Jobs...Jobs...Jobs....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Jobs...Jobs...Jobs....

First off I never blog. This will probly be the only time you see this but I gotta see what other people think.

So I have been a volunteer firefighter/emt for about 8yrs now. I have been trying to get a job as a paid firefighter for quite a while but it always seems that I'm not connected to the right people, not related to, or just not kissing a$$ to the right people.

I went for an interview in April to a fire dept at Fort Bragg Military Base. It went well and I received the job offer. I will be a civilian firefighter on the base and make VERY good money. The catch is I am required to take atleast 2 classes per semester towards getting my bachlors degree, and maintain a 2.5GPA or higher to stay employed. No big deal there. Right now I am on my 3rd week waiting for them to schedule me a time to go take a drug test and have a physical done (aka doc gets to poke and prod at me).

In the mean time I have still been applying at other places, because well I have to cover my a$$ no matter what and nothing is set in stone as of yet.

It is 9:17am right now and I have an interview at 11am at a small department but I know 2 guys that already work there. I aced their PT test a few weeks ago, and their written exam. So now I have an interview. The pay is ok, not the best, but better than I'm making right now with my current job. This would be no strings attached except getting my rescue technician certification (which I'll have to do where-ever I get a job) and water rescue certifications.