CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2012, 08:40 PM   #1
axel272
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: anderson,sc
Posts: 11
axel272 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to axel272
Question f22 a vs f22b1

got a question i blew the motor in my 90 accord f22 a1 knocked a couple holes in the block..needless to say its shot so i came up on a f22b1 wen i was lookin for another motor for 300 buck was just wonderin bout if i should put the a1 head on it with the h23 intake i already had or just swap the motors out i got the wiring and everything else down i think just not sure bout wat the wires are comin from the crank think its pressure switch for the vtec.....if so i was gonna put the h23 mani on the f22b1 just wanted to get a couple of opinions on wat u guys thought on which would be my best bet...and was also wonderin if my header off the a1 would fit the b1 it didnt come with one on it havent got to checkin it yet and i kno i need the p0a ecu for the b1 right?
axel272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:19 PM   #2
Joey GT-R
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,793
Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock!
Send a message via AIM to Joey GT-R Send a message via MSN to Joey GT-R Send a message via Yahoo to Joey GT-R
This is really a matter of opinion. You could go either way. The cylinder ports are identical so your header will fit.
__________________
'94 JDM H22A: 178whp 146wtq

Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote
If you say double dutch rudder, i'm banning you...
Joey GT-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:35 PM   #3
axel272
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: anderson,sc
Posts: 11
axel272 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to axel272
yeh but ive never messed with a vtec so i dont really know how they run lol
axel272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:39 PM   #4
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deev's House
Posts: 3,932
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey GT-R View Post
This is really a matter of opinion. You could go either way. The cylinder ports are identical so your header will fit.
The b1's Ports are different from the a1's. The only way he can reuse his header is if he adds the a1 head to the b1 block.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:54 PM   #5
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,017
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Yes. B1 exhaust ports are 0_00_0. F22A, H23A, and F22B DOHC exhaust ports are 0_0_0_0.

You can put the F22A head on the F22B1 block. The blocks are very similar. The F22A head has greater potential when modified, compared to the F22B1... but both are decent motors until you get REALLY serious about a build.
__________________
BUY MY STUFF!!!
NEW PRICES ADDED 09/24/2016

AEM TruTime cam gears (H22A), DSM 450cc injectors, Eaton M45 superchrager






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:57 PM   #6
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deev's House
Posts: 3,932
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
I forgot to add that the H23 intake manifold won't fit on the b1's head for the same reason as the header not fitting, different ports as well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:18 PM   #7
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,502
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
Keep your F22A head if you want to avoid having to replacing your intake & exhaust manifold. Nether of the ones you have will bolt up.

Another thing to remember if you end up swapping blocks. Remember to remove the oil control orifice from your blown F22A block and screw it into the B1 block. The B1 VTEC block does not have the control orifice becuase the B1 head requires more oil to engage the VTEC assembly.

__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:19 PM   #8
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,017
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
What is the function of that part on the F22A block? Is it just a plug?
__________________
BUY MY STUFF!!!
NEW PRICES ADDED 09/24/2016

AEM TruTime cam gears (H22A), DSM 450cc injectors, Eaton M45 superchrager






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:19 PM   #9
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deev's House
Posts: 3,932
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostAccord View Post
Keep your F22A head if you want to avoid having to replacing your intake & exhaust manifold. Nether of the ones you have will bolt up.

Another thing to remember if you end up swapping blocks. Remember to remove the oil control orifice from your blown F22A block and put it into the B1 block. The B1 VTEC block does not use the control orifice becuase the B1 head requires more oil to engage the VTEC assembly.

