H23 head vs. F20SI head

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

H23 head vs. F20SI head

Ok I have burnt valves on my H23. I had found an F20SI head for cheap at $100 dollars. From what I had heard it is almost identical but not exactly the same. I was wondering what exactly is different about it and is this a direct-bolt- on to my H23 block? If so, what do I need to look out for?

Thanks in Advance.
    Last edited by BLUBB2; 01-26-2009, 01:53 PM.
    www.PreludePower.com
    BB SQUAD MEMBER #28 V.2

im no expert by all means, but if its 2.0 head on a 2.2 wont it raise your compression higher by alot? or possibly have the piston contact the head? just sounds like something that would happen....

Comment

Not super knowledgeable w/ franks but I do know that the F20A DOHC and F22B DOHC share the same head, H23A1 is different. H23 uses a larger bore and I think, maybe 1 extra oil passage? There's a thread around on these ^ heads, plus compare the diff's from the H23 VS F22B DOHC headswap, that'll help.

Comment

The H23 is a P14 Casting, The F22B Dohc and F20A dohc are both PT2 castings.

The water ports in the head are different from the h23. The PT2 head will bolt up fine but you might have to match which head gasket is right. The PT2 heads will bolt onto the f22a block and use the f22a head gasket just fine though.

Comment

^and there you have it folks

Comment

Originally posted by bruno8747 View Post

The water ports in the head are different from the h23. The PT2 head will bolt up fine but you might have to match which head gasket is right. The PT2 heads will bolt onto the f22a block and use the f22a head gasket just fine though.

So is the only issue I have is matching the the headgasket to the H23 block?.Will the different water ports affect anything?
            Sorry for all the questions,but I what to see what Im getting into before I purchase the head.
            www.PreludePower.com
            BB SQUAD MEMBER #28 V.2

Comment