painted white wheels and color matched lip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

painted white wheels and color matched lip

hey guys, i got motivated for some reason to paint my wifes wheels..

before i get any off topic questions.. I am a Automotive collission repair paint technician with a gold i car certified standard. i work in a shop that brings in around 20,000 cars a year. not to big of a shop.

I had contemplated having my wheels powder coated as it gives a extra benifit being on wheels but, the colors we wanted would not have been available, so this was my only option,
    after painting 6 sets of rims in the past, i knew what liad of ahead of me and the task is overwheling on your lower back.

My original plan was to paint the center flat balck with color matched lip.

unfortunately i got to looking on the site and found others who have already done this, so i left it up to my wife. so she decided a three stage white with blue diamond pearl, and then a color matched lip.

I figured it would give it more of a pow, (look at me) rally car type appeal, so i liked it and so thats what i did.

As many of you know the prep work was intense.

I started by cleaning the wheels with water and comet with a 3M red scuff pad.

I then proceeded to wetsand the wheels with 320 grit sand paper as i prepared them to be sealed.

Most sealers cover 320 grit sand scratches without a problem, and since wheels take tons of abuse, i wanted the extra strength of deeper scratches and the durability of a sealed surface, as it's less prone to any sort of rock chips.

my fingers were litterly raw and litterly sanded though , 4 hrs after i started wet sanding, i then took comet and a 3m red scuff pad once again to go over all my work scuffing everywhere to make sure i didn't miss a nook and cranny.

2 more hrs later. i was ready to dry the wheels off with an air blower, and decided that baking them at 170 degrees for 25 min would be a good idea.