CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Swaps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-17-2004, 12:57 PM   #1
krakakru21
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 447
krakakru21 is cool... so far.
f22b1 motor

i know that i can do the head swap onto our cars but is the whole motor possible? i have heard it is but not many people do it, why it that?
__________________
www.rms-usa.com
krakakru21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:04 PM   #2
BustedLX
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,211
BustedLX is cool... so far.
Because it's a mission, not really worth it. It can be done though, I've done it.
BustedLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:18 PM   #3
krakakru21
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 447
krakakru21 is cool... so far.
do you have any pics of the swap? i want to do the swap because my bottom end of my f22a4 the piston rings are gone and i have a full f22b1 sitting at home. i want to put it in but i donm't know how hard it is to do it.
__________________
www.rms-usa.com
krakakru21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:52 PM   #4
Importkitz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV and Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 232
Importkitz is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Importkitz
Why dont you just swap the F22b1 into your car?
__________________
Stolen out of Circuit City Parking Lot :
*RIP*
1993 Accord EX Coupe
1995 JDM H22a w/LSD Auto

New love of my life:
1993 Accord EX Coupe
Jet Black w/Tan Leather Interior
JDM H22A w/5 spd H22A Tranny
I love it when VTEC kicks in!
vroommmm...*VTEC*...VROOMMMMMM!
Importkitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 03:51 PM   #5
BustedLX
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,211
BustedLX is cool... so far.
I have to upload the pix to my server so I'll do it later but it's not hard at all.

All you need to do is swap over the drivers side mount and mount bracket from the F22Ax over to the B1, wire in the Vtec, and swap the EGR and O2 pins on the ECU plug, I think it's like A6 and A11.
BustedLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 07:17 PM   #6
Kabuki
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 437
Kabuki is cool... so far.
I'm doing it this weekend... I'll keep y'all posted...
__________________
Visit us at http://www.valleyspecialists.com for all of your Honda and Acura service needs!
Kabuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 08:50 PM   #7
Importkitz
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV and Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 232
Importkitz is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Importkitz
If you are placing a Head with VTEC on to a block that is non-VTEC, there different pathways for oil. If oil doesnt reach certain places, VTEC won't kick in, and you might ruin your head.

I think you have to tap the oil pan and run 2 different lines one to the block and one for VTEC.

I do not know this from experience but I've read the story about the first LS-VTEC engine.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks.
__________________
Stolen out of Circuit City Parking Lot :
*RIP*
1993 Accord EX Coupe
1995 JDM H22a w/LSD Auto

New love of my life:
1993 Accord EX Coupe
Jet Black w/Tan Leather Interior
JDM H22A w/5 spd H22A Tranny
I love it when VTEC kicks in!
vroommmm...*VTEC*...VROOMMMMMM!
Importkitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 10:13 PM   #8
BustedLX
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,211
BustedLX is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally posted by Importkitz
If you are placing a Head with VTEC on to a block that is non-VTEC, there different pathways for oil. If oil doesnt reach certain places, VTEC won't kick in, and you might ruin your head.
That's not the case with the F/H series. That's a B series thing.
BustedLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 02:40 PM   #9
tommi
Accord of the Month: August 2011
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: a town of none ya damned business.
Posts: 5,389
tommi seems to have made some friends!
by the way what is the spec of the f22b engine anyways?
like horsepower and all that good stuff?
i found one for $775 is it worth it,
is a f22b JDM by the way?
would i be able to keep the f22a tranny and use the f22b engine or would the f20b be a better fit?

the pic below is a f20b

COLBALT CB7 2NER
tommi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 12:07 PM   #10
krakakru21
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 447
krakakru21 is cool... so far.
kabuki were you able to do the swap this past weekend? also bustedlx can you upload the pics so i can have some type of idea about the swap. also do all the vacuum lines go into the same spots as the f22a4? does anyone have the vacuum diagram for the f22b1?
__________________
www.rms-usa.com
krakakru21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 12:39 PM   #11
PRIMOCB7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NYC-->Queens-->Rockville Centre-->NYC
Posts: 2,443
PRIMOCB7 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to PRIMOCB7
Quote:
Originally posted by tommi
by the way what is the spec of the f22b engine anyways?
like horsepower and all that good stuff?
i found one for $775 is it worth it,
is a f22b JDM by the way?
would i be able to keep the f22a tranny and use the f22b engine or would the f20b be a better fit?
specs for the jdm f22b dohc:
160hp / 148tq
9.2 compression / bore - 85mm / stroke - 95mm

u can use any f/h series tranny on any f/h swaps..if u wanna spend the extra $$$, easier to go w/ a h22a, IMO
PRIMOCB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 01:06 PM   #12
accord9004
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 35
accord9004 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to accord9004 Send a message via Yahoo to accord9004
Quote:
Originally posted by PRIMOCB7
specs for the jdm f22b dohc:
160hp / 148tq
9.2 compression / bore - 85mm / stroke - 95mm

u can use any f/h series tranny on any f/h swaps..if u wanna spend the extra $$$, easier to go w/ a h22a, IMO
yep, right on, because the jdm f22b is basically the usdm h23a1


