Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

condensor and radiator fan turning on after engine shutdown

hello,
    i am a medium skilled mechanic on my ride. joining the cb7tuner.com family has helped me tremendously.

now, just going through my daily cb7 thread reading to up my game on accord knowledge. i came across the below thread about fans not working.
    http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=171056

when i read one of the responses from benjerman112, it alarmed me because that is happening to me currently. someone please give this stupid cb7 owner some clif notes and/or dumb it down from what JAMES MATTEU responded on how the fan works. do i have a problem that needs to be tended to?

here is what is happening to mine. when i kill my engine, the fan turns on immediately. from what i can hear of the general location of the fan, it is the left fan, which is the condensor. right? if not, the left fan. lol. i have noticed it turn on immediately, but i didn't pay no mind or show concern because temperature gauge is normal position; no rise. i have a F22A engine. radiator fluid is new. thermostat about a year old. i have never changed out a switch because i have never ran into this problem if it is a problem.

am i being paranoid?

if the smoking gun is the switch, should i stick with the OEM or do i buy one from napa or autozone, or Oreillys?

Comment

How long does the fan run? Wile none of mine tend to come on immediately after shutdown, the switches are still active with the engine shut off so that if the temperature rises (soak back), they can and will still turn the fans on after shut down to help cool things off. If it comes on immediately, it may be switching on at a lower temperature than normal which shouldn't be a problem. Can you tell if it coming on a lot while driving?
      90 LX 4dr 5 spd 396,014 (sold 1/1/2022) - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=201450