 PM   #4
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,136
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
For the most part
Here you go:
http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=56836
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 10:58 AM   #5
yh61r
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 91
yh61r is cool... so far.
Thanks! Very interesting.

Looking at the different types of ECU's, I noticed IAB. A quick Google told me it means Intake Air Bypass. Do we even have this function on our Accords? If so, is there benefit/downside of having/not having it?

Also, my Accord had a 4-wire O2 sensor, does this mean I need to pick an ECU from the list that has a 4-wire O2 sensor? Probably a dumb question but just making sure!

Last edited by yh61r; 10-08-2018 at 11:02 AM.
yh61r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 03:15 PM   #6
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,136
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
IAB in Honda speak stands for Intake Air Butterfly, which is simply a set of throttle butterflies that allow high air velocity at low engine speeds (low end torque) and high air flow (top end power). Kind of like VTEC, but simpler.

You can check it by looking at the right side of the intake manifold. Right side when you are facing the engine bay. There should be a little vacuum diaphragm attached to the lower runners. If you don't have it, you don't have IAB functionality.

Yes, you should get the 4-wire O2 if you are keeping your stock sensor.
__________________
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 12:41 AM   #7
yh61r
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 91
yh61r is cool... so far.
Thank you very much for your help!
yh61r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.