Solved / fix alternator whine , Finally

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Solved / fix alternator whine , Finally

I would like to shared some of my experience, which might help someone.

It has been years trying to figure out my alternator whine issue. Especially on a 21 year old car. In addition, I am still a novice to car audio.

I tried everything, such as:
    • Separating the power wires
    • Placing RCAs on opposite sides.
    • Trying multiple ground locations with the paint removed.
    • Grounding the head-unit to another spot other than the OEM location
    • Removing the antenna wire completely
    • Disconnecting and unpinning any extra wires from the head-unit harness.
    • Rerouted my Big3 connections in the engine bay multiple times.
    • Tried different AMPs
    • Tried different RCAs
    • Tried different Power Cables and Ground Cables
    • Even installed a new alternator, which really needed to be replaced.

The main culprit was my head-unit.The fix was the RCA connections shielding not being grounded. I tried the pioneer fix (wire wrap) and it worked except it grounds to my amp. It was not grounding to my head-unit.

So I came across BCAE1 (http://bcae1.com/images/rca/temporar...eldrepair.html) and discovered that there is a second fuse inside the head-unit just like the pioneer. It has nothing to do with the fuse on the outside of the head-unit either. The fuse on the outside is perfectly fine.

So I completely disassemble the head-unit, and shined a light on the circuit board. I took a good look near the RCAs, focusing on the ground connections.After a few minutes, I found a burnt trace which in my case is the internal fuse.

Luckily, I have only 1 internal fuse. I went with BCAE1 suggestion and installed a real fuse. I chose a 1 AMP slow blow fuse inline with a jumper wire, and solder them in.