How the hell do you pick a laptop?!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How the hell do you pick a laptop?!

I've been shopping for a laptop for a few months and it's driving me nuts. I've never bought a laptop, so this is new to me. I've always built my PC but a laptop... not an option.

What should I look for?
    I'll be using it for CAD and other design software, as well as general web surfing and email stuff.
    Minimal gaming, but obviously a dedicated video card will make the CAD software run much smoother.

My price range was around $500, but it seems like if I want to get enough oomph so I don't have to replace it two months down the road I'm looking around $800 and up.

Anyone with some insight for a first time lappy buyer would be appreciated!
    Click Image for CB7Tuner.com Beanies, Decals, & Keychains!

I am a fan of Toshiba machines. I did the research and between reading specs/reviews and working on various machines, I would to towards Toshiba or Asus. Stay away from Dell and HP (but those are my opinions) and obviously others will disagree with me.

Comment

Originally posted by CustomLowz View Post
      I am a fan of Toshiba machines. I did the research and between reading specs/reviews and working on various machines, I would to towards Toshiba or Asus. Stay away from Dell and HP (but those are my opinions) and obviously others will disagree with me.
      I politely disagree...

When I worked for Walmart in the electronics dept, we had no joke at least 2 Toshiba's returned EACH month.

They were either broken, or the sound quality was garbage, or they were too slow (which was moreso because people don't understand the specs they read)