CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
jdmboi type s
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jdm
Posts: 298
jdmboi type s is cool... so far.
Air fuel ratio gauge ?

How do i conect a Air fuel ratio gauge, i know it goes to the o2 senor and ecu but how do i wirer it ? on the gauge i have pos + and neg - wires and then a green wire?
jdmboi type s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:00 PM   #2
agol
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maryland/North Carolina
Posts: 1,002
agol is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to agol
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboi type s View Post
How do i conect a Air fuel ratio gauge, i know it goes to the o2 senor and ecu but how do i wirer it ? on the gauge i have pos + and neg - wires and then a green wire?
it goes to the o2 sensor doesnt need to be connected to the ecu. your gonna have to drill through your firewall for it to be mounted as a gauge.
__________________
agol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:03 PM   #3
evil_demon_01
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,880
evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboi type s View Post
How do i conect a Air fuel ratio gauge, i know it goes to the o2 senor and ecu but how do i wirer it ? on the gauge i have pos + and neg - wires and then a green wire?
Have you got a wideband fitted?

Green goes to the wideband
Positive to ignition
Negative to ground
__________________


Car Safety / General Servicing Checks --------Basic suspension checks

My 5.7 LS1 Holden Ute

A "Finished" project car is never finished until its been sold.

If at first you don't succeed, Try again. Don't give up too easily, persistance pays off in the end.
evil_demon_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
blazenem
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: From NY to AZ
Posts: 1,223
blazenem is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to blazenem Send a message via Yahoo to blazenem
you should be able to find a grommet to run the wires thru the fire wall. if you do end up having to make a hole make sure you put simething around the edges so you dont have bare sharp metal on your wires. i was lucky enough to have a grommet on the pass side that had nothing running through it since i have a dx with no ac...
__________________

Ride List
1990 Accord dx coupe - my baby (dsm turbo set up in progress) http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3202853
2005 Mazda 6s - daily driver http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3171724(totaled)
newest 2006 mazdaspeed 6 http://www.cardomain.com/ride/4073987/2006-mazda-mazda6
blazenem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:36 AM   #5
92smokeaccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: north branford ct
Posts: 2,193
92smokeaccord seems to have made some friends! 92smokeaccord seems to have made some friends!
the green wire connects to the whit/red wire on the ecu.its in the d plug
__________________

my new turbo build
92smokeaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:10 PM   #6
00rx7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: morgantown west virginia
Posts: 43
00rx7 is cool... so far.
Does it matter which wire on the O2 sensor. Or will any work.?
00rx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:38 PM   #7
cloudasc
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Laguna Seca
Posts: 2,551
cloudasc is someone to admire cloudasc is someone to admire cloudasc is someone to admire
Hooking a AFR Meter up to the stock oxygen sensor, gives you nothing more then a light show. The only time you would wire directly off the ecu's connectors is if your running a "chipped" ecu, that knows how to understand a wideband o2, and you want a gauge.

Otherwise there are aftermarket oxygen sensors / gauges that can provide a narrowband signal to the ecu, and a wideband signal to the gauge/datalogger, or wideband to both.
cloudasc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 03:48 PM   #8
jdmboi type s
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jdm
Posts: 298
jdmboi type s is cool... so far.
i have a wideband afr guage but i just notice my h23 doesnt have any o2 senors !? ..can anyone help?
jdmboi type s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 03:58 PM   #9
evil_demon_01
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,880
evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboi type s View Post
i have a wideband afr guage but i just notice my h23 doesnt have any o2 senors !? ..can anyone help?
What do you want help with?

You can't hook the gauge up to nothing, And I find it hard to believe that it doesn't have an O2 sensor.

Also the sensor need top be wideband, not just the gauge.
__________________


Car Safety / General Servicing Checks --------Basic suspension checks

My 5.7 LS1 Holden Ute

A "Finished" project car is never finished until its been sold.

