New PC takes multiple tries to power on

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New PC takes multiple tries to power on

I'm a IT Pro, but I wanted some more opinions on this one.

PC is custom built and less than 6 month old. The specs don't really matter just the usual system (750W PS, Quad Core Intel, 8GB DDR3 RAM, ATX Case). The PC has started developing the symptom of not turning on the first time you push the power button. Its progressively gotten worse to where now it takes 3min+ of trying the power button before it will power on.

Things I've tried:
    - Took case apart, inspected power button and wires; they were good
    - Checked motherboard connector/pin, was good
    - Checked all voltages being outputted, they were good (+12, +5)
    - Tried a different wall outlet, and power cord

When the system is on, it works fine. I think I may have seen this in the past long long ago, and it was a bad PS. In the end it eventually just doesn't turn on.

Anyone have any input?

When I hit my power button, my computer turns on for a few seconds, turns off, then turns on and gets going.
    It was somewhat bothersome at first, but it's done it since the day I put it together.
    There's nothing actually wrong, and it works just fine.

That's what I get for buying an open box motherboard I guess

I have a 2700k i7, do you have something similar?
    MRT
    37.5 MPG, AC on, cruising at 80.
    30.0 MPG, AC on, aggressively driving around 90.
    27.5 MPG, no AC, cruising at 90 with occasional gridlock. 40 degrees Fahrenheit

Lots of DIY videos specifically for our car

Get some awesome wipers! <-- It's a DIY
    Originally posted by Tippey764
    I think driving your car naked will cause the engine to overheat
    Originally posted by deevergote
    sneaky motherfucker

Comment

Does it power on when you just jump the pins for the power button? Other wise i'd probably just replace the power supply.

Member's Ride Thread

Originally posted by mercyboy