Thanks for that bit of info. Im working on a CD5 right now and when I popped the head off I noticed that plug was missing and was curious about it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:20 PM   #10
dj_ender
Mod\Dubstep Pusher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deev's House
Posts: 3,932
dj_ender seems to have made some friends! dj_ender seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
What is the function of that part on the F22A block? Is it just a plug?
I believe it's just an oil restrictor.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishakol129 View Post
Do not disrespect my intelligence. I am the smartest person I know : )
dj_ender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:23 PM   #11
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,502
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
Not exactly a plug. It controls, or restricts, the amount of oil entering the cylinder head.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:28 PM   #12
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,017
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Interesting. I always knew about that oil orifice, but I never knew the details. Mainly because I've never had any interest in a head swap, which is where it usually becomes a point of concern.
__________________
BUY MY STUFF!!!
NEW PRICES ADDED 09/24/2016

AEM TruTime cam gears (H22A), DSM 450cc injectors, Eaton M45 superchrager






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 11:38 PM   #13
Joey GT-R
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,793
Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock!
Send a message via AIM to Joey GT-R Send a message via MSN to Joey GT-R Send a message via Yahoo to Joey GT-R
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
Yes. B1 exhaust ports are 0_00_0. F22A, H23A, and F22B DOHC exhaust ports are 0_0_0_0.
Guess you learn something new everyday....wonder why they did that. When you look at headers online they always advertise F22/H23, but I've never seen them say "except F22B1". So I guess it's safe to say H22 headers, manifolds fit then?
__________________
'94 JDM H22A: 178whp 146wtq

Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote
If you say double dutch rudder, i'm banning you...
Joey GT-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 11:41 PM   #14
'93CB7Ex
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ATL
Posts: 2,176
'93CB7Ex seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to '93CB7Ex
Negative. H22 is different.
__________________
'93CB7Ex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:26 AM   #15
Joey GT-R
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,793
Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock!
Send a message via AIM to Joey GT-R Send a message via MSN to Joey GT-R Send a message via Yahoo to Joey GT-R
Well if I remember correctly H22s are 0-00-0...... I know they aren't 0-0-0-0 like F22As.
__________________
'94 JDM H22A: 178whp 146wtq

Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote
If you say double dutch rudder, i'm banning you...
Joey GT-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:42 AM   #16
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,502
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey GT-R View Post
Well if I remember correctly H22s are 0-00-0...... I know they aren't 0-0-0-0 like F22As.
Actually the H22's have a 0-0-0-0 exhaust port layout, IIRC the difference is that they have a different bolt pattern than the F22/H23.

It's the F22B1,2 & 5 and F23A1, 4 & 5 that have the 0-00-0 exhaust port design....
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:09 AM   #17
Joey GT-R
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,793
Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock! Joey GT-R has a HUGE cock!
Send a message via AIM to Joey GT-R Send a message via MSN to Joey GT-R Send a message via Yahoo to Joey GT-R
Oh well then, I don't concern myself with such things, that header's not coming off anytime soon.....
__________________
'94 JDM H22A: 178whp 146wtq

Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote
If you say double dutch rudder, i'm banning you...
Joey GT-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 02:44 AM   #18
axel272
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: anderson,sc
Posts: 11
axel272 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to axel272
Question

hate to bring this thread back up but got another questtion b4 i sit this motor in here i was told this motor came out of a 98 but idk bout that it came out of a 93 accord wen i got it but i got 2 wires comin out of the crank i got a red wire and a green wire does anyone kno which ones wich crank sensor and the vtec pressure switch....?
axel272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:18 AM   #19
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,502
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
If it were a 98 F series it would be an F23A1. If it is an 96-97 OBD2 F22B1 there should be 4 wires coming from under the timing cover.
WHT & BLU - CKP sensor and RED & GRN - TDC sensor. Sounds like your are missing the wires for CKP, maybe the last swap was using an OBD1 distributor. It houses all three sensors (TDC, CKP & CYP) just like the F22A1-6 does.

The OBD2 F22B1 does not use a VTEC pressure sensor. If someone was to put and OBD1 VTM on there. It would be part of the VTEC valve assembly on the head.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr

Last edited by GhostAccord; 03-24-2012 at 10:22 AM.
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 12:20 AM   #20
axel272
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: anderson,sc
Posts: 11
axel272 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to axel272
so what would i do to wire up the vtec on it if it was obd1 or2 and what should i do bout the wires comin off the crank??
axel272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f22a1 , f22b1 , swap

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.