CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Performance Tech > Naturally Aspirated

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2005, 08:19 PM   #1
flacopower
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Mary's, MD
Posts: 1,193
flacopower is cool... so far.
ground wire kits

alright i already did a search and came up with nothing useful... anyways i have seen the ground wire kits on ebay for pretty cheap. why exactly would a ground wire kit be an upgrade? isn't the honda ground kit efficient enough? and how many hp can be expected to be gained? i know you get what you pay for, but are any of the ebay ground kits worth the money?
flacopower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 08:25 PM   #2
93accord2dr
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,356
93accord2dr is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to 93accord2dr
it all depends on the gauge of the wire that is used. wire which is larger in diameter will give you the best performance.

You can expect about 2-3hp and 2-3tq increase.

Also, you might notice an increase in gas milage, as well as a better idle.
93accord2dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 08:33 PM   #3
flacopower
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Mary's, MD
Posts: 1,193
flacopower is cool... so far.
now the 2-3 hp increase, is these with the ebay ones or with $300 ones?? and how hard of a install is it?
flacopower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 08:45 PM   #4
mayberry
queefmaster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 8foh5 NY
Posts: 2,383
mayberry is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to mayberry
well....think of it this way...that good wire u use to ground 1k dollar amps....use that. its relatively cheap, and make your own grounds....adding more will never hurt.
__________________
Finally Up and Running. Numbers to Follow. Check my MR
mayberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 08:59 PM   #5
flacopower
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Mary's, MD
Posts: 1,193
flacopower is cool... so far.
aiight noob time:
how would i make my own grounds? and how much of an upgrade would the amp wire be over OEM honda wires??
flacopower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:15 PM   #6
mayberry
queefmaster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 8foh5 NY
Posts: 2,383
mayberry is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to mayberry
well, you can clean up your oem wires....get all the corrosion off. and clean up the mating surfaces at the same time. and amp wire is a thicker better grade of wire. just pick solid peices on your engine. such as your distributor, a tranny case bolt, altenator bracket...and ground them to the chassis where there already are bolt holes...I.E where theres already a bolt holding something down so you dont have to drill and tap new holes, making life much easier....
__________________
Finally Up and Running. Numbers to Follow. Check my MR
mayberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:33 PM   #7
mayberry
queefmaster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 8foh5 NY
Posts: 2,383
mayberry is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to mayberry
its been proven on honda tech a few times.....i said the same thing at first.
__________________
Finally Up and Running. Numbers to Follow. Check my MR
mayberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:35 PM   #8
i_love_cb7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 959
i_love_cb7 is cool... so far.
where are the stock ground wires?
__________________

Great achievements result from great effort
i_love_cb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:52 PM   #9
FishyMan
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: HI
Posts: 1,635
FishyMan is cool... so far.
will someone please buy me a set of 'black colored' ones and send to hawaii i dont wanan pay $30 PLUS for them.. and making them will cost more..
FishyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 10:50 PM   #10
93accord2dr
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,356
93accord2dr is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to 93accord2dr
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveB
Why? From where? Have you dynoed that?
Or are you just regurgitating advertizing claims?
dyno charts on many different types of cars, all with the same results, and a butt dyno.

so stfu.
93accord2dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 09:52 PM   #11
flacopower
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Mary's, MD
Posts: 1,193
flacopower is cool... so far.
man this sounds like a great DIY!! someone should do a write up!
flacopower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 10:50 AM   #12
HondaFan81
Honda Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,128
HondaFan81 seems to have made some friends! HondaFan81 seems to have made some friends!
Wouldn't it be optimal, to ground all the various engine parts you all speak of to the SAME grounding point on the chassis? That's why I'd like to make or find a steel/iron block that fastens to the firewall or fender, etc to commonly ground all these parts to and not just pick random/different grounding points on the chassis.
HondaFan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:11 PM   #13
Michalob
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilkes-Barre (North-Eastern, PA)
Posts: 229
Michalob is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Michalob
i acually replaced my old ground wire. wherever i found a ground it was some crappy 16 guage pathetic stuff. replaced it some decent 8 guage wire. and surprising, i beleive i noticed a difference. a little peppier than normal. i could be wrong, i know my car has its good days and bad days. but hey. worth a shot IMO.
__________________


Michalob's CB7
Michalob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 06:12 PM   #14
accrdpower
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,279
accrdpower is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to accrdpower
yea ground wires kits r a good mod to make...easy and helps alot of things out not just power. o and i am gonna go with a 4gauge wire. the bigger the better. remember...u get what u pay for!! i found that out the hard way several times. hp gains weill be anywhere from 2-5 and same for TQ depending on size and condition of old stock peice o crap wires.
accrdpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.