CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Performance Tech > ECU Tuning

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2014, 01:55 PM   #1
Red4doorAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 84
Red4doorAccord is cool... so far.
Obd1 scan gauge

Recently i have been really interested in my fuel mileage. I have tried to do the whole fill the gas tank then set your trip but i always forget and add more fuel. So i went looking for a scan gauge but they are all made for obd2 and not for obd1. My question is can you modify the obd2 one to work with your obd1 or can you take a obd1 to obd2 harness and run it off there? Im really interested and im definitely down to get dirty to get one!
Red4doorAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 03:00 PM   #2
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,515
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
No, they use 2 completely different protocols/languages. OBD1 really is a pretty dumb data transfer protocol compared to the much more enhanced OBD2. Even OBD2 will not give you a MPG reading anyway.

A chipped OBD1 ECU would allow you a much better look inside what your ECU is doing. However that is a bit of cash to put out just to monitor something like MPG that is Easily calculated by dividing your gallons/mile.

if you really want to get fancy computer MPG updates just buy a new car with a factory calculated (biased) MPG display.

IMO Nothing beats filling up at the pump and doing the real calculations.

If you are really that concerned about MPG you should keep a pen and paper in your car to log your data. The money you would pay to convert your OBD1 to OBD2 or use an aftermarket MPG logger, would render your efforts to save money on fuel moot!
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr

Last edited by GhostAccord; 11-15-2014 at 03:04 PM.
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 04:45 PM   #3
wildBill83
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Back in Texas
Posts: 2,045
wildBill83 seems to have made some friends!
wildBill83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 09:35 PM   #4
Red4doorAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 84
Red4doorAccord is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildBill83 View Post
😂 ⬆️ what about taking a obd1 to obd2 harness and running a ecu from a 96 and up f22?
Red4doorAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 10:29 PM   #5
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,515
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
Downlaod the MPG app onto your phone.

All the work required to add all the emissions components and converting to an OBD2 ECU still won't spit out a detailed MPG chart for you. You would then also need to install an OBD2 scan port and buy an OBD2 port scan cable to hook up to another logger of some sort.

So again.. is it really worth the time and money switching to an OBD2 ECU just to read sensor data from a computer that won't gain you any MPG.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 07:18 AM   #6
wildBill83
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Back in Texas
Posts: 2,045
wildBill83 seems to have made some friends!
Yes, like ghost said, I meant download the mpg app you update manually at every fill up. If you are really concerned with fuel mileage then install a wideband AFR and learn to hypermile.
wildBill83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 09:41 AM   #7
Red4doorAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 84
Red4doorAccord is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildBill83 View Post
Yes, like ghost said, I meant download the mpg app you update manually at every fill up. If you are really concerned with fuel mileage then install a wideband AFR and learn to hypermile.
What does the wideband do and what is hypermile?
Red4doorAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 10:46 AM   #8
wildBill83
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Back in Texas
Posts: 2,045
wildBill83 seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red4doorAccord View Post
What does the wideband do and what is hypermile?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=wideband+02+sensor+mpg

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=hypermiling

There I made links for you.

Last edited by wildBill83; 11-16-2014 at 10:48 AM.
wildBill83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
obd1 , obd2 , scan gauge

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.