CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Audio/Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2016, 07:49 PM   #1
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
1991 Accord LX Instrument cluster not working

This is a 1991 accord LX 5 speed
Here are the things that do work.
Battery light and blinkers.
Everything else is a mystery so far.
I have tried replacing the instrument cluster with a known working one. I got the same results. I have tested fuses aswell. Basically what i need to do further testing is a pinout diagram for the two plugs that terminate to the bottom of the instrument cluster. If anyone has this i would greatly appreciate a post of that diagram. Ill Test voltage and resistance of wires as I go but im lost without this pinout diagram.

Last edited by Aaronams25; 04-06-2016 at 05:06 AM. Reason: I failed to add necessary info about the car.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 08:38 PM   #2
SSMAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Little Rock, Detroit Metro
Posts: 345
SSMAccord seems to have made some friends! SSMAccord seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via Yahoo to SSMAccord
What year is your CB? What were the symptoms before you began to swap clusters?

Different years of CBs have different cluster wiring schematics. Make sure that the year of the clusters that you are swapping in match the year of your CB.
SSMAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 05:00 AM   #3
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Yes very sorry I forgot these details. And thank for replying. Its a 1991 5 speed accord lx. The cluster I swapped was from the same year vehicle and 5 speed tranny aswell. The cluster has not worked since i bought the car. The only thing that works on this cluster are the battery light, the blinker indicators, the high beam indicator and the back light for the cluster. many people have said that this cars electrical problems could be a simple case of a bad ground or a ground that simply is not connected. however i haven't the slightest clue of where all the ground wires are located in either the engine bay or under the dash etc. i gues i may need more than just a pinout for the cluster for testing. I believe i must also ask for locations of the vehicles ground wires if anyone would know where to find suck a thing. Thank you any and all who are willing to donate their time into helping another honda lover with a sick cb7.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 06:33 AM   #4
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,094
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=184559

Let us know the results of your testing!
__________________
<Click for story - Welcome back!
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 01:07 PM   #5
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Okay this is perfect. Locations of grounds and everything I need to test the cluster. Sonikaccord thank you again. Ill post info and pictures as i test the wires today.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:04 PM   #6
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Great news

After learning how to read this diagram i started tracing every circuit to all my related problems. I cam to a ground labeled as X which is located in the trunk of the car on the left side of the rear tray. This ground might be a winner for a few problems as it grounds for the vehicle speed sensor and reverse lights which i found out are also not operating. Im not 100% sure of everything this ground is attached to but im looking further into it.

Posting pictures after some editing to fit it all on the page.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:15 PM   #7
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Snap shots

Okay this is as i found it with nothing plugged in or mounted at all. The only thing i have done so far is pull it out from behind that panel where it was tucked away. As seen in the photos we have some burnt wires a disconnected plug and some wires that were cut then taped back together. Im going to repair all wire connections then figure out where the ground wire is and ground her and hope for the best. Ill report back as soon as it is done.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 03:34 AM   #8
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Well I rewired the power antenna. At the point of finishing it I realized that fixing the wires and plugging it in would do nothing to help the potential faulty ground. So im going to keep looking for it tomorrow. Ill install a stereo and see if the antenna even works. The struggle will continue in the A.M

Goodnight cb7
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 08:17 PM   #9
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Grrrrrrr

Pulled everthing but the carpet and still can find any ground wires. Gonna steam clean this then put it all back together...
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 09:01 PM   #10
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,094
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Ok, it looks like you've gotten far...just in a different direction.

Does your clock work?

You stated earlier:
"the battery light, the blinker indicators, the high beam indicator and the back light for the cluster."

Are those the only things that work on the cluster? What about your CEL, OIL, Seat Belt and BRAKE lights? Those are all related to connector B, and FUSE #1 in the dash fuse box. Check there and see if that fuse is good.

The ground for your cluster is behind the dash fusebox. Connector A, pin 8 provides the ground for your Tach, Speedometer, Fuel and Temp gauges, Odometer and door ajar lights. I recommend checking continuity to ground on that pin.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that Connector A, pin 5 provides power to your gauges. Make sure that pin has 12v.
__________________
<Click for story - Welcome back!

Last edited by sonikaccord; 04-09-2016 at 09:05 PM.
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 10:15 PM   #11
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
the clock displays time if i press the top button on it. The other light functions you spoke of do not work. I will check that ground wire and the power wire. Need a few minutes to pull out the dash again. Kinda lost my day light here lol. And thank you for the reply.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 03:12 PM   #12
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Okay i feel like i have failed here. I've spent so much time testing and diagnosing and im not getting far enough to figure out the actual cause of the problem. I have decided that i want to try two things here. Im going to go get another ecu and plop that in. if it fixes stuff thats awesome, if it fixes nothing then its on to plan B. that would be replacing the cluster harness that runs to the center junction connectors under the stereo head unit. Just wish it were a simple fix so I could start putting time and money into making this cb7 look clean and such..
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 05:56 PM   #13
sonikaccord
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In Traffic
Posts: 4,094
sonikaccord seems to have made some friends!
Whoa. Let's not rush into anything yet. Replacing the harness is extreme and an ecu seems unlikely to solve any cluster issues. You have a mass failure, which is a good thing. It isolates the problem to single, large connection.

What have you figured out so far?
__________________
<Click for story - Welcome back!
sonikaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 07:53 PM   #14
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonikaccord View Post
Whoa. Let's not rush into anything yet. Replacing the harness is extreme and an ecu seems unlikely to solve any cluster issues. You have a mass failure, which is a good thing. It isolates the problem to single, large connection.

What have you figured out so far?
I feel like an ass. Ill post a video of why I am an ass in just a few minutes. I am the worst backyard mechanic ever... Long story short Sonik your first answer to my solution was correct this whole time... And it also fixed some other problems
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:03 PM   #15
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
In this video i show you what fixed what issues and credit here goes to SonikAccord. Thank you again.

Last edited by Aaronams25; 04-20-2016 at 01:52 AM.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 12:50 AM   #16
almostJDM
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth....We come in peace
Posts: 3,770
almostJDM is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to almostJDM Send a message via MSN to almostJDM Send a message via Yahoo to almostJDM
When I saw the title of this post and read the original post, I was going to say check the #1 fuse in the kick panel fuse box, because I had this exact issue with my new cb I just picked up, but looks like you figured it out , I had to drive 5 hours using my phone as a speedo to get it home before I could figure out my issue haha
__________________

PSN ID's:Tidashoni
1992 Accord EX Coupe
My FS Thread
Not so DD 2013 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
Boosting with a carb is like being a sniper with a bazooka... it works, it gets the job done, but it's not the most precise method.
almostJDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 09:21 PM   #17
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Update

Okay so after replacing that #1 fuse some things on the instrument cluster started working. However were still lacking a few things. Ill take video and some photo's of what I have done so far.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 04:43 AM   #18
Aaronams25
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 36
Aaronams25 is cool... so far.
Yea this one was embarrassing lol. But it allowed me to deep clean all the nasty that had sat for 25+ years.
Aaronams25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.