ENG: Oil Pan Gasket- Clearing up some Confusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ENG: Oil Pan Gasket- Clearing up some Confusion

I know there are a few threads that talk about the oil pan gasket and what fun it is to change. I did mine today, 3-4 hours not so bad, BUT there was a lot left out in the other posts. Even Shop-Key was less than helpful.

Same thing, I'm no expert Mechanic, but was able to do this in a few hours - Start to Clean up - But if you forget to refill the oil, or otherwise blow up your car - Its not MY fault.

A little background on my CB - '90 EX 5-speed (there, very little)

First - The tail pipe DOES need to be removed. This was breifly stated in Shop Key and in a thread here. I sprayed the hell outta the nuts connecting the exhaust mani & the tail pipe w/ WD-40, waited 20 minutes and used a breaker bar to pop those suckers off. Unfortunately, that leaves a lot of residue on the mani when you start it up later and allows for a nice smoke show.

Second - the engine crossbar, dogbone looking thing that runs under the oil pan also has to come off.

Oh - Dont forget to drain the oil & replace the filter...

Now that those are off, Haynes & Shop-Key would have think that a few bolts pulled and the oil pan just comes off, not so fast... there is a dust plate covering the flywheel that has to come off (at least there is on the EX) that is in the way of the oil pan by about a 1/2 inch. There are three bolts in that plate, one of which is hidden behind another small crossbar, about 6" long w/ 3 bolts (both of these pieces are on the passenger side near the front of the oil pan)

Now that all that crap is out of the way you can drop the pan, scrape, pull, and tear the old gasket out. Clean up (mostly so you can see the new leaks when you tighten the new gasket down to far) and then put the new gasket on, replace the pan, dust cover, small crossbar, engine crossbar, and tail pipe. Clean off the WD-40 and you should be good to go.