CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Parts & Performance > Swaps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2011, 01:45 PM   #1
Hostile
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,767
Hostile is cool... so far.
No VTEC presure switch!

Well I'm finishing up the prep work for the install and I notice I have no VTEC presure switch. My engines born date is Dec 95 so its ob1. How do I go about getting it to work couse I know VTEC won't work without it.
__________________
2013 Honda Fit Sport Alabaster Silver Metallic GE8
2013 Accord Sport Modern Steel Metallic CR2

CB9 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...hlight=hostile
CR2 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=197787
GE8 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=199289
Hostile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 02:34 PM   #2
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,533
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
You sure it's not an OBD2 F22B1? They never came with a pressure switch. IIRC they where manufactured in late 95....for sale in the 96 chassis, OBD2.

What ECU are you using?

If it is a stock OBD1 P0A you will have to find an OBD1 (94-95 chassis) VTEC pressure switch, remove the plug, install the switch and wire it up. If you are running a chipped OBD1 ECU you can disable the oil pressure check in the tuning software. Or you could take the long route and convert to OBD2 and run the stock P0A ECU.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 02:59 PM   #3
Hostile
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,767
Hostile is cool... so far.
The ecu is a jdm p13. The only place there is to fit a plug is were the dizzy is located at, so they both won't fit. Was the vtec solenoid not needed on ob2 motors?
__________________
2013 Honda Fit Sport Alabaster Silver Metallic GE8
2013 Accord Sport Modern Steel Metallic CR2

CB9 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...hlight=hostile
CR2 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=197787
GE8 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=199289
Hostile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 03:03 PM   #4
Hostile
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,767
Hostile is cool... so far.
The engine is a h22. The ecu is a jdm p13. The only place there is to fit a plug is were the dizzy is located at, so they both won't fit. Was the vtec solenoid not needed on ob2 motors?
__________________
2013 Honda Fit Sport Alabaster Silver Metallic GE8
2013 Accord Sport Modern Steel Metallic CR2

CB9 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...hlight=hostile
CR2 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=197787
GE8 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=199289
Hostile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 03:27 PM   #5
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,533
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
OK so it's an H22....should have asked that first I guess. Just assumed F22 as some of them do not have pressure switches. as well IIRC the JDM H22's do not. If you are running a JDM engine with a JDM ECU you will not require the pressure sensor.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:26 PM   #6
Hostile
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,767
Hostile is cool... so far.
That would be sweet, hopefully that's all that will be required.
__________________
2013 Honda Fit Sport Alabaster Silver Metallic GE8
2013 Accord Sport Modern Steel Metallic CR2

CB9 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...hlight=hostile
CR2 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=197787
GE8 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=199289
Hostile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:07 PM   #7
HappyGilmore
AKA Gillymomo
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,513
HappyGilmore seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to HappyGilmore Send a message via MSN to HappyGilmore Send a message via Yahoo to HappyGilmore Send a message via Skype™ to HappyGilmore
Don't they just have a solenoid with a wire that goes to from the ECU? That's what mine has and its a JDM H22. Please correct me if I am wrong.
__________________
The CB7 Collector.
Team Kindred Impulse Member #3
92 LX Coupe F22A1
2013 Toyota Corolla S
92 EX Sedan F22A1
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevergote View Post
Do you really need to make a thread asking if having your car like this /---\ will cause uneven tire wear? Try walking like that for a few weeks and see if your shoes wear funny! (hint: they will.)
HappyGilmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:24 AM   #8
Hostile
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,767
Hostile is cool... so far.
Okay, so the more I look into this the more I keep hearing that the jdm ob1 h22a automatic did not come with the vtec pressure switch. So my last question is that as long as I have the jdm auto p13 ecu and p19 tcu I should be fine because the switch is not needed? Thanks for your help GhostAccord.
__________________
2013 Honda Fit Sport Alabaster Silver Metallic GE8
2013 Accord Sport Modern Steel Metallic CR2

CB9 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...hlight=hostile
CR2 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=197787
GE8 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=199289
Hostile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:45 AM   #9
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,533
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
That is correct!

Your welcome. Good luck finishing your build!
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 05:45 AM   #10
Zato
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 59
Zato is cool... so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostAccord View Post
That is correct!

Your welcome. Good luck finishing your build!
had that issue as well but now it makes sense great info now i gotta wire it and turn it on.
Zato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:15 AM   #11
Hostile
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,767
Hostile is cool... so far.
I ende up adding a vtecc solenoid switch froim a 94 accord and ran it to the ecu. Vtec works and noi issues.
__________________
2013 Honda Fit Sport Alabaster Silver Metallic GE8
2013 Accord Sport Modern Steel Metallic CR2

CB9 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...hlight=hostile
CR2 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=197787
GE8 http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=199289
Hostile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:23 AM   #12
Alex13mod
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,194
Alex13mod is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to Alex13mod Send a message via MSN to Alex13mod Send a message via Yahoo to Alex13mod Send a message via Skype™ to Alex13mod
on my F20B VTEC Motor 2000 didn't come with one. The JDM motors do not come with that Solenoid. You can add one in and just wire it up to the ECU and you should be good to go.
__________________

1992 Honda Accord EX My Ride Thread H23A BLUE TOP Complete
Alex13mod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:05 AM   #13
GhostAccord
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Coast 506 Canada
Posts: 2,533
GhostAccord seems to have made some friends! GhostAccord seems to have made some friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex13mod View Post
on my F20B VTEC Motor 2000 didn't come with one. The JDM motors do not come with that Solenoid. You can add one in and just wire it up to the ECU and you should be good to go.
They all come with the solenoid, it's the pressure switch that they are lacking......I'm pretty sure that's what you meant though.
__________________
MR Thread
GhostAccord 2.4L Blog

by Chappy, on Flickr
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 01:07 AM   #14
nusdogg
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 243
nusdogg is cool... so far.
Yup.

Most JDM DOHC VTEC engines don't come with VTP switch. If you're running the JDM ECUs then you won't need one. Once you get a chip ECU with a USDM basemap, it'll throw a cel, and you will need a USDM VTEC Solenoid that has one. Otherwise, you can keep your JDM VTEC Solenoid and wire it from the ECU and tap the VTP Switch wire into the VTEC Solenoid wire. It works and no more CEL.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by toycar View Post
Braking the bank, maybe. Feeling like a boss, likely.
nusdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:10 PM   #15
illinois_erik
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,123
illinois_erik is very helpful illinois_erik is very helpful illinois_erik is very helpful
Ok so in short:

JDM H22a= No Oil Pressure Switch on VTEC solenoid (Just a bolt)
|
|-> JDM ECU = ECU Doesn't look for it, Not needed.
|
|->USDM ECU = ECU looks for switch (Add One;Short Solenoid/Switch pins, Customized Tune)
__________________
illinois_erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.