Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

manual antenna?

OK...here's my deal...

I had the usual problem wit hthe factory power antenna on my CB7. So, we junked that set-up and put a wimpy rubbery one on. To make a long story short...it looks ***. So, i was wondering if any companies made an antenna that looks like the factory one but you can manually pull it up and push it down. OR if I just got a new power one. But the problem is that when I turn on the head unit (CD player unit) that the antenna will go up. So how would I adjust that? Thanks in advance...and i hope it wasn't hard to follow.

plus...how much will a new power antenna set-up run me?
    + '93 Accord EX - CB7 - Frost White w/ Dark Blue = teh s0ld (ilikebigbutts)

2006 Cobalt SS - 2004 Monte Carlo SS - 1990 CRX Si

. Snail Squad .

well if you get the old one back, just put a switch instead of it running off the headunit, and switch it up and down.

Comment

I'm new to this audio stuff...how would you run it through a switch?

. Snail Squad .

Comment

instead of hooking up the antenna to the remote wire of the stereo, you would just run a switch like you would to hook up lights or whatnot. Run a power and a ground to the switch, and then hook the antenna to the accessory hookup of the switch, problem solved. then when you want it up, switch it on, and then when you want it down, switch it off. should be that simple, as long as im not forgetting something obvious here.
        2010 Taurus SHO - Livernois Goodies
        2002 BMW 330 CI Convertible - HUNK OF JUNK

Comment

Yeah, Chessboxer, you got it right. Umm, do you have any of the parts of the old power one? Or did you ditch it all?

New masts off ebay are around 25 bucks shipped, and I have a motor part(everything but the mast) sitting in my garage since I shaved mine off for a cleaner look. It works good, just has no mast. If ya need the motor assy. I'll sell it for 25+shipping.

Comment