CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Technical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2009, 08:37 AM   #1
demortey@mac.co
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 196
demortey@mac.co is cool... so far.
new h22a no balls + code 22

i just took my car for a test drive after doing the h22 and a 5-speed swap. everything is great. the engine runs smooth and everything. It has no power for acceleration though. it's like its bogging out.

i also have a code 22 if that makes a difference.

thanks guys
demortey@mac.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:44 AM   #2
cp[mike]
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12,049
cp[mike] is very helpful cp[mike] is very helpful cp[mike] is very helpful
did you wire up VTEC correctly? code 2 is the VTEC OIL PRESSURE SENSOR and with that code, your car is going to run poorly.
__________________


- 1993 Accord LX - White sedan (sold)
- 1993 Accord EX - White sedan (wrecked)
- 1991 Accord EX - White sedan (sold)
- 1990 Accord EX - Grey sedan (sold)
- 1993 Accord EX - White sedan (sold)
- 1992 Accord EX - White coupe (sold)
- 1993 Accord EX - Grey coupe (stolen)
- 1993 Accord SE - Gold coupe (FOR SALE)
Current cars:
- 2005 Subaru Legacy GT Wagon - Daily driver
- 2004 Chevrolet Express AWD - Camper conversion
cp[mike] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:04 AM   #3
demortey@mac.co
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 196
demortey@mac.co is cool... so far.
i'm 99% sure i wired it properly. I don't have a knock sensor on it though, i'm waiting for the mailman to drop it off. (the broken one is threaded in the hole though). The other problem is that there's an oil leak somewhere on the back of the engine. I'm in the process of figuring out wtf thats about.
demortey@mac.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:06 AM   #4
demortey@mac.co
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 196
demortey@mac.co is cool... so far.
vtec oil pressure sensor... is that the green plug right near the vtec solenoid?

Solenoid is a gray plug?
Pressure Sensor is a green plug, or is it the actual oil pressure sensor on the back of the block?
OBV the knock sensor is the knock sensor...
demortey@mac.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:16 AM   #5
demortey@mac.co
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 196
demortey@mac.co is cool... so far.
ook... i'm a dumbass with the oil leak. it was the balance shaft service plug that was leaking because i didnt put it back in. Its in now and all is good there. It still comes up with code 22... all the wiring is good. is it possible that the oil pressure sensor is bad? or could it have something to do with the fact that there isnt a knock sensor on the engine yet?
demortey@mac.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:32 AM   #6
Shag Wagon
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 1,655
Shag Wagon is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Shag Wagon
If you dont have a knock sensor on its going to run like shit anyways...from what I know.
Shag Wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:25 PM   #7
Losiracer2
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: AZ & MI
Posts: 7,191
Losiracer2 seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to Losiracer2
you checked timing and all that right?
__________________

member's ride thread
93' EX Coupe H22A w/ P2T4 Sir 5spd 191whp 155 wtq
97' Lexus LS400 291k miles.....Luxury Cruiser DD
89' SEi Coupe 42k miles one owner museum find
Losiracer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:52 PM   #8
demortey@mac.co
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 196
demortey@mac.co is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Losiracer2 View Post
you checked timing and all that right?
thats funny... i was just about to post up and say that the no balls thing was the timing WAYYY out. guess that's what you get for pulling 2 all-nighters in a row tryin to get ur car running so you can leave work haha.

still have the code 22 problem but it's not worth dealing with until my knock sensor gets here. she's runnin great tho
demortey@mac.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:16 PM   #9
jimmybean21
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: baltimore, maryland
Posts: 1,048
jimmybean21 may have said something they shouldn't have...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shag Wagon View Post
If you dont have a knock sensor on its going to run like shit anyways...from what I know.
not true i did a h22 swap around christmas time and i don't have a knock sensor and my car runs fine no problem at all and no lose of power. the code for the knock sensor is 23 i think code 22 is the map sensor, but dont qoute me on that.
jimmybean21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:25 PM   #10
jimmybean21
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: baltimore, maryland
Posts: 1,048
jimmybean21 may have said something they shouldn't have...
correction code 22 is v-tech pressure switch
jimmybean21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 01:00 AM   #11
Losiracer2
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: AZ & MI
Posts: 7,191
Losiracer2 seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to Losiracer2
Quote:
Originally Posted by demortey@mac.co View Post
thats funny... i was just about to post up and say that the no balls thing was the timing WAYYY out. guess that's what you get for pulling 2 all-nighters in a row tryin to get ur car running so you can leave work haha.

still have the code 22 problem but it's not worth dealing with until my knock sensor gets here. she's runnin great tho
yeah the timing REALLY affects how the car drives. I learned that the hard way w/ my car (messed w/ it too much and it almost killed itself out one time w/ the lack of power)
__________________

member's ride thread
93' EX Coupe H22A w/ P2T4 Sir 5spd 191whp 155 wtq
97' Lexus LS400 291k miles.....Luxury Cruiser DD
89' SEi Coupe 42k miles one owner museum find
Losiracer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 01:57 AM   #12
Loafer987
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vernon B.C. Canada
Posts: 89
Loafer987 is cool... so far.
Did you convert the swap from obd2? obd2 engines dont have vtec pressure switch. Just splice the wire the runs to the vtec pressure switch on the ecu to the vtec selenoid wire. This way when the ecu tells the vtec to engage it also sees proper oil pressure. (or thinks it does) This is exactly what I did with my swap and it works like a dream.
Keep in mind this will only work until the ecu detects that there is no knock sensor. Once you have a knock sensor it will be perfect.
Let me know how this works out.
__________________

^Click Me!^
Loafer987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 12:42 PM   #13
demortey@mac.co
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 196
demortey@mac.co is cool... so far.
no, i didn't convert it. it came out of a ba8, so it would have already been converted if it needed to be. the vtec oil pressure switch has the same green connector as all the coolant temp sensors? is this right?
demortey@mac.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 01:55 PM   #14
zacatecas
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 428
zacatecas is cool... so far.
check your puter maybe someone moved it when they sat on the passenger thats what happen to me so i had it checked and it was the connection to the puter that was loose.
zacatecas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 05:16 PM   #15
demortey@mac.co
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 196
demortey@mac.co is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacatecas View Post
check your puter maybe someone moved it when they sat on the passenger thats what happen to me so i had it checked and it was the connection to the puter that was loose.
the connection is good. i checked it with a meter, and everything is good. the sensor is grounded. nobody's sat in teh pass seat. i'm wondering if that oil switch could be bad.

edit: hmm... i just disconnected the vtec solenoid and the pressure sensor and i now have codes 21(vtec solenoid) 22(pressure) and 23(knock sensor). maybe i have the pressure sensor and knock wires crossed...

edit again: the wires are all right.

Last edited by demortey@mac.co; 04-11-2009 at 08:14 PM.
demortey@mac.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.