CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2017, 10:12 PM   #1
Rat
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 23
Rat is cool... so far.
1991 TCU in 1992 Accord

So I finally got my Accord running after three months. Started with bad fuel, then a bad distributor. Finally got around to fixing everything. My next issue is that the D4 light is on but not throwing any codes. The automatic transmission is acting like there is an issue with the TCU. Back when I had my 1991 Accord EX, I had to change the computer. Unfortunately that car died, but I kept the good TCU in it.

My question is, will the TCU from the 1991 Accord work in my 1992 accord?
Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 12:17 AM   #2
Rat
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 23
Rat is cool... so far.
So I bit the bullet and did the swap. It works, but the D4 light doenst come on when shifted into it. I srill have all gears but the light doesnt come on. Does this have to do with the 1991 having that button on the shifer?
Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 05:10 PM   #3
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Chester, Ohio
Posts: 2,277
fleetw00d seems to have made some friends! fleetw00d seems to have made some friends!
Probably. While it works with the 91 TCU, get on ebay, search for TCU repair service by "mandigital". Send him yours, he repairs it and ships it back very quickly with lifetime guarantee for $75. He repaired two of mine last year, both working fine.
__________________
90 LX 4dr 5 spd 362,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=201450
93 LX wagon auto 241,000 MRT:http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=208490
92 EX coupe auto 167,000 - MRT:http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=205114

LOTS of CB7 parts for sale http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=192583

Working to relink my pictures. Please be patient. If there is one you particularly want to see, let me know.
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 07:04 PM   #4
oni_cb7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ca
Posts: 478
oni_cb7 is cool... so far.
You are exactly correct. 92-93 autos do not have the Sport mode that is on the 90-91 models. The TCU will kind of work, but it's not the correct TCU. Get yours fixed or get a new one.
oni_cb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 04:40 PM   #5
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,005
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
The 90-91 TCU throws error codes through the S light, whereas the 92-93 TCU throws error codes through the D4 light. I assume your D4 light stopped working because the wiring is different.

You'd be better off getting another 92-93 TCU, or getting your old one repaired as fleetw00d suggested. The one you're using now will work, but it's best not to use it long-term. At the very least, you may not be able to see error codes should they arise. It's very possible that you had a bad TCU AND transmission issues that are throwing codes.
Treat your current TCU as a stopgap, not a permanent solution. Otherwise, you may end up with more expensive issues on your hands.
__________________
BUY MY STUFF!!!
NEW PRICES ADDED 09/24/2016

AEM TruTime cam gears (H22A), DSM 450cc injectors, Eaton M45 superchrager






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 05:41 PM   #6
Rat
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 23
Rat is cool... so far.
Thanks for the input. I decided to repair it and it works great now. I didn't like how it was with the other one. Now my next question. Should I put my spare PT3 ECU in it instead of the stock LX ecu?

Thanks.
Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 05:52 PM   #7
oni_cb7
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ca
Posts: 478
oni_cb7 is cool... so far.
Is the PT3 chipped and running a tune that will run your motor correctly? If not, then just use the stock ECU.
oni_cb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.