if the OP wants to do a head swap, go to www.accordinglydone.com and search for headswap, andrew was the first to pull it off with a p28 ecu i think......
accord9004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 09:03 PM   #13
Kabuki
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 437
Kabuki is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally posted by krakakru21
kabuki were you able to do the swap this past weekend? also bustedlx can you upload the pics so i can have some type of idea about the swap. also do all the vacuum lines go into the same spots as the f22a4? does anyone have the vacuum diagram for the f22b1?
Well, due to a bad counter-shaft in my transmission (the main reason for the swap) the car is not yet running. I should have the shaft tomorrow though, and then we'll be in business. So far what I've found: The head is wider, so the power steering bracket sticks out a little farther, which then prevents installation of the alternator bracket without modding the Alt. bracket or replacing the P/S bracket. The dipstick tubes are different, and the B1 block doesn't have the ear to bolt on the old tube, so I had to mod mine to fit. The B1 front engine mount bracket won't bolt to the mount itself, so we tried the B1 mount, but it's too wide, too long and too high. The A6 bracket can't be used because (without modding it) it rides too close to the timing belt and would end up hitting. The t-stat housing is WAY different on the VTECs, which I hadn't anticipated, so make sure to get an intake manifold with the housing already on it. More to come...
__________________
Visit us at http://www.valleyspecialists.com for all of your Honda and Acura service needs!
Kabuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 10:20 PM   #14
WeDgE
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 390
WeDgE is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally posted by accord9004
yep, right on, because the jdm f22b is basically the usdm h23a1


if the OP wants to do a head swap, go to www.accordinglydone.com and search for headswap, andrew was the first to pull it off with a p28 ecu i think......
Andrew didn't complete the headswap, he simply posted a thread showing that it could be done.
__________________
WeDgE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 10:36 PM   #15
BustedLX
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,211
BustedLX is cool... so far.
Here are the pix of the F22B1 in my LX.




The Dip stick isn't really an issue, I made a bracket for mine and it worked out great, The Driver's side mount also isn't a big deal at all. If you just use the F22Ax braket and mount it works out perfectly, you just can't use one bolt. I didn't have an issue with the PS, Alt, or A/C I used all my F22Ax parts.

Anything else?
BustedLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:41 PM   #16
krakakru21
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 447
krakakru21 is cool... so far.
did you have any issues with the vacuum lines? on the f22a4 the lines are different than the f22b1. i can't really get a good look in the pics. also i heard that i have to extend the o2 sensor wires by 12-14 inches and the MAP sensor wires. let me know what i am in store for because i have to do it in 2 days so i don't want anything unexpected but when you do a swap there will always be something unexpected. thanks for the help.
__________________
www.rms-usa.com
krakakru21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:02 PM   #17
BustedLX
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,211
BustedLX is cool... so far.
I didn't extend the O2 sensor, The only change I had to make to the harness was with the EGR's plug. It has the Prelude round style plug. But you could easily over come that by just using your F22Ax EGR.

As for the vacum lines it was no big deal. You connect them to the F22B1 just as you would on the Ax, You know 20/24 go to Vacum, one to Vacum for the CC, 16 to the EGR, 3 to the Canister, and the last one to the Map (13 I think). The only thin I did was make a small barb out of brass so I could use the 4th gen's map sensor in the box instead of the on TB design the 5th gen has. No big deal really. It's just these little things that make you think and most times develop cool little solutions.
BustedLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:32 PM   #18
Kabuki
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 437
Kabuki is cool... so far.
I ended up getting the TB MAP sensor, because those tend to be more accurate, even though the other one would work fine...
__________________
Visit us at http://www.valleyspecialists.com for all of your Honda and Acura service needs!
Kabuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 04:14 PM   #19
accord9004
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 35
accord9004 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to accord9004 Send a message via Yahoo to accord9004
Quote:
Originally posted by WeDgE
Andrew didn't complete the headswap, he simply posted a thread showing that it could be done.
Uhm, yeah he did......

http://www.accordinglydone.com/forum...&threadid=1526

__________________
My CB7 is a REAL race car.

PMG Motorsports
Synergy Advertising Racing #74 Honda Accord
accord9004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2004, 11:21 PM   #20
krakakru21
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 447
krakakru21 is cool... so far.
well i finished my f22b1 motor swap tonight. i started on friday night after work and got finished with everything tonight. it starts up and runs great. no coolant leaks or oil leaks. the oil pressure is running at a solid 15 psi(autometer gauge). i took my time on it that is why it took so long. now the problems i ran into were: the downpipe for the manifold was short about 3 inches, i had to extend the o2 sensor wires by 12-14 inches because the hole was at the end of the downpipe instead of being in the manifold itself, dipstick is different, had to get different throttle cable. i installed my new motor mounts which i filled with polyurethane and i did my camgear. plans for the motor are unsure of right now i am just glad i got the swap done. if i knew how to host pics i would of the before and after but i don't. i will be able to drive it wednsday because i am waiting on a sensor that was broken. i will let everyone know how i like it. i am also going to install a VENOM 400 control module. the help that is given on this forum helped me out tremedously because everyone knows what they are talking about. thanks alot for the input everyone shared.
__________________
www.rms-usa.com
krakakru21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.