Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Graduated College, got a Job, should I buy a car or wait?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Graduated College, got a Job, should I buy a car or wait?

Well about 2 weeks back, I graduated from ASU with a BS Mechanical Engineering Technology, Automotive focus. I landed a nice salary job (~60k) working with hybrid/electric automobiles the very next day after a few interviews the week or so prior.

I've had my CB7 for coming up on 9 yrs this October since i was 16. I feel like I deserve a better car or should treat myself to one for graduating and getting a job, parents are proud, yada yada.

I have about 18k in school loans/debt and maybe 2500 in CC debt. I still currently live at home with my parents but definitely want to change that.

Should I resist the urge to purchase a new car so soon (within 6 months or so) or should I continue to drive my CB7s and save?

Cars I had in mind were: 2012+ Mustang GT, STi, Subaru Brz (like the handling aspect of it)

Idk, maybe its because everyone else here drives baller cars? haha

member's ride thread
    93' EX Coupe H22A w/ P2T4 Sir 5spd 191whp 155 wtq
    99' Lexus LS400 157k VVTi V8 gets up & goes...new DD
    91 Accord SE 176k
    97' Honda Odyssey 199k miles...$485 spare van for my parents

Wait ........

A man that keeps looking back can't see whats in front of him.

Comment

Always save. New cars are not going anywhere. Your first priority should be knocking out those loans and CC debts.

I'm 26 and still living with my parents. Hell I get free food , a garage and super low monthly payments.
      Beats the crap out of paying for an apartment.

Be practical. Don't fall for "just because the other has this and that".

It's just my opinion.
      Last edited by ExplodingCake; 05-24-2012, 07:58 PM.

1993 Honda Accord LX 2004-2009
      1996 Honda Civic LX 2009-2012
      2012 Kia Optima LX 2012-2013
      2010 Honda Accord EX-L V6 2013-2018