CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > 4th Gen-eral > Off Topic > Computers and Video Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2016, 03:52 PM   #1
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,111
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Console emulation: Shared save states across multiple machines.

I have an idea that is beyond my abilities. This probably isn't the best place for it, but I'd rather talk it out with a few knowledgeable CB7tuners before I take it to a bunch of strangers on an emulation/programming forum!

I've been playing games on my Raspberry Pi for a couple months now, and it works like a charm. I love it. I learned that save states (at least SNES states) can be transferred from my PC to my Raspberry Pi, and vice versa... allowing me to play a game on the Pi, continue it on my PC, and transfer it back to the Pi. It's neat-o! But to do so, I have to either remove the SD card from the Pi and put it in my PC, or fire up my FTP client to do a remote transfer to the powered Pi. Not a major hassle, but I'm trying to make it even better!
I also hope to pick up an inexpensive Android tablet one of these days, which I also hope to use for retro gaming purposes.

My idea is this: to build a remote file server, possibly using a second Raspberry Pi (perhaps the new Pi Zero), or just my PC (since it's on most of the time anyway.)
The tricky part is figuring out a way to make the emulators load from and save to the remote server. The idea is to have things set up in a way that I could pick up from where I left off using any device.


This is a fairly new idea, and I'm very much a noob in regards to these things... so I have no idea how to implement it, if it's even possible!
I'd love to hear additional thoughts, suggestions, or experiences with such a thing (if it actually exists... I'm sure I'm not the first to have this idea!)
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:02 PM   #2
lbus9168
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 454
lbus9168 may have said something they shouldn't have...
You're way overcomplicating it. Its easy.

Setup your Samba server on raspberry pi. This allows you easy access via PC to your raspberry pi files, through file explorer in windows. Save RPI save files in standard storage location. Point save location on PC to samba share.

Done.

Assuming you use windows, that is
__________________
lbus9168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:17 PM   #3
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,111
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
That sounds easy enough!

I'm running RetroPie on the Raspberry Pi, though. I'm not sure how to set up the server on that. That's worth looking into, though! Googling now.

edit: apparently RetroPie has Samba already included. Time to go digging through some settings!
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:20 PM   #4
lbus9168
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 454
lbus9168 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Mike, samba is enabled by default. Just type \\Retropie into windows explorer and you'll be there.
__________________
lbus9168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:23 PM   #5
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,111
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Holy crap.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:26 PM   #6
lbus9168
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 454
lbus9168 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Hahaha!

Technology, right?

Now all you need to do is navigate to your saves on the pi, and set that as your default location on your emulator and you're done! No requirement to sync anything as its all saved to the same location.

Just, if you leave your network obviously saves won't work any more.
__________________
lbus9168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:40 PM   #7
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,111
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Now if I could just figure out how to make the stupid emulators save to and load from the Pi...
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:45 PM   #8
lbus9168
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 454
lbus9168 may have said something they shouldn't have...
What emu's are you using?

Also if you set this up on android as well it might take a little more work

If you aren't, I'd reccomend this for windoze

http://lifehacker.com/how-to-set-up-...-re-1745863517
__________________

Last edited by lbus9168; 02-26-2016 at 04:48 PM.
lbus9168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 05:02 PM   #9
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,111
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Right now, I'm messing with ZSNES and SNES9X for SNES, and ePSXe for Playstation (not sure what emulators I'll be using for other systems yet.)

None of them seem to have an option for changing the save state location. ZSNES has a "paths" option, but it didn't seem to do anything when I tried to set it to //Retropie/roms/snes
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 05:21 PM   #10
lbus9168
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 454
lbus9168 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Try opening your ROMs directly from the samba share, go to a ROM on the share, right click, open with, select your oreffered emu.
__________________
lbus9168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 05:30 PM   #11
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,111
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
I wonder if that'll overheat the Pi if I'm running the rom over wireless... if it'll even run (probably won't work well for Playstation... SNES and lesser systems it probably would.)
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 05:35 PM   #12
lbus9168
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 454
lbus9168 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Its just file transfer, it should not be a problem. The reason why you'd do that is because saves are located with the ROMS, so that's probably the best way to do it.
__________________
lbus9168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 06:46 PM   #13
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,111
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
It works! I managed to do it with the SNES games via ZSNES. Seems to load and save flawlessly.

I'll have to try with the Playstation. Though the RetroPie (well, Emulation Station really) saves .srm files, and I don't have a Playstation emulator that does that, I don't think... so I'll need a workaround.

But if the SNES (and hopefully lesser) all work that way, I'm happy. Those are the games I want to play the most!

Thanks, Lachlan. I didn't actually expect to get any sort of answer with this post!
The Android compatibility might be an issue, but that's probably a long way off. I don't even own an Android device yet. That would really just be so I can keep playing Final Fantasy while I'm dropping a deuce, though.
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 06:59 PM   #14
lbus9168
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 454
lbus9168 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Haha I'm glad you got it sorted.

You can do it with an android device, some people say you may need to root the device, but i think it should work if you set it up the same way, and just use ES file explorer, and it should work.
__________________
lbus9168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 03:16 AM   #15
HappyGilmore
AKA Gillymomo
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,507
HappyGilmore is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to HappyGilmore Send a message via MSN to HappyGilmore Send a message via Yahoo to HappyGilmore Send a message via Skype™ to HappyGilmore
Well if it's a Samba Share, then all you have to do is right click on it and map network drive. That gives it a letter in Windows you can just do that way too!
__________________
The CB7 Collector.
Team Kindred Impulse Member #3
92 LX Coupe F22A1
97 LX Wagon 5-Speed F22B2
92 EX Sedan F22A1
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
Do you really need to make a thread asking if having your car like this /---\ will cause uneven tire wear? Try walking like that for a few weeks and see if your shoes wear funny! (hint: they will.)
HappyGilmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.