Becoming a car salesman

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Becoming a car salesman

I know there have probably been a post or two about this, but I might have the chance at being a car salesman at a Hyundai dealership. My friend is the manager there and he told me that they are hiring. I have just graduated University and I am looking for a job. I do have a part-time job at the same place for the last 3 years, but I'm looking for something else.
    As I see it, in maybe becoming a salesman I have nothing to loose. I need a job and if it doesn't work out then that is quite okay with me and I'll look for another job. I guess I just see this as an opportunity to maybe do alright financially. I have no experience in car sales and I told my friend that and he said that is what they are looking for because they provide all the necessary training. Just wondering if anyone here has had experience or knows someone who has done this? Thanks

SOLD!!
    Boosted H22
    375whp 298 ft/lbs at 15psi

MEMBERS RIDE THREAD<<<CLICK FOR VIDS AND COOL PICS

My stepfather used to own a Chrysler dealership.

Basically, a car salesman just needs to know how to sell... he doesn't need to know much about the cars. In fact, a salesman that's too technically minded might confuse or scare away potential buyers! If you go for it... set aside all you know. Accept the fact that people will make their decisions based more on the cupholders than the engine's variable valve timing.

You can do fairly well as a car salesman. Hyundai is diversifying, offering cheapie efficient cars, some decent performance cars, and some decent near-luxury cars. If they continue to grow as they have been, it could be a very good company to get in with.