Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

***no, your shaking is not related to your alignment in any way (and other shit)***

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

***no, your shaking is not related to your alignment in any way (and other shit)***

first off, i have a few years of experience aligning cars.....everything from festivas to $200,000 porsches...my dad taught me a lot and was ranked #1 and #2 for 7 straight years by Goodyear, Inc for his alignment skills and went out as the #1 alignment tech in the USA when he opened his own business in 1993.......the same basic principles apply to all cars, the only differing factors are:

1) customer's preference
    2) type of settings you can alter with or without aftermarket help
    3) the amount of alteration

now, people seem to think that a shaking steering wheel means you have bad alignment settings, but that is VERY WRONG....shaking is usually related to tires or rotors.......theoretically, if you had every part of your front end in horrible shape, it could possibly let your wheel skip down the road in a near sideways position, but thing is, it would have broken something far before this could ever occur.....so no, your bad alignment isn't causing your car or steering wheel to shake.......it CAN cause your tires to wear incorrectly, and then force the belts inside to break/seperate and in turn your tire will cause the shaking.......sometimes your cv shafts can warp or wear funny, and you may get shaking ONLY during acceleration....if it's the cv joints, it will stop when you let off the gas

or if you only get shaking when you hit the brakes, then that is your rotors...they are warped......brakes get hot, they then will warp the rotors and make it a bit wavy, and that will cause the shaking during stopping