INT: Repairing coupe rear glove box/compartments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

INT: Repairing coupe rear glove box/compartments

Here is my DIY. Hope you guys find it helpful.

PROBLEM:

I can barely remember when my passenger side rear glove box closed all the way. After fixing a couple other things on my car, I decided to tackle the glove box next but I couldn't find any DIY already posted. Referencing the service manual and the online parts catalog diagrams, I set to fix it once and for all.

Basically, it looks like I lost the peg that holds the lid of the glove box to the body at the pivot point. It looked like this:

This is how it is supposed to look like:

Whenever I had passengers in the back, they'd always think they could fix it. You could press it down and it might stay for a while due to friction or whatnot, but after a while, it'd just pop back up because it was missing the peg.

SOLUTION:

I am by no means an expert DIYer so I tend to make with what I have and try to make the best of it. Therefore, I highly advise that you do not do what I did to "fix" the glove box. I'm just hoping that these instructions will help you guys get to the point of accessing the glove box but from there, any solution will probably be better than mine.

Summary:

1. Remove back set
    2. Remove side panel
    3. Remove glove box
    4. Fix glove box
    5. Put everything back

Details:

1. Follow the instructions in this post to remove the entire back seat. You actually need to remove both cushions in order to access the screws needed to remove the side panel. I didn't take any pictures of this process because 1) I wasn't patient enough and 2) because zipcreature called dibs on the DIY.