If at first you don't succeed, Try again. Don't give up too easily, persistance pays off in the end.
evil_demon_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 05:58 PM   #10
jdmboi type s
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jdm
Posts: 298
jdmboi type s is cool... so far.
Yeah no o2 senor, i checked everywhere , and theres no hole for the o2 on my dc sports header ..so can i just wire it to the ecu ?
jdmboi type s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 06:49 PM   #11
evil_demon_01
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,880
evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboi type s View Post
Yeah no o2 senor, i checked everywhere , and theres no hole for the o2 on my dc sports header ..so can i just wire it to the ecu ?
That wont do anything - If the ECU isn't getting a O2 signal then neither will the gauge.
Is the engine check light ON?

Also as we keep telling you - Its a waste of time connecting it without a wideband sensor anyway.
__________________


Car Safety / General Servicing Checks --------Basic suspension checks

My 5.7 LS1 Holden Ute

A "Finished" project car is never finished until its been sold.

If at first you don't succeed, Try again. Don't give up too easily, persistance pays off in the end.
evil_demon_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 08:08 PM   #12
jdmboi type s
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jdm
Posts: 298
jdmboi type s is cool... so far.
Yeah...im just going to sell it..and no, no check engine light on
jdmboi type s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:32 AM   #13
jdmboi type s
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jdm
Posts: 298
jdmboi type s is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboi type s View Post
Yeah...im just going to sell it..and no, no check engine light on
????
jdmboi type s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 11:08 AM   #14
GunRunner
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pinehurst/Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 3,104
GunRunner seems to have made some friends!
are you running a chipped ECU?
__________________
-1992 Accord EX H22 234whp 185wtq
-1993 Accord EX SOLD
-1995 Accord EX Wagon Daily Driver
-2012 GMC Canyon V8 4x4
GunRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 12:16 PM   #15
KeeleDesign
Contributing Painter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: waverly TN
Posts: 2,697
KeeleDesign seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via Yahoo to KeeleDesign
It's pointless to have unless you have a wideband. So you can adjust accordingly.
a narrow band o2 only cycles back and forth in a short range. so your gauge wil constantly go up and down .
__________________
"Self Renewed"
KeeleDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 12:34 PM   #16
sulimed
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: INDY!!! home of the fastest
Posts: 1,144
sulimed is cool... so far.
is it a digital on analog gauge????
__________________
sulimed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:51 PM   #17
jazmro
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
jazmro is cool... so far.
Good god, I hate those damn lightshows. It's not going to do anything to you. It'll jus say rich or lean, and even then sucks at doing that.

Get a wideband.
jazmro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:18 PM   #18
blazenem
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: From NY to AZ
Posts: 1,223
blazenem is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to blazenem Send a message via Yahoo to blazenem
go buy your self a wideband http://www.titanmotorsports.com/lcwi...dwTc2rw...easy to hook up and come with a pretty nice guage...you can put it right in the unused hole on your dc sport header...
__________________

Ride List
1990 Accord dx coupe - my baby (dsm turbo set up in progress) http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3202853
2005 Mazda 6s - daily driver http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3171724(totaled)
newest 2006 mazdaspeed 6 http://www.cardomain.com/ride/4073987/2006-mazda-mazda6
blazenem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:22 PM   #19
jdmboi type s
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jdm
Posts: 298
jdmboi type s is cool... so far.
sold it .... I just want to figure out now why it dosent have any o2 senor and yet no check engine light...theres also no hole for the o2 senor on my dc headers even if i bought one....

Last edited by jdmboi type s; 01-26-2012 at 09:27 PM.
jdmboi type s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:38 PM   #20
evil_demon_01
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,880
evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire evil_demon_01 is someone to admire
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboi type s View Post
i just notice my h23 doesnt have any o2 senors !? ..can anyone help?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboi type s View Post
I just want to figure out now why it dosent have any o2 senor and yet no check engine light
Because you have an H23 and a chipped ECU with the O2 disabled I'd guess.
__________________


Car Safety / General Servicing Checks --------Basic suspension checks

My 5.7 LS1 Holden Ute

A "Finished" project car is never finished until its been sold.

If at first you don't succeed, Try again. Don't give up too easily, persistance pays off in the end.
evil_demon_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.