Buffers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buffers?

Alright, does anybody use buffers (esp. the random orbital ones) to help wax their cars? I noticed they're pretty cheap, and I bet they would save me a load of time and frustration. Any comments on whether or not I should invest in one? My only concern is messing up the paint by using it improperly, as I've never used one before.

Type G and now me as well, use the Orbital Buffer from Porter Cable. Check out Type Gs DIY on using it.

Black Housing DIY 1991 Wagon Morimoto Retrofit
    JDM One-Piece Headlight Lens Repair

Comment

Pick you up a PC 7424 or 7336 (pretty much the same, just different counter weights). It is best purchase you can get for your car's finish.

It's best used to polish and compound with. Some people use it for waxing and it greatly increases the ease and decreases the time to wax. However, some still like to wax by hand. It's all a matter of preference.

Originally posted by Maple50175
      Oh here we go again. Maples other half.

Comment

Go with the porter cable. I've been meaning to buy one for like 3 years now, but I always borrow my friend's PC instead, so I've put off buying one.

Comment

So the only difference between Porter's 7424 and 7336 is the counterweight's weight? I noticed the 7336 (SP) is listed as a "sander with polishing pad" while the 7424 is listed as a true "polisher". Also, any suggestions on where to get one? And what about just getting a Craftsman orbital buffer for $20 (only single-speed)? Is it worth the extra money to get the Porter?

Comment

Originally posted by cjv998
            So the only difference between Porter's 7424 and 7336 is the counterweight's weight? I noticed the 7336 (SP) is listed as a "sander with polishing pad" while the 7424 is listed as a true "polisher".